We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of True Lovers Knot

True Lovers Knot
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added True Lovers Knot to your Saves list
True Lovers Knot
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wimborne Road, Tarrant Keyneston DT11 9JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

On 8 10 2011 We held my step daughters wedding reception at the True Lovers Knot, it was Fantastic. The landlord and land lady spared nothing to make it a special day for the newly weds.the food was in the form of a buffet with a well thought out menu and plenty of it both hot and cold, listening to the comments from the wedding guest's it was obvious that they enjoyed it as much as we did. Some of the guest's and the bride and groom stayed overnight and were delighted with the accommodation and breakfast. I must put in a mention for the staff who were
friendly, helpful and very accommodating.So very well done True Lovers Knot and thank you
Paul Bartlett

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
18
29
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked in for a couple of nights, it's a village pub not a hotel, so we did not expect 5 star accommodation. What we got was a nice warm welcome, a good room that was spotlessly clean, a comfortable bed, a shower room (the shower was a nice size, you could move around in it). Bottled water and tea and coffee provided, attention to detail was noticeable.
The bar is a real country pub bar, again amazingly clean and tidy, with a restaurant section adjoining the bar. The menu is not large, but there is a good choice. The family eat there both nights and the food was first class. It all tasted fresh and was extremely well cooked and presented. In fact we had planned to eat somewhere else on the second night, but the first meal was so good we could not resist trying a second night.
The owners and staff really tried to make guests welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed at this lovely country pub,and would recommend to all ! When we arrived the new management team had only been up & going for 1 day ( they could have blagged it, but didn't ). On arrival we were made to feel very welcome, which makes a change nowadays. Rooms were great, managers already realise lighting in bathroom not adequate and we did note towels were rather small, which was noted, apart from this clean & all neccessities provided for ! We were spoilt rotten, even for the manageress to rush out on our second morning to buy marmalade as previous tennants only left jam ! Only downside was rush hour traffic with windows open was quite noisy, but would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We have used this pub in previous years so we and always been extremely pleased with the service

On arrival we were shown to our rooms which were very clean, not exactly spacious but adequate. We used tis pub to stay in as it is fairly close to Blandford we go there year in for the Royal Signals Reunion. For which we have a timetable, to work to. So we specifically asked for our breakfast to be served dead on 8-30 the time they specify as starting breakfast. On the Saturday Morning the staff never opened the doors until 8-30, we then had to order and wait for it to be served which meant that were then in a rush as we were about 20 minutes later leaving than we had been in other years. Consequently we ended up with having very poor seats for the arena show.
Sunday morning was even worse; the restaurant was not opened until 8-40 although they did manage a very minimum sorry for being late. That of course made us even later on arrival at Blandford. Extremely disappointed with such poor service, and nothing was taken off the bill by way of apology.

All 3 couple’s said that the battery operated shaving mirror in the bathroom did not work on the Saturday morning; they still did not work on the Sunday either also a very poor service.
Finally the towels supplied in the bathroom to shower with were only small hand towels, I think it should have been at least bath towels if not bath sheets. My advice would be take your own if you want to dry yourself properly.

The breakfasts were sort of adequate although there was no fried bread or black pudding on the menu. How do you have full English without fried bread?

We all felt that the service had deteriorated since our stay last year, will have to re think our plans for next year.

Room Tip: All the same size price varies?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We've just come back from a long weekend at The True Lovers Knot and thoroughly enjoyed staying and dining there.
The whole place was impeccably clean. The assistant manager was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and always greeted us with a huge smile.
Breakfast was truly fabulous, lovely thick bacon and wonderful sausages; tasted divine.
We ate in the establishment two of the three nights we stayed there and thought the food was excellent and well priced for what you get , including the drinks. Service was just right, the amount of time left between courses perfect.
I loved the fact that our dog could dine with us, eat breakfast with us (and have a sausage cooked for her).
Normally I don't sleep well anywhere except my own bed, but here I got fantastic sleep, a very comfy bed.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Sunday lunch with visiting family after praising the pub for it's past great meals and service. What a disappointment!!
Starters had to be chased up after a 30 minute wait and after seeing later arrivals receiving their main meals. Food was fine but overpriced at £5.50 for a small piece of pate and 3 small pieces of deep fried french baguette. A further considerable wait ensued with my taking the plates back into the pub myself and prompting the staff to clear up plates, glasses, blown away paper napkins on the surrounding tables.

After a further 25 minutes the main roasts were chased up and appeared 5 minutes later. The manageress offered a round of free drinks and a comment that she did not know what was happening in the kitchen as there were 4 staff on. Again the meal was nice but no offer of mint sauce with the lamb and hit and miss as to who gets what with the vegetables. On settling the bill I expressed my disappointment and was told that they had been very busy as they had had two tables of 10 people in that lunchtime!! I imagine that these had pre booked and thus should have been expected and as I had made my booking that morning they should not have accepted us at that time if they were busy...my view is that they were not busy as the first table was served as I made my order and the second upon my chasing up the starters. We were not the only table to complain, tables receiving the wrong order and a succession of delays. An overpriced, poorly run transformation of a once great pub.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I had a steak that was inedible. Should have been Medium rare. It was more than well done. It tasted like it was cooked very slow. Couldn't eat it. Mushrooms must have been left from breakfast and were almost cold. Half a tomato. Chips were nearly edible.
£10.50 although I didnt pay. The new landlady apologised and I said she should sack the chef.

You would not pay these prices (and I dont) for pubs nearer London.

It was very disappointing as a board outside said new chef and food sourced locally. Some friends have been 3 times since Christmas and each time the verdict has been the same - bad food overpriced.

I will go back again in 2/3 weeks and I hope the food and prices will improve. I promise to write a good review if it is better.

Menu price for Ham egg and Chips £10.50....it should be about £6/8.

The beer is OK.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarrant Keyneston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to True Lovers Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Lovers Knot

Address: Wimborne Road, Tarrant Keyneston DT11 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Keyneston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarrant Keyneston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — True Lovers Knot 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Tarrant Valley, the True Lovers Knot offers 4 luxurious en-suite rooms; 1 4-poster room and 3 twin/double rooms. We also have an adjoining CL campsite for those who prefer the outdoor life! Join us for a lite-bite or full meal in our restaurant area, or sample our chilled beers, wines, soft drinks, teas and Lavazza Italian coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your True Lovers Knot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
True Lovers Knot Hotel Tarrant Keyneston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Lovers Knot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.