We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only the best casa in playa larga, it's the best one in Cuba!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Mayito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Larga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Mayito
Save
You added Hostal Mayito to your Saves list
Playa Larga; Caleton | Ciénaga de Zapata, Playa Larga 0000, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Playa Larga B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not only the best casa in playa larga, it's the best one in Cuba!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights but I wish we stayed for much longer. It was the best casa in terms of hospitality, food, location, and rooms. Mayito is a man with many skills: amazing cook, excellent fisherman, great travel guide, and most importantly super friendly and honest. He has your best interest in mind which is the nicest thing when you are travelling in a new place. Before I came to Cuba, I heard the food was not so good, definitely NOT the case here! We had fresh seafood everyday and an assortment of local dishes that were all fresh and grown from his garden. We will definitely come back and bring our friends with us next time. Thank you for a great experience in Cuba!

ps> beds were super comfy, quiet rooms, and clean!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have been travelling around the island and spent few days in Playa Larga. Together with the amazing wild life and sea we really enjoyed our time at Mayito's house. He and all the "staff" (wife, little girl, friends,etc....) were absolutely friendly from the first moment we met and helped us to arrange our itineraries with real care (the sendero della Cuevas was just great). The rooms of the house are one of the best we experienced during our trip in Cuba and the food (meat and fish) fresh and well prepared (sorry for asking boring arros y frioles as side all the time....). We loved our time in Playa Larga and we want to thank Mayito and his wife for their help. Ciao Mayto muchas gracias por todos, Emanuele y Natasha

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed only one night at Mario's place but we really enjoyed it. The house is very nice, with a roof terrace, very close to the beach. We arrived late in the afternoon without having a proper lunch, Mario cooked for us really good sandwiches and brought them to us directly on the beach with delicious homemade cocktails....
I do not even know how to describe the dinner, there was so may things and everything was so good, I would go back to Cuba only for this! Same story with the breakfast!
We also wanted to walk in the park and to have a scuba diving session, Mario called someone he knew and we could do everything with the same guy who was very helpful (Daniel).
Our regret is that we stayed only one night in Playa Larga, but in a nutshell, we really enjoyed it! Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hello Mayito,
We stayed in this casa for three nights with four persons (Tijmen, Miranda, Michel and Brenda). We had a great time here. The food was excellent! The two rooms are big enough and there is a fantastic terrace on the first floor. We also had a workshop how to make a Mojito.
Greetings from Holland

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in November. Mayito is an amazing host who served up some of the best breakfasts and dinners that we had in Cuba. The house is lovely, with the second floor given over to two guest rooms.
This casa is in the main street of town, just 100 metres from the beautiful local beach – there are other casas that are right on the beach, but I think the food at Mayito makes up for it (plus the fact that the little beach bugs come out at sunset and it’s good to have somewhere to retreat to!). All in all an outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Get the room with the view out to the sea if you can
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been to Cuba twice and have stayed a quite a few casa particulares and Hostal Mayito is by far the best one. Great hospitality and amazing food. Extremely highly recommended. We had seven of us staying there and had wonderful service and they cleaned our rooms daily. Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. The food was varied and very good and the fresh fish doesn't get any fresher! Tons of food so bring your appetites. Great snorkeling and diving in the area. And the park is a must do for seeing birds and it is just down the street from the casa. When I got sick (from food at another place) they treated me so well and brought me soup and a doctor and got medicine for me, all the while not charging anything for these services. They truly want to make your holiday the best it can be. They are genuinely happy and love what they do.

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice. the south room has a view of the sea and the north room has incredible sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and traveling through cuba. So Playa Larga was on our route. We stopped at a casa that was in our guide book, but since there was no room left anymore the owner brought us to Casa Mayito! And that turned out to be a really beautiful place with a very nice owner and family. The food there was very good (we had breakfast and dinner), too. All was very fresh and tasty!
Unfortunatelly, we had a rainy day in Playa Larga and we decided to travel on. There the family was very helpful, too. They recommended us places to see on our way (for snorkeling) and places to stay in other cities along our route. These casas were also very nice and great recommendations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Mayito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mayito

Address: Playa Larga; Caleton | Ciénaga de Zapata, Playa Larga 0000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Playa Larga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Larga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Mayito is a modern style house located very close to the beach, in Playa Larga: one of the most beautiful places in the south of Cuba.The house rents two rooms for travelers, in the second floor with independent entrance and terrace with a lovely sea view. Both rooms have a private bathroom with cold and hot water, TV, fridge, air conditioning, fan and a double bed. Another bed can be added if needed. The owners of the house offer delicious meals at any time, laundry service, dance lessons, Internet access and all the information necessary about different places to visit in the Zapata Peninsula. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Mayito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.