We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tir y Coed Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Tir y Coed Country House to your Saves list
Tir y Coed Country House
Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our first visit to Tir y Coed we dinned in the garden room. No doubt this is a special place in every way made so by the owners.
Every thing is taken care of and the quality of the food is the best in the area. You will have to book in advance as it is a busy venue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
138
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Indulge yourself. We had a quality experience from arrival to departure with comfort and courtesy the norm together with good food served in a calm and pleasant manner. As pensioners we will not be going often but will indulge ourselves on special occasions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived later than expected on a winters evening to be welcomed by Ian. A lovely glass of wine appeared and we were left to relax. This is a truly wonderful country house hotel: the food is delicious and the surroundings exceptional. We had planned a walking weekend and the weather kept its promise, no rain and on Sunday beautiful sunshine. The breakfasts were perfect, fresh fruit, bread and the most amazing bacon. Dinner on Saturday was perfect. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed again (3rd time) a short time ago, but I haven't had chance to review. The place is just amazing, and the addition of the bar area has really made it even better. Beautiful food, amazing wine and some fantastic shoes on show!

I am one of the most awkward customers the hospitality trade will ever come across, and yet walking back into Tir Y Coed feels like coming home, the only thing missing is being allowed to keep some slippers there, although I think I'd probably be allowed if I asked!!

We're booked again for Valentines next year, and we will, I am certain, continue to go back as long as Ian and Allan will have us, if you want that "extra something" then stay at Tir y Coed, I have never, EVER stayed anywhere that equals it, let alone betters it.

Please, PLEASE do not retire anytime soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Ian and Allan make you feel really welcome in their "home" as soon as you walk through the front door. We were fortunate to get a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was outstanding. Wonderful large bed, masses of wardrobe space. Well appointed bathroom with bath AND shower. Nothing was too much trouble for the boys. We had a slight problem with the shower temperature, which was fixed while we had dinner. The evening meals were excellent all produced from scratch with beautiful local ingredients. Allan's personal touch whilst serving at both dinner and breakfast added to the experience. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates that "touch of luxury."

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was the third time we have stayed at this hotel and like the previous occasions it was perfect: beautiful surroundings, comfortable rooms, good food and charming hosts. Tir y Coed is on the edge of the village of Rowen in the Conwy Valley, convenient for all the North Wales sites. It sits in extensive and beautiful, gardens with stunning views of the surrounding hills. The hosts Ian and Ian have done a wonderful job in adapting and decorating the house so the rooms are impeccable. The food is locally sourced and of the highest quality and is obviously gaining a a reputation locally as the diners are no longer just the residents (so booking the evening meal when you book the room is probably advisable)

This has to be our favourite hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you are looking for true hospitality in a gorgeous country home - this is the place to come! Alan and Ian are the hosts and they are wonderful! From the great welcoming on arrival to the terrific breakfast of mostly local delicious produce, wonderful rooms, great ambiance and decoration throughout the house, not to mention the gorgeous gardens - this place is a gem! Thanks both for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tir y Coed Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir y Coed Country House

Address: Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tir y Coed is a haven of peace and tranquility. Surrounded by an acre of mature landscaped gardens on the edge of Rowen, one of the Conwy valley's most delightful villages and just within the boundarys of the Snowdonia National Park. Most bedrooms have views over the gardens and vary in size and style as would be expected in a period house, Each room has either an en suite bath or shower room, T.V., refreshment tray and clock radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Tir y Coed Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tir y Coed Country House Hotel Rowen
Tir y Coed Country Hotel
Tir y Coed Country House Rowen, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir y Coed Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.