We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queensland Holidays Back In Vogue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV Royal Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added RACV Royal Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RACV Royal Pines Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ross St, Benowa, Queensland 4217, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Benowa
Blackburn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Queensland Holidays Back In Vogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This resort caught my eye in the RACV magazine coinciding with my new golf hobby. My husband, 8 yr old son and I shared a room on the 16th floor overlooking the magnificent golf course. We had two double beds. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. The housekeeping was terriffic, they replaced towels daily and my sons bed was made up with his cuddly toys sitting up to greet us on our return to the room, a lovely and appreciated touch. Staff were so friendly, they always said something friendly to us when they served us or had contact with us, all with natural genuineness. Loved the golf course and the golf staff, I think I lost two balls and only pared on one hole but the course is gorgeous and kept beautifully, the greenskeepers even raked out a couple of bunkers for us. There was a free golf clinic for guests on a Wednesday morning, the three of us enjoyed and appreciated the pro's instruction. We had the buffet breakfast most mornings, it was very good quality. We loved room service a couple of nights when we were tired from Wet n Wild and golf respectively. Very reasonably priced too, well worth it. Dinner at Amici was excellent. The seafood buffet was terrific too, I had a very good share of crab, oysters and prawns....yum. I liked being away from Surfers, we had a hire car which we parked in the underground car park a few steps away from the lift, very convenient. There is a bus from the hotel that will take you into Surfers if you dont have a car. We did the theme park thing, expected it to be bad on school hols and it was, no surprise there. I recommend Royal Pines Resort, we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Snake M

Thanks for your comprehensive report and delighted to read that your family enjoyed the resort and the golf course so much. It is a great course isnt it? Even those with more enthusiasm than ability (like me!) enjoy the course as it does not penalise a good shot and as you say, is beautifully maintained.
The best thing to read was your comments on the staff - it was so nice to read how they were all genuine and friendly. Thank you also for pointing out the value in room service - one of the things we work hard on is to ensure we provide value in our food and beverage, golf & sports and accommodation.
Our location works well too - a number of our guests who drive here prefer to take our shuttle bus in to the strip to avoid the hassle of parking and the traffic around the centre of Surfers Paradise
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to RACV Royal Pines Resort!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    136
    45
    10
    5
See reviews for
90
95
17
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Suburb
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a great stay here while in QLD for a conference. Stayed in an executive spa suite which was just beautiful. Room was extremely clean. Very peaceful place to stay, Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Only downside is that it is a bit or a way out so it is best if you have your own car.Restocking of bathroom amenities a bit haphazard - every day they through out all the opened soaps and shampoo etc but didn't always replace what they had removed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Spotcate

Great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us while hererecently for a conference and i appreciate the trip regarding the housekpping staff being a littl haphazard in amenity replacement - I have spoken with the Exec Housekeeper to ensure this is improved.

I am not sure whether you were made aware of our shuttle bus that leaves on the hour in to the Surfers Paradise strip and takes just 10 minutes to get there. It saves on the hastle of parking in Surfers.... The best thing in your review (for me) was your comment on the staff being extremely helpful and caring - great to read!
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for a holiday one day!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked this hotel through Wotif and secured a good deal which included breakfast. The hotel is inland from Surfers Paradise and has a shuttle bus. We had a room on the 9th floor which has lovely views to the coast. The room was very well equipped including a large tv and small couch. Dining venues at the resort, are plentiful and we had a hard time choosing where to go for dinner until I saw on Friday nights, they had a progressive dinner, where you could go to the Arakawa Restaurant for entree, the Kalinda Restaurant for a seafood buffet followed by desert in the Videre Restaurant on the 21st floor. We thought this was a fantastic idea, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would highly recommend it.Great family hotel, with a large pool, waterside and playground.

