We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to wind down our trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Rong Samloem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Beach
Save
You added Lazy Beach to your Saves list
Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
brisbane
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The perfect place to wind down our trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place was pretty much our idea of paradise. If you don't mind limited electricity and rustic bathrooms, then it may well be your idea of paradise also. These things did not affect us one bit and were a pretty easy trade-off for our own private beach with perfectly clear and warm water, hammocks, rope swings, bush walks, cute dogs to pat, lovely staff and fellow travellers to chat to, great food and drinks, board games, ping pong. What more could you want!? Go to Lazy Beach, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    55
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
170
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A really relaxed, well run by two Englishmen and family, private beach with 16 beach bungalows. Done incredibly well, very peaceful and beautiful Walk to other side but the hill and they will even take you fishing. Avoid fish, overcooked on BBQ but all other food great especially fresh rools.Love it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

It is clear from the above reviews how good this place is, so I won't bang on too much. However I feel the need to express how good the owners and staff are and how they have nailed providing the perfect experience. These guys are the icing on the cake . So engaging, friendly, chilled...no request is too hard.
Everyone must visit this place in their lifetime. The impacts on you personally will be profound.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Lazy Beach is the elusive paradise we all dream wistfully about. I'm intrepid and I'm a beach girl so I guess you could say I've experienced my fair share of gorgeous places by the sea and Lazy Beach is definitely one of the best. What is most special (and this tops a long list of specialness) is that the resort has the 400 metre beach all to itself and beyond exclusive, posh, generic resorts, that's pretty rare.
If you're considering a visit to Lazy, there are several things you will want to know:
1. You will stay longer than planned
2. The staff and managers at Lazy have created a welcoming, inclusive and delicious environment where you can be as comfortably lazy or as adventurous as you desire: there are beautiful jungle walks, kayaking, snorkeling, other beaches to visit, fishing as well as plenty of inviting chairs and private spaces to curl up in.
3. Practical stuff: At the time of this review the boat is $20 return and departs Serendipity at 12pm each day and returns (filled with heavy hearts) at 8:30am. Bungalows are $40. They have two king size beds and a basic ensuite. Mozzie nets and clean linen and towels are provided. You can have as many as you like in each bungalow. We had a family of 5 (btw we have tall kids!). Each bungalow has a balcony with chairs and hammocks and are all facing the beautiful sea. The generator is on from 6-12pm so you can charge devices etc but there are no fans or Internet. Breakfast isn't included. If you budgeted $30/day for food and drink you would be very content. There is a small supply of essentials such as sunscreen and mozzie repellant to buy if you need it.
4. As you are waved off by the beautiful staff, the dogs and new found friends, you will be planning your return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lazy Beach may take a bit of planning, some flexibility, patience and travel half way around the world; but, it is worth every moment. From the spectacular views, lazy activities, hikes; and, outstanding dining Lazy Beach exceeds every expectation. From Phnom Penh be sure to call and make your reservation, no online booking available. It is possible to make it same day from PNH to Lazy Beach; but, planning is key. Take the 6:00AM bus to Sihounoukville (recommend Sorya $7US) and grab a tuk tuk as soon as you reach the station ($3US) or moto if you only have a pack. This should get you to the booking office by 11:30. Nice 2hr boat ride and with anxious anticipation, you arrive. I will not spoil the fun . . . only to say that you must put Lazy Beach on your short list . .. . enjoy!

Room Tip: If you want privacy shoot for the high numbers. Far from the restaurant; but, close to the best snor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having stayed at over 30 different island locations around South East Asia I was looking for somewhere new to stay. I was recommended Lazy Beach by friends who'd been there based on the lack of party people and the quality of the food. Both were priorities for our group of three and we were not disappointed. It is total relaxation there.

The food is fantastic - with a large menu of local, regional and foreign food which is also absolutely top quality in preparation and totally reasonable in price. The same goes for the drinks.

Things to do: read a book from their library, snorkel right off the beach where you can see tropical fish and squid within minutes, multiple jungle walks ranging from 20 mins to 4 hrs to various bays/summits on the island, chilling on one of the beach-front swings etc.

They also have volleyball, badminton and table-tennis courts set up which make for fun evenings.

There is nothing you could really fault with Lazy Beach unless you were after a 5 star hotel room, but if you wanted that you wouldn't be looking here anyway. This place attracts people who seem to be more chilled and want a more chilled vibe than most other places nearby (the larger Koh Rong etc). The atmosphere is social enough if you want to interact with others or similarly chilled if you prefer to just do your own thing.

You'd have to travel a long, long way to find anywhere this good to relax in SE Asia.

Room Tip: The bungalows are numbered 1 to 14, starting closest and moving away from the restaurant/bar buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've just got back from a great trip to Cambodia and we finished it off at Lazy Beach. We had been recommended to go by my girlfriend's cousin who was there wither her family in August. Our plan was to maybe stay three nights but we quickly decided to add another two before heading home. It's easy to get to by boat (from Serendipity Beach) for two hours and Rich, Chris and the team are really welcoming, look after your every need and it's all very relaxed. Great food, bar, even table tennis, volley ball and board games! The big timber bungalows are set back just metres away from the beach and very affordable at $40 per night with two large double beds. It's the sort of place you will have no regrets in visiting! :) Almost forgot....the beach has a lot of activity with fun 'ghost' & 'hermit' crabs and at night if you go for a dip you can see phosphorescence in the water!

Room Tip: $40 per bungalow with two large double beds can sleep x4 comfortably or even 5 or 6 people. Bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Beach

Address: Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong Samloem
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Koh Rong Samloem
Also Known As:
Lazy Beach Hotel Koh Rong Samloem
Lazy Beach Hotel Cambodia
Lazy Beach Cambodia/Koh Rong Samloem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.