We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded oasis.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Negra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambutal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Negra
Save
You added Luna Negra to your Saves list
Azuero Peninsula, Cambutal, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Cambutal B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Secluded oasis.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was at Luna Negra in the "off" season last October. Even though it was a bit rainy my stay was comfortable. Aaron was very accommodating to make my visit a good one.
I was in a cabin very close to the ocean. It is heavenly to go to sleep to the sound of the waves.
My first night there the turtles were hatching. This was an incredible experience and added to the magic of Cambutal.
The beach is so secluded. I only saw a few people riding their horses to work. Looking forward to not only returning but one day living in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Last time our family was in Panama was 4 years ago. Luna Negra was just the beginnings of a dream, for Annette (the owner). We stayed in a tent on the beach (2 adults, 15yr old, 12yr old, and 9 month old baby) at Luna Negra! I can't express how friendly the owners are or how welcoming the lovely Panamanians are! This is the ultimate family adventure vacation spot. You can have surfing lessons, hiking/walking, deep sea fishing, horseback riding etc.

Now, looking at their website....its AMAZING how much landscaping and work they (Annette and her son Aaron) have put into this place!! And the restaurant....mmmmm can't wait to try it.

We are heading back again in December of this year and already have our deluxe camping booked! If you want to experience this gem....book ahead of time. You won't find another place like it!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambutal, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The atmosphere and energy when entering the outdoor gardens and restaurant at Luna Negra is a completely welcoming vibe.

This little gem has heart and hard work all over it, tiny artistic details surrounding you from head to toe. Whether it is unique tile work underneath your feet, lighting fixtures above, or wood sculptures and cushions that you sit on each of them all have been wonderfully handcrafted by Anita , Aaron or their local friends.

Anita and her son Aaron are a great one-two punch. Collectively this dynamic duo from Flordia bang out tasty home made food, Thursday through Saturday evening.
Aaron is the bartender and grill master while Anita covers front of house duties taking orders, running drinks and making sure every guest feel welcome and comfortable.

Luna Negra appeals to all people and budgets- whether you are solo backpacker, vegetarian, meat lover, group of surfers or husband and wife looking to enjoy a quaint evening together this place is sure to leave you and your bellies satisfied.

The menu at Luna Negra is constantly changing and it is all about whatever produce or fish is freshest.
Tacos are a permanent fixture on the menu, your choice of fish, shrimp and occasionally chicken or pork. For $2.50-$3.00
In addition, they always offer a Plato Fuerto.
Whether its a filet of fresh fish, pork chops, seared tuna or chicken it is served with your choice of garlic mashed potatoes, a fresh garden salad, or a generous serving of rice and beans.

Hummus & pita bread, flat bread pizzas (among others) are on the appetizer menu so, whether you are looking for a quick meal or wanting to sip on a beach inspired cocktail all evening do yourself a favour and make sure you check out Luna Negra on your travels down the pacific coast of Panama.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Its crazy what brings you to certain places while traveling. I met Aaron the owner on a bus traveling from Panama City to Las Tablas with the intention of going to set up in Pedasi and fish. I started talking to Aaron at lunch and immediately liked his style and energy. Long story short I ended up in Playa Cambutal at one of the most amazing beachside cabinas with incredible food. I had only planned on staying for a few days and ended up staying for the rest of my 9 day trip at Luna Negra. Great food, vibes and landscaping. It feels like a home away from home. Really laid back vibe and you will feel like family. Be sure to book ahead of time as this place is slowly becoming discovered and is being booked out in advance. They have the best outdoor shower in the world. Go check out Playa Cambutal and everything this place has to offer just don't tell anyone I sent you.....

Room Tip: cant go wrong with the cabinas or deluxe tents. either way wake up and stretch beachside go run on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I'm leaving tomorrow for my 4th time to Luna Negra and couldn't be more excited to get back! From surfing to spearfishing, and everything inbetween, LN has got you covered. What I enjoy most about returning to this spot is the laid back atmosphere and the tropical beauty of their resort. Since it is family owned and operated they are able to provide a first class experience without losing attention to detail. When you get there ask for Aaron and he'll hook you up with his speciality Ahi Tuna ... they catch it daily right out front from the resort, kind of hard to beat! If you want a cozy get a way without all the tourist traps then you'll like this place - it's real Panama with all the frills!

Room Tip: If you're just a couple, ask for the Casita closest to the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Luna Negra is an amazing place to stay in Cambutal, Panama. They have nice, clean, comfortable rooms with A/C and hot water at reasonable prices. The hotel is right on the water, they are tucked in a beautiful cove with surf, snorkeling, and fishing nearby. Awesome beach and luscious landscaping around the hotel. They have a restaurant and bar onsite with plenty of fresh, delicious food and drinks! We go every year and love them.. Great Vibes at Luna Negra!

Room Tip: There is a selection of accomodations, you can choose between more luxurious or more primitive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Negra

Address: Azuero Peninsula, Cambutal, Panama
Location: Panama > Los Santos Province > Cambutal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambutal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Negra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.