We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tir y Coed Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tir y Coed Country House to your Saves list
Tir y Coed Country House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Formby, Lancs Coast
1 review
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Excellent hosts, great food, lovely rooms. we definitely will be returning.


Philip & Maureen Broadbent

  • Liked — The obvious care and thought the proprietors had given to creating a luxurious relaxing enviroment
  • Disliked — Could'nt find any fault
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
144
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

....Consider staying in the home of one of your oldest and closest friends....add to this a delightful culinary experience in a 'heaven and earth' surrounding, and you have Tir Y Coed. A very warm welcome from your hosts Ian and Alan; a truly idyllic few days spent in one of the most beautiful areas in Wales - which definately warrants a return visit.......wonderful!!

Ann Marie & Neil 25 - 28 May 2007

  • Liked — cleanliness and comfort - overall ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Stayed one night for my husbands birthday, it felt really special. Excellent decor with comfortable firnishings. Food excellent, the staff had a good understanding of gluten free diets.Ideal place for coleiacs like my self. I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel and hope to visit it again

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe Bridge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

Stayed there whilst attending out daughter's wedding. Location idyllic, food unbelievably good, comfortable, friendly and quirky.
We will go back and try one of the new rooms!
A real welsh gem, hidden in the hills.
Brilliant!

  • Liked — Friendly approach
  • Disliked — room a little small for a tall husband
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

What a wonderful guest house. We recently went on a three week road trip of the UK. Of all the 12 or so places we stayed, this was head and shoulders the best "whole package" of the trip. The house is beautiful, the garden lovely, the rooms exceptionally comfortable and clean, and the area quiet and restful. But the best part was the food. Dinner was by far one of the best meals of our entire trip. All I can say is 'WOW". Fabulous food, in a beautiful dining room.

We found this guest house by accident, and unfortunately had already booked the next night elsewhere. Had we known, we would have extended our time at Tir y Coed.

  • Liked — cleanliness and the great food
  • Disliked — that we couldn't stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — Book it now. Currently rated 3 diamonds, but better than many 4 diamonds!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tir y Coed Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir y Coed Country House

Address: Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tir y Coed Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir y Coed is a haven of peace and tranquility. Surrounded by an acre of mature landscaped gardens on the edge of Rowen, one of the Conwy valley's most delightful villages and just within the boundarys of the Snowdonia National Park. Most bedrooms have views over the gardens and vary in size and style as would be expected in a period house, Each room has either an en suite bath or shower room, T.V., refreshment tray and clock radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tir y Coed Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir y Coed Country House Hotel Rowen
Tir y Coed Country Hotel
Tir y Coed Country House Rowen, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir y Coed Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.