We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gwern Borter Country Manor

Gwern Borter Country Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rowen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Barker's Lane | North Wales. LL32 8YL., Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowen B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My bf & I booked The 'Granary' self catering apparment for a 3 night stay. On arrival the main house (B&B) is very picturesque & the appartments are converted out-house style buildings set in a large farm style yard. From the outside everything looked promising, internally though it was a different matter. I can only speak for the 'Granary' building, but as soon as we let ourselves in we were greeted by a terrible musty, damp smell. The building has a spiral cast iron staircase leading to the mezzanine level sleeping area, this felt very unsecure & I am not the heaviest person at 9 & a half stones!
There was a small kitchen with cooker & sink area, this would have been fine had the 4 kitchen units not smelt really strongly of damp! There were plenty of dishes to use but everything that came out of the cupboards had to be washed prior to use as the smell from the cupboards clung to the dishes! On top of this the tea towel provided to dry dishes on was grubby :-( The living area sofa smelt very strongly of the same damp, musty odour & we could find no controls for the central heating for the 1 radiator in the kitchen. During our 3 night stay I can honestly say it was very chilly indoors, not what i expect from a holiday rental property!
The upstair sleeping space shared the same dank, musty smell as the rest of the ares as it is all open plan, the only saving grace was the white linen for the bed is independently laundered so it smelt fine.
Finally onto the bathroom which for my needs was fine. Although visually the tiling & skirting boards were poorly finished.
This property is set in a large yard & we had a look at the other facilities, horse riding, sauna, gym, games room, outdoor kids play area & laundry. I can imagine in it's day this would have been a lovely place, but sadly it is now run down & we did not encounter 1 aspect of the property that didn't share that awful damp, dank, musty smell. i appreciate out buildings & older style buildings are hard to heat but this place has such potential! Air out the properties before rental, heat them adequately to prevent that smell & take the trouble to clean them (the table place mats were grimy & there were loads of cobwebs from the kitchen & bathroom beams!). Also i have stayed in many self catered rental properties & it is customary to have perhaps some cooking oils or basic non perishable store cupboard ingredients such as spices etc, there was nothing like this provided.
We did not speak up at the time, as the confrontation would have ruined our holiday, but hope that for the sake of other guests you will soon improve your facilities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I consider this review to be suspicious, we did not have a 3 day booking in August. Bearing in mind this cottage was booked solid back to back in August, doors windows being opened and closed as you do at home. Not aired, cold, damp, musty, no heating in the hotest month of the year? and no one said anything. The adjoining cottage and exact duplicate Stables gave us a terrific review in August
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    4
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have had a wonderful week in the Stables cottage and it was very hard to adjust to coming home! The area is just lovely and although we came without a car (which the taxi driver who drove us from Llandudno Junction station to Gwern Borter clearly thought was totally mad) we had no problem getting about. The number 19 bus served us wonderfully well both towards Llandudno and Betwsycoed. We spent two days walking in the woods and hills around Gwern Borter, and on other days went to the RSPB at Conwy Bay, to Betswycoed, the Great Orme in Llandudno and around Conwy Castle and walls. We visited the Water Gardens twice and had one meal at the pub in Rowen, but otherwise enjoyed self catering as we usually do. Two trips to Asda at Llandudno Junction were quite sufficient for two of us. We loved the Sauna (a mere £2 for a 'long' sauna), made use of the hire bikes and the laundry (why is using a washing machine on holiday far more exciting than using one at home!?), and enjoyed watching the ducks, chickens, goats and rabbits being fed. We borrowed DVDs four times from the free library and watched four films we'd otherwise perhaps never have encountered. We fell in love with Alfie the adorable Staffy who has a lovely gentle life in the grounds of the manor which clearly meets his special emotional needs!The Stables is quite small, but perfectly adequate for a couple, as long as you are okay with coming down winding stairs at night if you need the loo. Just go slowly and don't trip up your nighty! The owners were very helpful to us. We would really love to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We had gwern borter booked for us as a wedding present and it was absolutley brilliant! Great value for money, friendly staff, facilities were brilliant, and we may have fell in love with the resident staffy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We could not fault our srtay of 4 nights and our American friend was in " raptures" with his stay. The location is initially a little awkward to find but this added to the magic when we did find it, it is the perfect rural retreat but within reach there is plenty to see and do.

The rooms are well furnished complimenting the property and in keeping with surroundings and the period of the building. Bedrooms do vary in size but this does not deter from the comfort and ambience of the rooms.

The owners go out of their way to be good hosts and make you feel you are staying in their home as friends. Breakfast is excellant with a good choice covering all diets and together with Gary and his partners local knowledge of the area and recommendations for dining out made this a relaxing and memorable break.

A big thank you for making us feel so welcome and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Fantastic time drove to Mt Snowdon from here and walked/scrambled it, took our bikes and enjoyed riding (to the local pubs) really beautiful place and really quite and relaxing the four poster bed was lovely and difficult to leave in the mornings, owners were lovely so big thumbs up from here

Room Tip: we had the back room which had great views towards the mountains and also really quite (except when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights from from 19th May and loved it. The Manor does have an Old Worlde Charm and was very tranqil and calm. The gardens and surrounding area is wonderful. We walked into Conwy which was a steady 1 1/2 hours down the quiet country lanes and footpaths. We had an excellent evening meal at Watsons Bistro on Chapel Street, Conwy. It is cheap but isn't expensive either due to the quality of meal you get. It cost us £65 for two courses, one main being a lovely fillet steak and a bottle of wine.
Hated Llandudno which appeared dated and well passed it's sell by date. That is purely our opinion though and others may like it.
We would certainly stay at Gwern Borter again and only wish we lived in such a beautiful house

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at Gwen Borter Manor for 2 nights and found it to be very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. The owners were extremely helpful and good hosts, We visited 2 restaurants in Conway on their recommendation and could not fault the food. The breakfast was excellent. The grounds were well kept and the animals were great, all very friendly. We will be going back to stay there again and have recommend it to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Address: Barker's Lane | North Wales. LL32 8YL., Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwern Borter Country Manor Rowen, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwern Borter Country Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gwern Borter Country Manor to your Saves list