We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Roll on Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tourist Trap

The Tourist Trap
14B John's Folly, Coral Bay 00830, St. John
340-774-0912
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 restaurants in Coral Bay
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Diner, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lobster Roll on Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

And the best of everything else as well. Don't pass this one by. Super convenient when coming back from Salt Pond, Lameshur and Rams Head Trail, but worth the drive just to eat. Food can't be beat and the drinks are awesome. Service is terrific and the atmosphere is just perfect. What more could you possibly want? Make sure this is high on your list of "Must Do when on St. John" and don't cross it off: go again!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    276
    73
    27
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Captures the Essence of a Island Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I visited The Tourist Trap after spending a few hours hiking Ram's Head. The people and service were absolutely wonderful, as it we had known each other for years. Drinks were excellent (between the two of us had Drink Right Drive Left and Boom Boom). Pork nachos were great as were pork taco and grouper taco.

Great experience and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. I would highly recommend taking the trip, enjoying the view, drinks and food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must on st John!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This was awesome! Thank you mo for making our day that much better! Such a fun stop and try her amazing lime in da coconut/ key lime pie drink!!!! FABULOUS!!!! And the grouper tacos, yum!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fun Place in a Unique Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found this wonderful place via TripAdvisor and made it a point to hit it on our way back from our visit to Salt Pond Bay, Drunk Bay and points Northeast. It was such a great decision. The moment we walked 'in' we knew it was our kind of place - funky, friendly and fun. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the hospitality. Mary was hilarious and engaging and took good care of us. Larry's commitment to the food is evident - he's very proud of his food and its quality and he should be. The Bloody Mary he made was spectacular. The pulled pork tacos were amazing. We really enjoyed our visit with them - and it felt like visiting a friend rather than going to a restaurant. We highly recommend you pay Larry a visit too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent side of the road stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Awesome!! We stumbled on the Tourist Trap....and couldn't be happier about it. The pork nachos were wonderful. Love that I have friended them on FB and can now enjoy their morning sunrise every day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tourist Trap also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Tourist Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tourist Trap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.