Room Tip: Ask if they have the progressive dinner on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, Owner at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Live-dream-travel

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the progressive dinner concept we have introduced. It is really gaining in popularity as it gives guests the opportunity to dine in three of our 6 restaurants and enjoy a range of cuisines.
While the resort was full on the weekend you were here, we are fortunate in that the number of restaurants plus the large pool ensures there is both plenty of dining options and room to spread out during the day.
Thanks for the review!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our trip to the Resort was met with friendly reception staff that were very helpful, our first room was comfortable but the double sized beds made for an uncomfortable sleep.. Never to seem unhospitable we were quickly moved to a king sized bed and a beautiful view, I will thank my 6 foot 4 husband for that. The restaurant staff were brilliant, and the cocktails were made with the pizazz you want when you make the choice for something special. Breakfast was made up of cereals, fruits, hot foods and pastries, I would be surprised if you found nothing you would like. Maybe get there before 8.30am on a Sunday and there is no waiting otherwise there seemed to be quite a line waiting for food. It was clean, bright and welcoming. The only thing we didn't like was we had a late check out and the cleaning staff continually knocked on the door to ask if they could clean in the end we gave up and left early.

Room Tip: Room 1616 had great veiws of the Gold Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear AntDee

Great to read that the reception staff were so helpful on your check in and that we were able to comfortably accommodate your taller than average husband! You are right regarding Sunday breakfast - that is normally our busiest meal period of the week with most guests arriving after 0830 so it can be quite busy from then on. There is plenty of seating and food but for a more relaxed breakfast experience the earlier option (or upgrading to our Executive floors with the access to the Executive Lounge for breakfast) is a better one.

Apologies regarding the housekeeping staff being overly keen to get in and clean your room - I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper about that.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was there for a conference. Got in at around 12.30 am after a 18 hour flight halfway across the world and then a 2 hour train journey. The efficieny of the front desk during check in + the complimentary upgrade to a spa suite + quick in room dining service was a breath of fresh air. Rooms were clean and had great views. Could not explore the sports and leisure options unfortunately owing to a packed schedule. The same is to be said about the restaurants since I did not have a chance to sample them.
Check out was also very efficiently done.
In terms of improvement, the only drawback I noticed was that the sink in the batch room had a crackin it. This stood out like a sore thumb amidst the fine environment of the room. A little detail that may need looking into.
I would also like to know whether the hotel caters to special food requirements (e.g. Halal / Kosher, etc)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear afhama

Thanks for your review and delighted to read how well our Reception and In Room Dining team looked after you on check in.... after the trip you had to get here I am glad they were able to make your arrival so memorable!
It is a shame that you did not get a chance to use some of the many sports and leisure options or any of our 8 dining options. Thank you for your advice regarding the sink in your bathroom being cracked. Not being sure which room that was, I have asked our Executive Housekeeper to look in to this and advise the room so we can replace the sink.
In regard to special dietary requirements we do cater for guests with a range of conditions - from lactose intolerant to celiac to allergies etc but currently we do not have the facilities for Halal and Kosher food. We rarely get asked for this, but I have asked our Food and Beverage Manager to review this opportunity.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review us!
Kind Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Enjoyed the resort room while attending a conference. Very nice room and helpful staff. I didn't get to play the golf course but it looked pretty good out the window. If you want a golf holiday resort this would be the place. If you want to be near the beaches then stay closer to the coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMorris11, General Manager at RACV Royal Pines Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Kiwi_Explorer2009
Sorry that you did not get a chance to play the course(s). But, it is the perfect excuse to come back for leisure and enjoy the three different golf course options we provide!
In regard to the beaches we have a regular shuttle bus going from Royal Pines to the beaches - takes about 10 minutes depending on traffic.
Great to hear the staff were so helpful - hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon!
Regards
John Morris
General Manager
RACV Queensland Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RACV Royal Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Royal Pines Resort

Address: Ross St, Benowa, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Benowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Benowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — RACV Royal Pines Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart, contemporary and set on a world-class golf course, RACV Royal Pines Resort offers everything needed for a sun-kissed holiday on Queensland’s most famous stretch of coastline. Set a short distance from the white sandy beaches of the Gold Coast, and at the heart of the region’s sand belt, this 100-hectare resort is set on a champion golf course. It’s midway between the sparkling coastline and the lush beauty of the hinterland rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your RACV Royal Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racv Royal Pines Hotel Benowa
Racv Royal Pines Ashmore
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast, Australia - Benowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RACV Royal Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.