We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem, its a cliche - but its true!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House to your Saves list
Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House
Rowen | Conwy, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Rowen B&B and Inns
Stoke on Trent
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, its a cliche - but its true!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We booked in at the Glyn Isa for one night as we fancied a night away and decided to visit nearby Conwy.

We wanted something a little off the beaten track and this hotel really is, but its not difficult to find as long as you take the time to get a map/directions.

Lovely welcome when we arrived and we were made to feel at home straightaway, our room (The Captains room) was fantastic with a very nice 4-poster and plenty of room. Breakfast was all good, i went for cereal and there was plenty of choice with Claire having a full english which she thoroughly enjoyed (although i nicked her fried bread, ha).

If you are looking for a hotel as a base for venturing into the North Wales coast this is exactly what you'd need, its close enugh to everywhere you'd want to see and you get treated like a guest rather than just a customer. Its not licensed, but that just means you can buy your own drink and have it in the lounge (and there are a couple of bars within a mile, the Groesse Inn is the better bet i reckon).

Wonderful hotel and we had a great one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
BRISTOL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Over 3 nights, Glyn Isa offered us perfect accommodation and a perfect location. The house is beautifully furnished to match the period of the property and provided us with a relaxing and homely atmosphere. Elizabeth provided excellent hospitality and provided good advice on the local activities and facilities.The breakfast was very good and substantial.
In the area we completed the walk around the two lakes, visited Bettws Y Coed and spent an evening at the theatre in Llandudno (King Lear with Derek Jacobi). There seemed to be plenty of places locally for evening meals --- The Groes Inn was particularly good for food with its own unique real ale.
We highly recommend both Glyn Isa and the locality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Glyn Isa could be described as a lovely B&B - Full of antiques, lovely decor and really peaceful. The hosts were nice people, very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast the next day was excellent.
However on our visit, our room was not cleaned properly. The television and area surrounding it was thick with dust. Also next to the bed, the window sill and in the ensuite.
We were very disappointed. At the sort of prices being charged, it was hard to understand how this could have been overlooked. Especially as we were personally shown to the room by the owner.
If it had been a hotel I'd have definitely complained. But because it was the couple's own house, I couldn't bring myself to say anything.
Based on the other glowing reviews, I can only assume that this was a one off and we were unlucky. It would have been the perfect break otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merlin27Conwy, Owner at Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
This is a very old house. You can dust it in the morning...which we do every day and by evening it will be dusty again, . We try our best, you should have let me know rather than posting a comment. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

A wonderful place for a romantic break. The hostess was very attentive though discreet, making us feel more like house guests. The room was as in the website photo, charming and cosy without being twee.The breakfasts were tasty and freshly cooked, room cleanliness was of a high standard contributing to make the stay delightful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We booked late and we had only one room available, Dollys Chamber but this proved to be a room full of real olde world charm. The hosts Liz and Darren are fantastic and you do not feel like paying guests but more like friends. Breakfast is good albeit at 08.30 it may not suit those looking for an early getaway.

The house is fantastic and the website should be viewed as it gives a very good impression and what you see is what you get. How brilliant to have photosthat reflect the true nature of the accomodation.

Overall I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights while touring North Wales last week. The house is beautiful and is full of so much character from another age. The location is perfect, being just outside of the city of Conwy in the middle of the countryside. It's extremely quiet and peaceful, set back from the street. The owners, Elizabeth and Darren couldn't be nicer and are at the ready to be of service. We loved our room, the bed was very comfortable, the linens nice, good reading lamps, and we had plenty of room for our things.. My only problem was that there was absolutely no water pressure in the bathroom. Truly. We got on alright, and I never said anything, because I realize sometimes with old houses comes old plumbing...but when there is only a trickle that comes out of the shower, as well as the sink faucet, it gets a bit frustrating! It wouldn't prevent me from returning - I would just ask for a different room - that hopefully didn't have the same problem! One thing that I loved - every morning the ducks from the pond next door would literally come up to the front door of the house and ask to be fed! It was a riot. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

A truly fantastic B&B with lots of charm and character, it is perfectly located for the nearby attractions of Bodnant Gardens, Conwy and Betws Y Coed. We had the pleasure of staying one night in the tastefully decorated Bronte Room, with its comfortable 4 poster bed and en-suite shower room. Our host, Liz was really helpful and accommodating and made us feel at home. Downstairs there is a cosy sitting room with a large open fireplace and honesty bar. Breakfast is served in the dining room with a selection of cereals, fruit juice and tea and coffee plus a lovely cooked full welsh breakfast.
All in all a truly fantastic B&B in a lovely location- thank you!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House

Address: Rowen | Conwy, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8TP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House dates back to 1626 and is set in 10 acres of gardens and land at the foothills of the Conwy mountains just over 3 miles from the medieval walled town of Conwy in Snowdonia National Park. This is our own home and we personally offer our guests graceful accommodation and hearty Welsh breakfast accompanied by a very warm welcome. We are well positioned so that you can take advantage of all this magnificent area has to offer. All our rooms have an en suite bathroom, king size double beds, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, free to air satellite channels, complimentary toiletries, iron and hairdryer. We have a lovely guest lounge and although we are not licensed, you may take your drinks in there and sit by a roaring log fire after a long day's sightseeing. Sorry, no children or pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House Rowen, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glyn Isa 17th Century Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.