We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless your stuck for somewhere to go, avoid this hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Larga

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Larga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Playa Larga
Save
You added Hotel Playa Larga to your Saves list
Montemar Natural Park | Zapata Peninsula, Playa Larga, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Larga
A Manchester Man
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Unless your stuck for somewhere to go, avoid this hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel complex is organised in a series of bungalows around the main building. It's dated appearance unfortunately extends to the hotel reception, dining room, shops and bars as well as the bungalows themselves. Overall the hotel is clean and sufficiently provided for, the beach is sandy and the water clear, but the restaurant (dining room) is something to forget. The staff are welcoming and friendly but the food they provide is institutional in style and containing almost none of the magical Cuban flavors that could so easly be added. When it comes to style of presentation, anyone who has travelled in the old Soviet Union will recognise it immeditally...... Unless your stuck for somewhere to eat, avoid eating here unless bland food in boring buildings are your forte.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main building as the evening entertainment on the beach can sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We unfortunately stayed here over new year's eve. We were forced to pay about 20 cuc per person for a new year's dinner/buffet. We had to pay it although we wanted to eat at a casa particulares. As i am vegetarian we asked before, whether there would be anything for me, which they said there would be. When we arrived, i only got half a small plate of salad! That was it. in that price they didn't even want to include drinks! We more or less payed for the staff, their families and friends which were partying there.
The room itself wasn't any better. You feel like staying in a bunker. We found blood on our sheets, it smelled like they smoked all year round in there and we either had no water or only cold one. Breakfast was a joke. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. All in all we tried to get the hell out of there as soon as possible!
The surroundings are really nice. Especially for diving and snorkeling. But the mosquitos are quite aggressive ;o)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford, united kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel is basic but perfectly clean and adequate. Hot water, air conditioning and electricity were fine. The staff were kind, efficient and very helpful. Breakfasts were fine as was the fresh fish at lunchtime. The swimming in the sea was wonderful. You can get a first class meal at Casa Silvia-Homero, Entronque, Playa Larga, Tel:- 0145-98-7558. Generous helpings of delicious fresh fish.
It is an excellent base for bird watchers, divers and fishermen. Mario Morejon is a brilliant, painstaking, enthusiatic bird guide. His mobile no is 52 75 35 89. Highlights were seeing Cuban Pygmy Owl, Cuban Screech Owl, Stygian Owl, both types of hummingbird, Fernandina's Flicker and Zapata Wren.
In such an interesting environment you get out of a stay what you put in by way of effort in pusuing your interest. Not a place for people who want to be pampered.
David & Mary, nr Guildford, Surrey

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here so we could go birdwatching. Only here for 2 nights ad although it is fine as it is clean etc, the food in the hotel was terrible and the rooms extremely basic. The beach was alright but the hotel has a br which decided to play music to the benefit of the 3 people working at the bar at full volume meaning any chance of relaxing on the beach was ruined. Ate in a paladar second day to avoid the hotel restaurant which served bad food and the service could not cope with the large tour groups.

The hotel is very popular with Russian tour groups and cycle tour groups from what I could tell.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed 2 nights half board on route from Trinidad back to Havana. The "room" consisted of a bedroom, bathroom and a living-room - all perfectly acceptable - lots of hot water even during power cuts. The food however leaves a lot to be desired after eating in Casas. However compared to other state run hotels it wasn't too bad, freshly cooked but smallish portions and not a lot of choice. The beach was lovely, the grounds well maintained and the sunset was wonderful. OK for an overnight stop or even 2 nights but no more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The room was spacious and clean. The evening meal was cold and awful, although I believe the hotel tried their best. Breakfast was a toasted sandwich which was very welcome after not eating much the previous evening. Great Mojitos!!
Lots of mosquitos. There were crabs everywhere which were difficult to avoid treading on when walking back to the room in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

This hotel is set on the beach and we were fortunate enough to watch a local church doing water baptisms with trumpet accompainment.
The chalet had a large lounge with sofas,TV and fridge. Two large single beds in the bedroom and masses of wardrobe. Unfortunately the safe was not working. Shower excellent with hot water and large towels and toiletries. Also rather to my surprise when it touched my leg - a beautiful frog. The air conditioning was lovely. I think we were lucky though as several of our group had to change rooms in the night when the electric kept on going off.
The big down side for me was the dining experience. The dining room had terrible acoustics and gave me a headache.Food okay and at breakfast we got toasted sandwich! The pool was lovely but closed at 5pm so we only just got in for a swim.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Larga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Larga

Address: Montemar Natural Park | Zapata Peninsula, Playa Larga, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Playa Larga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Larga
Number of rooms: 68

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Larga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.