We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine and cheap place, right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie Motel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Charlie Motel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlie Motel & Restaurant
Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pantai Tengah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fine and cheap place, right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights with my wife and 3 kids. Wifi is only near the reception, but clean rooms, toilets okay, garden and beach is nice. They did repairs on three rooms while we were there, which is a good thing. Many budget travellers and locals come there and like it for the location and price. Hornbills, Ravens visit the garden and trees behind the large building in the back. Many other birds and some squirrel and some larger mammal that was not a monkey I think. Not a place perfect or spotless, but we liked it and stayed longer than planned.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the first time our kindergarten teachers had a bad experience staying in the motel. At first check-in, there was nice view of beach with speed boat service and parachute. As we enter the room, not same like they said - no water heater, air-cond full of dust, smell badly, toilet flush broken and dirty, one of the door knob cannot be locked, television only have 1 channel and didn't provide kettle or small fridge. Some more the worst experience is one of the room there was a man peeping us while bathing. When we checked behind the toilet there was a chair. Furthermore, got one night there was a young snake inside the toilet. Just imagine how scary the place... This is the first and last we're there and no more through agent to go for a trip..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A family trip at a chalet in Langkawi turned disastrous when we checked into Charlie's Motel at Pantai Tengah. We were desperate for a short getaway and was excited to read that the rate at this motel was only RM91 per nite for a family room. We booked via agoda.com,my. However, the interior of the room, as someone wrote a comment on Trip Advisor as "EERY", that is particular true. Though we read the bad reviews of this motel via agoda.com.my, we did not expect the condition of the interior was THAT "BAD"....And so we booked 2 nights, BUT left on the 2nd night. Our room was No. 17. Will try and post some pictures (pictures speak a 1000 words) than trying to type out the EERIENESS in the stretch of rooms on this side of the chalet. Not too sure how the other rooms were. Or were we just unlucky??? Lights on ceiling doesnt have a cover/furniture & furnishings were run down/toilet is very eery - sink on tap has to be screwed at the top if u want to use the tap, drain in shower no cover, toilet flush tank broken (dangerous for kids), overall toilet condition - 0/10 a.k.a. VERY DIRTY!!!! Will DEFINITELY NOT recommend this motel to anyone if plan to stay in a NICE & CLEAN motel. The view of the sunset and beach was lovely though. NOTE : No fridge & kettle in our room as shown in the picture at agoda.com,my Thank God the bedsheets were clean. For internet, you have got to be really close to the reception area to be able to get connection. We are not asking for a 5-star treatment with the low rate that we paid but at least, the motel should have the descency to ensure that the room n toilet is clean. Once bitten twice shy...next time we'll pay a bit more and stay in other motels.

Room Tip: Probably the beach front rooms are cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Or we were just lucky to have a bungalow in the front with fantastic sea view...The room itself was pretty dated but who cares when you've got the most amazing sunset sea view ever. All we wanted was bungalow on the beach and we got exactly that. I can see why this place isn't not popular, apparently the some of the rooms are pretty rough.

We had many problems in our room, too: we had a discounted rate as the washer in the bathroom was leaking, one day the aircon just stopped working but they fixed it quickly, no breakfast at all, however there's a bar or sort of a restaurant where native Malaysians eat (we did not any western people in the whole place apart from ourselves, no wonder the stuff hardly spoke any English). All problems were fixed and we did not care about the lack of comfort as we had the best bungalow on the beach and paid around £20 a night so I guess we had a good deal.

Room Tip: If you can't get the one of the 3 bungalows on the front, don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late at night turned on light and 100s of Mosquitos everywhere !!
Don't expect nothing special 4 price we paid but his was poor basically cabins put together ! Room had no toilet paper but at least bug killer spray!!!
Checked out next morning

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Just returned from a stay at Charlie M (March 2011) - really a waste of money ! Despite it's good location just on the beach, it is run-down, shabby and poorly managed. The bathroom, especially, is frightening. The beds, blankets, towels etc looked 10 years old. There are only 4 to 6 "new" units right at the back away from the beach that looked better. We had cockroaches visit our room one night too. There are many other nicer places to stay at.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
underwater world
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

This is the worst motel i ever stayed in at any island of M'sia. RM85.00 is worth it for 2 double beds room, BUT the washroom was really ill looked, scary, smelly toilet bowl and slipery floor tiles. Air conditioning room but NOT really functioning well during day time and TV was a waste as no frequency / signal at all. Towels bath was dirty and torn. Worst things was a lot of mosquito ! Main door was too fragile with only single lock ! Reception was nobody usually ... Worst of all it was only thin wood connecting to other room and you can imagine a lot of different voices to be heard ! oh my ! Never ever stay in this motel !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlie Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie Motel & Restaurant

Address: Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Charlie Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlie Motel & Restaurant Hotel Langkawi
Charlie Motel And Restaurant
Charlie Motel & Restaurant Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie Motel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.