We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Petanque

La Petanque
1208 Mornington Flinders Road | Main Ridge Vic 3928, Main Ridge, Victoria 190 D8, Australia
+61 3 5931 0155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Main Ridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $22
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award winning restaurant. Chef's Hat 2013.Panoramic views over near by olive grove and vineyards. Contemporary French Cuisine and extensive wine List. Gourmet Traveller Best Regional Wine list of the Year 2009.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Memorable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Popped into this lovely little restaurant in Red Hill for lunch.
Given it had a chefs hat, we expected to pay a little more.
Food was beautifully cooked and matching wines complemented well.
Smallish menu- I wouldn't take kids there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    22
    9
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Red Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were very impressed with La Petanque when we dined there in June and so returned there to try the Sping menu with a group of 22 friends. Phillipe was wonderful in helping us organise what turned out to be a very pleasant Sunday lunch in lovely surroundings. The food is innovative and delicious and the wine list excellent. For the intricacy and quality of the dishes, we thought it was good value for our 3 courses.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a lovely meal here last weekend. Everything was delicious and the service was great, going above and beyond! Will definitely be back, but this time will rely on our own transportation!

We were staying in Dromana and had decided to take a taxi so we could enjoy some of the local wines and not have to worry about driving. I booked a taxi early in the week with Pennisula Cabs and it dropped us off at La Petanque on time, where we enjoyed an excellent meal.

However, the taxi booked to collect us at 10pm never arrived. Both myself and the restaurant owner spoke several times to the taxi company for a progress update. At about 11.30, being the last people in the restaurant, it became obvious that the taxi company weren't bothered about sending anyone to Red Hill so the La Petanque owner very kindly dropped us back to our house in his own car. Would highly recommend this restaurant on the Penninsula but don't rely on the local taxi company to bring you home!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“La Petanque - it's a stunner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

La Petanque takes me back to fine dining in France.
The food is always sublime and the location perfect for local and international tourism. The knowledge and Gallic charm of Philippe (the French owner) is faultless. I cannot recommend highly enough - in a nutshell encroyable......tres, tres, tres bien!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely restaurant in a very nice part of Red Hill. Excellent menu and the food was just beautiful. Excellent service and staff are pleasant and informative and never intrusive - we were hardly aware that our glasses were being filled up. Only criticism is that it can be difficult to locate at night time as the sign is not lit so be aware if going there for the first time. We have now been here twice - once for lunch and just recently for dinner. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petanque also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Dromana, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to La Petanque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petanque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.