We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the fish sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skinny Legs Bar and Grill

Skinny Legs Bar and Grill
9901 Estate Emmaus | Coral Bay, Coral Bay 00831, St. John
+1 340-779-4982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Coral Bay
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: We are an affordable and family-friendly bar and grill in Coral Bay on St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands. In season we have lots of live music, sports, horseshoes, darts and we always have a lot of fun! We have great food at great prices!
Fairfax, Vermont
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for the fish sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My son and I hiked the Johnny Horn trail from Leinster Bay to Coral Bay last week. We arrived at Coral Bay just in time for lunch so we stopped at Skinny Legs. I had the blackened fish sandwich and my son had the cheeseburger special. Both were excellent along with a couple of cold beers. I usually get the fish sandwich there but was very pleased that they offered it in blackened version. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    303
    138
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A "must" go, but just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is one of those places that is a must visit as it's been highly regarded in Esquire magazine and other mediums, but I thought it was just okay. I have a very big pet peeve when burger places don't offer french fries, but rather potato chips as the side, just doesn't seem American to me and kind of chincey. The portion sizes of their sandwiches were decent and their pricing seemed in line for St. John except that adding simple jerk seasoning to a chicken sandwich resulted in a $1.50 up charge. The atmosphere is more college campus restaurant so take note of that before making the trek too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you want to experience a cheeseburger in paradise, this is it. Fun open air place, burgers good with cold beer . Have their own line of t-shirts, my teenaged daughters especially enjoyed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lot's of fun ... expensive fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Skinny Legs is an institution on St. John's. Many make the trek across the island just to dine here.
It's really good - just not really anything better than you would get at Smash Burger or that ilk. I opted for the Greek Salad with Mahi Mahi and it was TOP NOTCH!!
Our waitress was SUPER nice and kind. One crumudgeon in my party kept going on about the WAIT FOR FOOD, but that's nothing out of the ordinary on the islands. It is kind of pricey for what you get, but this place is well off the beaten path and that's understandable as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua NH
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fun spot in Coral Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you make it to this end of the island, you really should try Skinny Legs. It's a burger joint, packed with tourists (and locals), and is just a fun spot to have lunch (or perhaps a very casual dinner).
The rum punch packed a wallop here, and don't overlook the brownie for dessert, it was quite good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinny Legs Bar and Grill also viewed

Coral Bay, St. John
Coral Bay, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Skinny Legs Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skinny Legs Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.