We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Japanese Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unkaizan

Unkaizan
Lot 395 Jalan Telok Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+6049554118
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Japanese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went to Unkaizan on recommendations from other guests at our hotel. And we were not disappointed... the food was really amazing!! Fresh sashimi and sushi and amazing teriyaki and grilled salmon. We really enjoyed it and would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys Japanese food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    57
    13
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly knowledgable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you enjoy Japanese food, eat here! Great menu, with a big specials board focused on the freshest produce, and the waitress explained that in some cases only small quantities of each were available. Three cuts of tuna were offered, and you could choose to have it served as either sashimi or sushi.

We ate toro (tuna) sushi, battera (pressed mackerel) sushi, salmon sashimi, agedashi tofu and salmon fillet coated in miso and barbecued, which came served at the table sitting in an earthen dish over hot coals. Everything was brilliantly fresh and delicious.

Plenty of staff, all smiling and helpful, and our friendly waitress (an older lady) was a real gem. All round great meal.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Almost mytical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It is set on the foot of the eco-resort, Ambong Ambong. The quality of the food is so authentic that it makes you feel like you are in a little charming sub-urban restaurant in Japan. The view at sunset sets the mood for a romantic dinner.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

In 6 days while we were on Langkawi we went there twice. We do love Japanese food and this one is a great choice. Fish and lobsters are fresh, prepared very well and prices are fine.
Do not miss if you are Japanese food fan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poorly maintain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Restaurant definitely need up keeping, run down condition. Tableware are in poor conditions, yet charging premium prices. Very average food. Regular Japanese restaurant in KL & Penang are much better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unkaizan also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Been to Unkaizan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unkaizan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.