We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unkaizan

Unkaizan
Lot 395 Jalan Telok Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+6049554118
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We dined at this restaurant last year and enjoyed the food so much we had to come here again. As it was our last night in Langkawi we decided to push the boat out and ordered the Kobe beef plus a few sashimi and sushi dishes as well.
The beef was to die for, so tender (melt in the mouth) and delicious. We will try the Wagyu next year.
The restaurant did us proud by the quality of the food and service. All in all a wonderful evening and we left Langkawi happy. WILL BE BACK

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    53
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The best Japanese food I have ever eaten! So fresh and so beautifully prepared! The cold seafood platter was served in a seashell and each dish was just perfect. No wonder this place has won lots of awards!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Han an amazing food.. Teppanyaki Rib Eye Set absolutely fantastic,, garlic fried rice was nice, very reccomende for Japanese food lover

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We love Japanese and don't have a good Japanese restaurant in our hometown, so whenever we are on vacation, we try to make up for it. Unkaizan was a pleasant surprise, so pleasant that we went twice. It is hidden away - I don't think I could have serendipitously bump into this restaurant (thank you, Tripadvisor) .
It is a simple looking little house on a little hill just off the main Pantai Tengah road, surrounded by a lot of greenery and when dining there, one almost feels like he is in the middle of rain forest. Word of caution - if you decide to dine outside, use the repellent provided shortly after arriving or the mosquitoes will eat you alive.
Service was good, they even fold the napkin into your lap. Sometimes when we wanted to ask for extra things, we had to wait a little...so I would rate service 4 out of 5. The attitude of staff was very nice though, they were smiling and remembered us when we returned the second time around. They actually seemed genuinely happy to see us return.
Food was great, so was the wine. Sashimi was fresh, macha ice cream with red bean paste was amazing.
Unkaizan was fine price wise. I never really expect to pay little in Japanese restaurants and taking into account how wonderfully fresh the fish was, I dont think we paid a lot. We even had a very nice bottle of wine that cost 69 myr which is a very reasonable price. Everywhere else, it was hard to find a nice bottle under 100 myr.
Overall I give Unkaizan thumbs up. My husband liked it so much that every night when deciding on where to dine, he brought up Unkaizan and asked, if we can go for a third time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good, fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

not the best but we liked it. Presentation was very pleasant, for some reason they did not give soya bottles so we had order several times for the sushi.

This restaurant is on the fancier and better side. i would say top 3 of sushi places we visited in mayasia / KL . Food was veqry tasty and well presented

Minus for soya, mosqitos inside, and weird wrappings around the entrance door that made us think it was closed down, why not put a sign or something?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unkaizan also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Unkaizan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unkaizan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.