We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dedicated Camelot Pizza Fan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Gourmet Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Camelot Gourmet Pizza
Shop 12B, 138 Slatyer Av, Benowa, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 restaurants in Benowa
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Brisbane
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Dedicated Camelot Pizza Fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After tiring of eating cardboard pizzas, a friend introduced me to Camelot Gourmet Pizza back when this business was running out of Benowa Shopping Centre (several years ago). It is now in Bronberg Plaza on Slatyer Avenue in Benowa and near Bundall - and they still deliver to my area! This is a delicious pizza, although a tad expensive, but for taste and value I wouldn't order from the mainstream boring pizza joints again. Select from Dungeon Master Supreme to Dragons Breath to Mega Chicken - plus there's there own delicious versions of meatlovers and ham and pineapple. Give them a go - you can check out their menu and prices online at: www.camelotpizza.com.au

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    7
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“They certainly "create them"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although not the fanciest of places, if you're looking for a decent pizza ... this place will put a smile in your belly. The restaurant is clean and the guy making the pizzas is very friendly & helpful. Everything is reasonably priced, so you will get value for your money. The pizzas are huge ... as the toppings are stacked up high. So, I strongly suggest you order several "small" pizzas, so you can try many of the unique flavours that they have to offer.
We definitely reccommend the "Dungeon Master Supreme" if you like the lot!! Absolutely beautiful!! And if you're into seafood ... you can't go past "Excalibur"! Just brilliant!!
Just make sure you're hungry when you get there ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Best pizzas on the Gold Coast, no bull......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been dining at Camelot Gourmet Pizzas, Benowa for two decades now; ie well before they relocated to their present premises. Camelot serves the best pizzas on the Gold Coast and they leave the rest, especially the chain/franchise pizzas, way behind... and I mean way behind. Ever since tasting Camelot's pizzas, I have never been able to bring myself to having pizzas from a chain pizza outlet.

Their pizzas are named after characters from Camelot or in the medieval theme. The Dungeon Master Supreme, for instance, IS supreme! It ranks as my all time favourite followed by Guinevere, Lancelot and Dragons Breath. Once you try the Dungeon Master, you will find it difficult to order a Supreme from another outlet.

The pizzas are sized from Petite, Small, Regular and Large, and priced between $10.50 to $30.90. My best mate and I often share a large Dungeon Master, and it fills us both. The large is also adequate as a good meal when I am accompanied by my wife and teen-adult daughter. The large pizza is the best value, even for the smallest groups.

The chef is ever happy to make your pizzas, half and half in toppings. We often order the Dungeon Master and Chicken-Avocado combo.

The restaurant is open for lunch as well as dinner, 7 days. Be warned though that Camelot gets crowded especially on Friday and Saturday evenings and I would strongly recommend you book a table on those nights.

Whilst it is sometimes difficult to secure a table, especially at the spur of the moment, it is wise to remember that a crowded restaurant is a definite sign that it is a good restaurant.

I can highly recommend Camelot Gourmet Pizzas. In my humble opinion, the best pizzas on the Gold Coast, if not, in Queensland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pizza Perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Two of us arrived Wednesday eve for a quick bite. Place was packed. Inside and out. Forgot to ask why the inside tables have linen tablecloths whereas the ones outside don't. Maybe inside is the VIP room - he he.
When I say outside room, it really isn't outside as such. Strong roof and cafe blinds keep the winter chill out and with one gas heater on, the place was quite warm.
Waitress was flat out busy. Glasses arrive quickly and an apology to say that any order would take 30 minutes. Set the stopwatch!
When there's a crowd in a restaurant, time passes quickly due to "people watching". Even though the place was crowded, noise levels were fine.
Chose a large half and half. It arrived smack on time.
No wood fired oven but who cares. Bases were neither thick or thin - just right. Lashings of topping.
Moorish.
Only complaint was that the pizzas were so good we each ate probably one too many slices. Leftovers bought home in a box.
Less than $35 including corkage.
Great place for couples and families.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenslander
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value, great pizzas, great pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When we go to Camelot for a pizza, pasta or great salad it is a great dining experience for us. As a couple we love the pleasant atmosphere, either inside or the alfresco area. Food is always great, pizza toppings extremely generous & high quality. Pasta too if you prefer or I also like the Seafood salad or the Caesar Salad. It's BYO with a bottle shop a few doors down so you can grab your wine or beer easily. Best of all the bill for the two of us is $30! Now that's a great dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelot Gourmet Pizza also viewed

 
Benowa, Gold Coast
Benowa, Gold Coast
 

Been to Camelot Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Gourmet Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.