We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of True Lovers Knot

True Lovers Knot
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added True Lovers Knot to your Saves list
True Lovers Knot
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wimborne Road, Tarrant Keyneston DT11 9JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over priced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Room smelt a little musty. Shower room could use some additional venitlation as there are no windows and it smelt damp. Entry system didn't work properly. Although we decided not to take breakfast when we asked to extend our check out time we were charged - as it was completely at his discretion (being the owner) I thought that was a little mean and over priced our stay even more!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
18
29
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

While the country froze we travelled 200 miles down to Tarrant Keyneston and boy was it worth it! We arrived early and out of pub hours but that was no problem for our friendly hosts - soon we were in our three warm, comfy rooms and forgetting about the awful roads. 6 pm saw us in the bar, supping Badger ale and chatting with the Gaffer who made us feel right at home. Dinner was superb - the chef's a genius - and then back into the bar by a roaring fire and a most enjoyable evening. Breakfast was again top notch - both days all five of us had different cooked combinations and it was handled without fuss or fluster; it also tasted grand! By evening service the Gaffer, Antony, had kindly got in some special ales that we had asked about and our party demolished them through the evening. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we headed for home well rested and feeling that the trials of the return home in the snow would be more than compensated for by the memories we carried away with us. We're returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstone, Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

(review is for resturant and pub/bar - can't comment on rooms, only excellent resturant service)
My family live around 10 miles away, and we're been to pretty much every pub and restaurant in Dorset ! This is, so far, the BEST. Walking through the door the manager immediately welcomes you, guiding you to your table (of which there are few, but enough - 2x2, 2x4, 2x6 ish) and is chatty while getting your drinks (then leaves you alone - as he should!).

Food is *fantastic* - 110%, for starters, mains and deserts for 5 people ! Brought promptly - we even swapped forkfulls of each others food astonished at the great taste !

If you're within 30 minutes of this place I STRONGLY suggest you try it, - just once - you will return, once you've finally digested their oversized portions !

We overordered food - the 'side of chips' was maybe 100 large 'chunky' chips, which even 5 of us couldn't more than half finish, after our mains - but we really did try.

Despite this, for a family of 5, it cost £60, which is pricey, but I includes 2 side plates that didn't get finished, large 'mains' more reasonably sized, but luverly, deserts AND drinks. In comparison, eating at any large Pizza chain would never be less than £35 for us.

We all agreed we'd rather skip two trips to a 'hut' much nearer home and instead come here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILTSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Arrived and found the hotel very easily,alighted from car and proceeded to front door to check in.Anthony the owner caught us and we were shown into the rear of the hotel,not a problem because the stairs were straight in front of us.He offered to carry our bags not needed as they were very lightly packed. showed us to our room (we wanted the four poster but that was booked and he apologised for this) The twin room allocated was sufficient for one night (but no longer).bedroom and bathroom very poorly illuminated.Unable to shave due to L.E.D.lights batteries being dead,had to use cup to fill kettle as the basin was too small to fill kettle directly.Booked a table for dinner and we were not disappointed in the quality, quantity or service.Breakfast was ample and the offer of more tea,toast or anything was appreciated if not accepted. Overall not an unpleasant stay for £60.00 for two people on B&B. Probably would not pay the full price due to accomodation lacking the little touches.O.K. for one night in the room we had.The upper floor needs replanning and more thought put into the lighting and decoration the hotel area.Would recommend to friends but at a discount.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We live within 5 miles of the True Lover's Knot and ,although have driven past hundreds of times, had never ventured inside.
Last Friday we took friends there for a meal.
Unfortunately we didn't book a table, so had to eat in the bar area. This in itself was not a problem.
However, I have rarely experienced such disinterested bar staff .. (although no criticism of the waitress).
I can honestly say that the food was about as lacking in inspiration as it could possibly be. The vegetables with the meat course smelt "off", were completely tasteless and were stringy.
The Lasagne ("luxury vegetable" ) can best be decribed as non-descript.
Readers of this review could well ask "Did you give the management an opportunity to remedy the probleems?"
The answer to this is no.
a) We did not wish to risk a fuss and spoil the evening and
b) The fact of these meals being served up I the first place is indicative of the standard of the establishment and its 'cooks'.
We put it down to experience, but suffice to say we shall not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarrant Keyneston hotels

England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We live nearby and had Sunday lunch at the True Lovers Knot with a group of friends recently. One of our group had the roast lamb, a dish which was utterly tasteless, as if quantity was the only criteria by which this establishment prioritised its meals.

The most disheartening feature of our visit was the unwelcoming and emotionless management who appeared to see every customer as a nuisance to be endured for the sake of the balance sheet. In fairness the manager eventually refunded the cost of this dish, but did so in the style of ‘Basil Fawlty’ in that he could not resist making a big song and dance that he was doing US a favour and this is what he has to put up with when customers ‘try it on’!!! The young waitresses were doing their best and cannot be criticised, however their lack of attention seemed more a reflection of poor management from above.

All in all, this is NOT the way to encourage repeat business - but there again, may be with a ready clientele of passing holiday makers, such considerations are not a burning issue for the new management of the True Lovers Knot?

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Luckily we only stayed here one night. As the previous person suggested, the horrendous smell of dogs was all pervasive. We too had to hold our noses and run up the stairs, retching. The smell even leached into the room so we went to the local Tescos and bought a room freshener which helped.

Not only that but we had booked a double en-suite yet when we turned up the room was a twin. "No problem," said the landlord "we'll just push the beds together." Bang goes all hopes of a romantic night. Having said that, the beds were comfy, the bedding didn't smell of dogs, thank goodness and we had a decent night's sleep. The landlord seems to be a really nice chap.

The restaurant seemed to be quite expensive and the portions were absolutely enormous - much too big for my liking. However the food was good.

I would not stay here again and I would counsel anyone else against it too! I have a dog myself and my house doesn't smell like that!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to True Lovers Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Lovers Knot

Address: Wimborne Road, Tarrant Keyneston DT11 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Keyneston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarrant Keyneston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — True Lovers Knot 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Tarrant Valley, the True Lovers Knot offers 4 luxurious en-suite rooms; 1 4-poster room and 3 twin/double rooms. We also have an adjoining CL campsite for those who prefer the outdoor life! Join us for a lite-bite or full meal in our restaurant area, or sample our chilled beers, wines, soft drinks, teas and Lavazza Italian coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your True Lovers Knot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
True Lovers Knot Hotel Tarrant Keyneston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Lovers Knot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.