We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top pick in Koh Rong Samloem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Rong Samloem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Beach
Save
You added Lazy Beach to your Saves list
West Side of Island, Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top pick in Koh Rong Samloem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We planned to stay 6 days, and ended up staying 10 days; that should say it all. The beach was beautiful and secluded, the food was very good, the staff helpful and attentive, the owners very present on the property which always makes a huge positive difference on the overall experience. The bungalows are comfortable although a little rustic, however it's part of the charm and appeal of being located in such a remote location. We highly recommend Lazy Beach for quiet, solitude, peace and tranquility and lovely vistas. Choose a beachfront bungalow where you are only a few meters away from the beach. Beware of sandflies which are present on most islands in Cambodia. We would love to visit Lazy Beach again!

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront bungalow, although all bungalows have sea views and are a short stroll to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    62
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
36
192
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was our first time to stay at Lazy Beach and it was a great experience. The location is beautiful and this is complimented by the basic but comfortable accommodation and the excellent customer service. Good transfers, help and advice from the whole staff team here was very much appreciated. We will return. Recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A great place for several days of being lazy, just as it says on the tin. Simple but comfortable and clean huts, great food and drinks for reasonable price, spacious resort with enough personal space as well as the option to chat to others. Great staff, fast and friendly. More here in a short blog post with photos:

http://www.annabellabetts.com/1/post/2014/04/getting-away-from-it-all-at-lazy-beach.html

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently living Dubai, before London, born EIRE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

-do nothing all day and not feel guilty
-forget how to spell "stressed"
-go back to the basics-no phone, no internet, no TV, no cars, no planes, no trains, no tuk tuks
-swim at night in your birthday suit with a sky full of stars and an ocean of phosphoresense
-chillax in your hammock reading a book
-stroll to the bar along the beach and feel like you've popped round a mates house for a drink
-eat well, perhaps a bit too well, 'cos you aren't going to work it off here!
Why five stars, simply the reasons above. Add lazy beach to your Cambodia itinerary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I can't stress how much you just have to go here. Just go! The bungalows are basic and it does get hot at night with no fans, but you still have to go. I've been around SE Asia, and this is certainly my favorite place. Friendly staff, good food and a great secluded location. Tip: wait until the moon is gone and the generators are off, then go swim and enjoy the fluorescence!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The beach is the most secluded and private I have ever seen. It takes two hours to get there from Sihanoukville (and the boat is not the most comfortable!) but it's worth it when you get there. There is pretty much one thing to do here - relax! There are around 20 beach huts and the bar/restaurant...that's it! The huts are basic but do the job nicely. Open the windows, enjoy the breeze and make sure you use your mozzie net properly! The staff are great (Chris has been there for 7 years) and the food is spot on. I have had a few fish amoks in my time and this one was as good as it gets! If you are active and want lots to do, don't come here. If you want to get away from it all, definitely do. The fact that there is no phone signal or internet and the limited access to electricity just adds to the experience. A truly unique place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was such a nice change of pace to other islands I have stayed on. The bungalows are basic but I liked them. The staff were great and very friendly. Food was good and fairly priced considering there is no other options. It is very basic and can feel remote, some other guests on the boat over were telling us they picked it because it was not a built up island but once there, they quickly changed their minds due to the wildlife and basicness of the bungalows and left the next day. For me and my partner it was idylic. The beach was clean and it was peacful and relaxing. The bungalows are not close together so you get privacy. The owners take real pride in what they have got there and it shows. Bring a book and chill out!! Another great thing was that I left my camera charger on the island. Theystaff arranged for it to be taken on the boat back to the mainland and put on a coach to siem reap, where I collected it. I really appreciated this and it just goes to show the great attitude of everyone there. One day I hope to be back because I think places like this are few and far between now days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Beach

Address: West Side of Island, Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong Samloem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Koh Rong Samloem
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy Beach Hotel Koh Rong Samloem
Lazy Beach Hotel Cambodia
Lazy Beach Cambodia/Koh Rong Samloem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.