We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, very noisy lifts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RACV Royal Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added RACV Royal Pines Resort to your Saves list
RACV Royal Pines Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ross St, Benowa, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, very noisy lifts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 days for conference. Room was lovely with great views and all amenities. However the lifts sounded like freight trains passing all the time. And the room was a few rooms away from lifts. Breakfast buffet and egg station was very nice by the pool, but the process of actually ordering and GETTING an egg, and a coffee was frustratingly difficult and slow. Pool was beautiful. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful. A free on demand shuttle to shopping centre would have been appreciated, rather than just at set times.

Room Tip: Get as far away from lift shafts as possible, if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Vicky B
I note in your review, the comments on noisy lifts - thanks for letting us know about them - we are currently getting our 4 main lifts refurbished with totally new carriages etc. I spoke with the contractor managing this work and as a result of your comments we have been able to adjust the new lifts so that they no longer make the "freight train" noises.....I have also passed on your comments about the Reception staff to the team and they were very appreciative.
Thanks for your review and constructive comments - from which we were able to make the necessary improvements
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    162
    57
    12
    6
See reviews for
98
115
22
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Strange smell of sea air in the hallways on the floors that wasn't in the room. Bizarre.

Room amenities were good, but the hotel was very poorly set up for breakfast. They had a couple of large parties on both nights of stay but seemed woefully unable to deal with them. Empty juice and water urns at 7.30 and a poor chef trying to cook fresh eggs who was just overwhelmed not helped with a lack of precooked eggs available.

That said, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially on reception.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ian F
Thanks for your review. your comments on breakfast were appreciated - I spoke with our new Executive Chef who has now put systems in place that more readily adapt to the large demand we get for breakfast on many mornings.
Your comments on the staff, especially the reception staff were also appreciated
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Have just attended a large conference at the Royal Pines. Unfortunately didnt get time to use any of the facilities but the pool and grounds looked lovely. The room i had was large, nicely furnished and light and bright - with great wide windows. Conference catering was good as was the quality of room service meals I had. My only complaint was the noisy lifts. My room was close to the lift well and I could hear the lifts going up and down day and night (yes they still go at 3am in the morning)!. I asked if there was any chance to move and the front desk attendant said that whilst they did have other rooms they would all have the same issue. If you are a light sleeper and like your sleep, I would definitely be asking for a room well away from the central core. The only negative of my stay - but quite a big one to me who was already struggling to sleep due to time zone changes).

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well done
- Breakfast buffet was well maintained despite fairly empty dining room
- Pleasant surrounds
- Ample parking

Less well done
- Restaurant booking process involves making several calls as "Guest Services" not aware of if any restaurants had vacancies. On initial call, each restaurant was "fully booked". Walking by one of them demonstrated many spare tables, and they served us without making any issue.
- Noisy lifts, disturbingly so overnight.

Overall a good deal for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Royal Pines for 6 nights last week. Overall a great place to stay. The room was great and the facilities were great as well. The weather was awful but we still tried to take advantage of the pool and spa. Great location as we went to Dreamworld which was only a 20min drive away. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The only small downside was the noisy lifts. During the night it sounded like a roller coaster was rolling down the hallway. Hopefully the lift upgrade will put a stop to the noise.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift shaft if possible.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Bradm1974
The weather has been terrible the past few weeks but i am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay nonetheless and made the most of the pool and spa, and, enjoyed both the food and the service at the resort. We are well located for the theme parks and many of our guests comment on that. Apologies regarding the lift noise - we have two lifts complete and two more to go, so soon the lifts will be gliding noiselessly up and down the shafts....!
Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently had the pleasure of staying at the resort for just one night - had we known how fabulous it was going to be i have to say we would have changed our schedule and stayed another night. Defintely a good reason to come back for longer next time.
A friend had recommended the property based on the fact I had commented there was really no need to for us to be in the heart of Surfers for the night - and what a pleasant change that was. We were close enough that it was still convenient for the plans we had for the weekend but it was so nice to be out of the Gold Coast tourist hustle and bustle.
The rooms well and above exceeded expecation, great value for money. All the creature comforts you could ask for with a luxurious feel..so impressed!!

Room Tip: The Spa Suites won't disappoint!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Etoile 76

Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay at Royal Pines - one of the comments we regularly get from our guests is how much they enjoy the location..... close enough to access the attractions of the Gold Coast strip but far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle.
I am so glad you rated us highly for value for money. We do try to ensure that the product and services we provide are well priced and represent good value.
Given that it was such a short visit, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards
John Morris
general Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately the weather has not been conducive to golf and the bunkers are full of water. Still this is a nice hotel which offers a shuttle service to some Gold Coast locations which is good if you don't have a car. There are renovations going on and drilling starts at 9am. We asked if we could be moved and were accommodated in a room on a higher floor and didn't have any other issues. Staff is polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Lin_away_today

Thanks for your review - the weather Gods have not been kind to us over the past few weeks! Luckily our golf course drains well so we only need a short break in the weather to be able to drain and be ready for play. Apologies for the noise during your stay - we are upgrading our lifts and there was a bit of noise in the early stages of this.
Appreciate your comment regarding the staff and will pass that on.
Thanks again
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RACV Royal Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Royal Pines Resort

Address: Ross St, Benowa, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Benowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Royal Pines Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RACV Royal Pines Resort stands at the centre of beautiful established gardens offering 331-stylish guest accommodation rooms and premium spa suites with expansive views of the hinterland, chic tropical pool, Gold Coast skyline or the golf course. RACV's flagship resort is a golfer's dream - offering a renowned 27-hole composite golf course and state of the art driving range, the course is proudly home to the Australian PGA Championship and Gold Coast RACV Ladies Masters. But if you're not into golf, never fear. Relax in the Day Spa, or grab a sun lounge by the outdoor lagoon pool, while the kids burn off energy on the pool's fun slippery slide or children's playground with jumping pillow, or have a hit of tennis on one of our five tennis courts. Time Out Adventures, our on-site adventure company, offers a great range of additional activities. Why not take a Segway Adventure Tour, walk on water in an Ozbobble, laugh yourself silly making a Bopping Heads music video DVD, or have a blast with Laser Clay Shooting. There's something for everyone at RACV Royal Pines Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your RACV Royal Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racv Royal Pines Hotel Benowa
Racv Royal Pines Ashmore
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, Australia - Benowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV Royal Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.