We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort for relaxing in the rain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV Royal Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added RACV Royal Pines Resort to your Saves list
RACV Royal Pines Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ross St, Benowa, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort for relaxing in the rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Had a great internet deal for two nights, found the cafe at the golf club fantastic prices and lovely food. Reception area very luxurious, room very big for two of us and bathroom fantastic. Rained the whole time, mountain view was non existent, but lovely view of grounds and night lights through huge windows. Very close to Gold Coast Footy ground so will be up for the AFL. Wandered around on Xmas Day, very busy with functions and large group bookings, swimming pool very busy, but did not restrict our enjoyment of the resort. Nice to see so many people and children enjoying themselves on Xmas. Service very pleasant and welcoming. Large groups staying but had no negative impact on services. All good, would definately do again on drive up to Woodford Folk Festival.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    163
    58
    12
    6
See reviews for
100
115
22
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

My partner & I stayed here to celebrate our 4 year anniversary & were VERY disappointed!! First we were given the wrong room, we booked the Corner Spa Suite with Balcony (as stated on the website). When we called to see what had went wrong we were debated with & told we booked it incorrectly. Finally after waiting for ages for them to work it out we got to speak to the Manager & they moved us. Disappointed with the balcony, expected one we could relax on and have some drinks but it was just one you could stand on, no room at all. After having a spa went to watch some tele with dinner & the TV was broken, had to get a repair man up to fix it - another thing that shouldnt happen on your romantic get away. Ordered room service for breakfast & they stuffed our order up and the lady was extremly rude to us!! I was in tears by this point, just thinking what else could go wrong, we couldnt wait to leave. She only gave up one order of breakfast & continued to tell us that we had got it wrong, till my partner showed her the form we filled out - after that she was very nice because she realised that she actually was wrong in the 1st place. I got to eat my breakfast on my own until they sent the 2nd one up for my partner. Was glad to get out of there, was not a enjoyable stay at all. So disappointed & will not be back!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Our family of four stayed at this hotel from the end of December till 4 th January 2011. The room was plenty big enough to accomodate the four of us. The beds were comfy and it was very clean. Some renovation will be eventually be needed to update the bathroom but it was perfectly adequate and I tend to be pretty fussy about bathrroms. We were visiting the Gold Coast to visit the "world"s" so we were in close proximity to what we wanted to do. I am glad we had a hire car so we could pick and choose where and when we wanted to go anywhere, We did not have much interest in Surfer's Paradise at that time of year and we only went into Surfer's once or twice. The service at the hotel was without fault. The staff were friendly. The food was excellent value for money. The pool was big and there were plenty of places to relax around the pool. The kid's playground was great. My husband and son aged 12 played golf one afternoon and the kid's golf was free including hire of the clubs and the buggy. My son had a memorable afternoon on the beautifully manicured golf course and it wasn't over the top expensive. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We had to spend a few days at the GC over Christmas for family reasons. I did not particularly want to stay around the busy Surfers/Broadbeach tourist trap areas and was looking for something a little different but still not too far away from family on the coast. We also wanted something reasonably priced. RACV appeared to fit the bill on both counts and so we booked it through a hotel booking site.

The first thing you have to know is that, while it is only a 5 minute drive from the beaches and a 10 to 15 minute drive from the hinterland areas (and also close to the theme parks, if that's your bag), and it is relatively close to the train station, this resort is NOT located in the centre of the GC action and public transport options are limited. You will need a car. Luckily, there is heaps of free parking.

The rooms were pleasant and appeared to be recently refurbished (I found the bed a tad too soft and was a little perturbed by TV noise from next door, but that is pretty par for the course in most hotels these days and neither of those were major problems). The resorts has a lovely golf course, swimming pool, tennis courts, and several restaurants (we only tried the breakfast one, but I must say the Japanese one looked very good). The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Like 99% of Australian hotels, internet is not complimentary and the rates are unreasonably high.

Overall, however, we enjoyed our stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The resort is having some grounds revamped and was extremely busy with conferences when we were there. Most of the time the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly so it was disappointing that one staff member was unhelpful in the extreme. Howver, overall a great experience, nicely decorated, well-maintained property. Teppanyaki restaurant is a treat. You should consider hiring a car if you intend going to the beaches.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at the Royal Pines Resort from Saturday to Monday to attend a conference.
My partner stayed with me one of the nights so I was able to try out the bar and restaurants along with the business facilities.
The service at reception through to the restaurants/bars was all very good and quite quick. We decided to try the Seafood Buffet one night and were quite disappointed. The fresh prawns were quite disappointing and the only hot seafood were prawn skewers which had very small prawns and not much taste. I like hot seafood so didn't get to take advantage of this much and only had a few prawns. I think we would have preferred the Japanese restaurant option considering the price we were paying. The desserts were also very tiny and were also served at our conference so must be made in bulk and were at times quite mundane.
The hydrate bar for cocktails was very nice and relaxing although the view is disappointing due to construction going on outside so the main view is of dirt at the moment.
The rooms are quite nice in the living area. It seems as though they've been renovated recently although the bathrooms are still very old and dated which is a bit disappointing.
The conference was run well although the lighting always seemed to be neon blue and the chairs are very old and quite daggy. The food buffets were good and the staff seemed very well trained so can't fault it much.
The pool is nice and never seemed to be very busy. The supply towels for you which is nice and the deck area is good for relaxing.
The Resort is quite large so there is also a running track along with the gym so it was nice to be able to have an early morning jog then go for a dip.
Overall, very good stay with the only let down being the seafood buffet and the dated furniture & bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We recently spent a night at the Royal Pines due to a wedding that we were atttending at the hotel. The room that we had was a Coast View and had a lovely view of the Gold Goast high rises, that would have been better if it was not constantly raining! The room was very comfortable with two double beds, a big screen TV, a small chair and desk and chair. The bathroom was funtionable with the shower and bath combined. It was great for a one night stay, but I don't think I would like to stay anymore than a couple of nights, especially with kids.

The wedding was held in the chapel, which was beautiful with drinks in Hydrate bar before dinner in the Conference Room.

The restaurant was good for breakfast in the morning, buffet style. We didn't get to see much of the resort as it was constantly raining and we only had one night there.

If I was staying for any lenght of time, I would stay somewhere in Surfers that had bigger rooms and was closer to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV Royal Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Royal Pines Resort

Address: Ross St, Benowa, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Benowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Royal Pines Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RACV Royal Pines Resort stands at the centre of beautiful established gardens offering 331-stylish guest accommodation rooms and premium spa suites with expansive views of the hinterland, chic tropical pool, Gold Coast skyline or the golf course. RACV's flagship resort is a golfer's dream - offering a renowned 27-hole composite golf course and state of the art driving range, the course is proudly home to the Australian PGA Championship and Gold Coast RACV Ladies Masters. But if you're not into golf, never fear. Relax in the Day Spa, or grab a sun lounge by the outdoor lagoon pool, while the kids burn off energy on the pool's fun slippery slide or children's playground with jumping pillow, or have a hit of tennis on one of our five tennis courts. Time Out Adventures, our on-site adventure company, offers a great range of additional activities. Why not take a Segway Adventure Tour, walk on water in an Ozbobble, laugh yourself silly making a Bopping Heads music video DVD, or have a blast with Laser Clay Shooting. There's something for everyone at RACV Royal Pines Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your RACV Royal Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racv Royal Pines Hotel Benowa
Racv Royal Pines Ashmore
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, Australia - Benowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV Royal Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.