We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut-Mango Icecream!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ekaete Pink Corner

Ekaete Pink Corner
Corner of Rte 10 and Rte 107, Coral Bay, St. John
340-244-8583
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Coral Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Norwich, Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Coconut-Mango Icecream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I'll admit it here: I had two servings. It was that good. Named after the waitress's great-great grandmother, the service at Ekaete was wonderful. Fast and very friendly. Super nice people. This roadside restaurant is open catch-as-catch-can, but the welcome can't be beat. We tried the conch fritters and chicken curry. Both good, but it was all about that magnificent ice cream... If you drive by and see them open, definitely stop!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    42
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best meal on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great local food and smoothies with fruits difficult to get back home. Chicken roti and goat curry won't disappoint. Go there! The hours that they are open can be hit or miss, but you can call and make a reservation and they will open for you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Ekaete's has some really interesting Caribbean dishes. Make sure you try one of the curries. (The chicken is great.) The roti are also fantastic and the vegetarian choice with chickpeas is not to miss. The side salads served with the meal are surprisingly good and the service makes you feel like you are visiting Ekaete's home. The hours are a bit hit and miss though, so plan island style and just stop when you see the "Open" sign.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have been taking my Coral Reef class from UNC to dinner at Ekaete’s Pink Corner for four consecutive years. My students and I love the authentic local cuisine and the kind and welcoming environment that Esther and her family creates. All the food tastes create. We have been fed curried goat, spare ribs, stewed chicken, barbecued chicken, meatballs, fish and great vegetarian options. My vegetarian students also gave the food an A+ this year. We have enjoyed the experience so much that we have already told Esther that we will be showing up twice next year. In addition to the good food, they also have different tropical fruit beverages and delicious homemade ice cream. Several of the flavors of ice cream are also made with tropical fruits. Finally, I would like to say that is no easy task accommodating a group of 44 hungry students who have been snorkeling all day but Ester and her family makes the job look easy. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are traveling individually and it is also a great option if you are with a group.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Goat Curry with a Goat Audience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The goat curry and BBQ ribs were suggested by the owner and she did not disappoint. She uses her own sauce on the ribs and it is sweet and delicious. The goat curry was wonderful but on the pricier side. While I was eating my goat curry a herd of goats passed through the parking lot. It is definitely a "local" experience at the corner. The Soursop ice cream was also suggested. It is a unique fruit to the virgin islands and is sweet and tart. It is also on the pricier side but so is all ice cream on the island. Overall a very local experience and one of my favorites.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekaete Pink Corner also viewed

 
Coral Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Ekaete Pink Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ekaete Pink Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.