We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Austrian

The Austrian
Conwy Old Road, Dwygyfylchi LL34 6SP, Wales
01492 622170
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Austrian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
englandu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A Saturday evening meal we were presented with an excellent friendly service and atmosphere. Our party of three all left very satisfied with very full stomachs. The food was fantastic and we left very happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    13
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bloody lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have not been for a while, but were welcomed back by the lovely Judith, who I am sure will remind me not to have a starter next time so I can squeeze in my favourite pudding Heisse Liebe (hot love) a pud of ice creams, hot raspberries and cream.

Graham had the roast pork today and I would be jealous but my pork goulash (not going to attempt to spell this one) was beautiful.

We will not leave it so long before returning this time.

Congratulations on being open for 25 years x

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Date night with wife”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Arrived on a wet Thursday evening. Warm welcome and some Austrian music. We were the only people there so it lacked a bit of atmosphere. Overall, the meal was quite nice. Service was good. Lady was friendly and chatty but knew when to leave us in peace. Food was of good quality though the seating area was a little twee..... I suppose that was part of the attraction.
Overall, a pleasant evening, though I probably won't go back for a good while.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food & Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Having visited this restaurant on a number occasions over the years, we have found there food, service and hospitality second to none on each occasion, both Judith & Fredie relay there passion in there excellent service and preparation of food which will be hard to beat. Well Done!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great food and big portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had seen a recommendation for this restaurant when looking for local accommodation and liked the sound of it. We greeted by very friendly staff and it is a very relaxed, homely restaurant. There are plenty of options on the menu and we went for fillet of plaice and pork hock, which were both, incredible. It’s good to see big portions getting served up and you certainly shouldn’t leave hungry! Very good value for money and definitely worth a visit.

Mike and Shona

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Austrian also viewed

Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
Dwygyfylchi, Conwy County
 
Conwy, Snowdonia National Park
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
 

Been to The Austrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Austrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.