We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Rong Samloem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Beach
Save
You added Lazy Beach to your Saves list
Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for six nights and had a wonderful time.
We cabins are basic but are clean and we didn't need anything else.
The restaurant/bar was wonderful, it was a big relaxing area with a variety of sitting areas, the food there was also great and plenty of varieties for vegetarians.
We left extremely relaxed and rested and can't wait to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    55
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
170
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

All prevous reviews are very accurate, make sure you bring some good books to read. Staff are all friendly and certianly not in your face. Menu was comprehensive and all we had was cooked and presented well, The Pad Thai was perfect. The Mozzies were what we expected and are controlled by insect repellent and Mozzie nets. The sandflies however are not, these unseen little blighters dont make their presence known until after they have done their damage. Even using "bushmans" 80% deet did not deter them. After 4 very relaxing days and nights we needed to leave. I would be cautious coming here with young children who may have sensitive skin. What a joy to swim in clean water on a clean beach, quite a novelty for SE asia. Really appreciated that someone cleaned up the flotsam on the beach every morning. Snorkelling is an activity but hardly wonderful.

Room Tip: we had bungalow 7, perfect. odd numbers are on the beach, evens are set back. anything more than 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Congratulations to all. Tasteful and uncrowded set up. Very friendly staff running efficient " hotel". Huts private, rustic and simple but well designed with comfortable beds, safety box and mosquito nets. Did not miss hot water, or electricity during day in lodges. Quiet and peaceful but also atmospheric. Loved being away from hustle and bustle and mobiles/wifi. Food delicious, large portions and fruit salad to die for! Great safe swimming and exploring reef. Pleasant walks over to other side island and, look out point. Beach was beautiful and so clean. Lots of games and table tennis table provided.
Walk to huts on soft sand. Mosquittos at sun set were present. For somebody who usually likes her creature comforts we adored our 2 nights here!

Room Tip: walking to rooms on soft sand some some distance away from restaurant should be considered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is the place you imagine when quelling your mind with soothing thoughts. An island, far from the crowds, with a perfect beach, not too big, not too small, with lapping waters, tropical fish, secluded bungalows, a hammock swinging in the gentle breeze...Add to that good food, nice walks and a chilled out vibe in the communal spaces - no, it's not a meditation device, the place you've been imagining turns out to be real. The difficulties booking in and getting there only add to the allure - it shouldn't be too easy (and the boat trip did freak me a little). Once you arrive, you are rewarded for your hard work with an immediate and enduring sense of relaxation - the rest of the world is now far away and the time you have ahead of you is completely yours to construct. You can walk, jog, explore, swim, snorkel... or just sit in the very attractive and chilled out bar area, sip a cocktail and read. Accommodation is very basic but otherwise Lazy Beach is near perfect, despite the recent expansions. Let's hope they can keep it this way. The other side of the island by contrast seems frenetic and party oriented - no wonder guests from Saracen Beach come over to cast envious looks at the hyper-chilled environment of Lazy Beach.

Room Tip: Bungalows at the opposite (northern) end of the beach away from the jetty and dining area are a reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeosu, South Korea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Lazy Beach was, in a few words, exactly what we were looking for. Large, pristine beach with amazing sunsets, comfortable (albeit basic) bungalows, a wonderful restaurant and great staff. The beach is white sand with light blue water. There is a bit of snorkeling nearby too. The rooms have two comfortable double beds and a basic bathroom. I think the only downside is that the toilets don't flush and must be flushed by hand with buckets of water. This makes the bathroom smell and feel a bit on the dirty side, but it's important to keep in mind that you're on a basically undeveloped island. The restaurant and bar are fantastic, with a HUGE menu offering really good food with huge portions. The liquor selection is nice with lots of good cocktails. The staff are fantastic, a few Western staff members make communication easy, and the Cambodian staff members are fantastic too. Keep in mind that this place is called Lazy Beach. Don't expect to be waited on. The staff with be welcoming and accommodating, but this isn't the kind of place where they're going to bring your drinks to the beach or pamper you. The whole vibe of the place is relaxed and laid back, so if that's what you're looking for, as we were, then this is exactly what you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Absolute paradise. We stayed for 5 nights over Christmas and had the best time. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, the food is amazing (not average as said in some other reviews), the bungalows are perfect and the beach is just stunning. We wanted to return at the end of our South East Asia trip but unfortunately we couldn't work out the logistics.

If you're looking to stay on an island off Cambodia, book Lazy Beach, it's incredible.

A big thank you to Chris, Richard and Lena for making our stay a very memorable one, we will come back one day!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Lazy Beach and wish we could have stayed for longer. This place really feels like you're on your own private island beach and is perfect for a relaxing beach location in Cambodia. There isn't a huge amount of activities and the huts are basic, but both fit perfectly with the whole idea of the place. There is quite a social bar if you're looking to have a few drinks with other travelers (there's quite a mixed crowd from young backpackers to older couples).
Note: suggest you take a torch with you, as the rooms are quite dark at night (even before the generator is switched off).

Positives
- Fantastic beach and general location
- Great food and a huge amount of variety on the menu
- Staff were great, very friendly and helpful

Negatives
- Not exactly cheap, but given the isolated location this is to be expected

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Beach

Address: Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong Samloem
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Koh Rong Samloem
Also Known As:
Lazy Beach Hotel Koh Rong Samloem
Lazy Beach Hotel Cambodia
Lazy Beach Cambodia/Koh Rong Samloem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.