We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice resort for its low price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice resort for its low price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The resort is very nice and has its own beach (even though there are better ones in the next town). Due to the fact that its very cheap the rooms and the location are absolutely reasonable. A little bit odd was that I had to transmit my credit card details via phone and the manager. Moreover we asked to change the room from queen size bed to two separate beds and the manager answered very rough which was a bit disturbing. Neverthenless the hotel is worth its money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    119
    31
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
152
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at on 21 September. I wanted to try it out as I booked another place 2 months in advance. Tropical Resort was 4 times more worth than the other hotel I booked (and a lot cheaper too). Everything was close: beach, cheap food, expensive food, shopping, etc -- all at a walking distance. I got 1-bar of wifi from my room -- but it doesn't matter when everything else fit into place. I had a rare occasion to make friends with a Hornbill that was playing at the tree near my room. All in all, will come and stay at the same place again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking a moment to provide your feedback. We really appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've been meaning to write this review for some time as even though it's been a while since I visited, the tropical resort, I often think of the great week we had in Lankawi for which this was our base... and we couldn't have picked a better one.

I stayed here with a friend two years ago and found it be the best value the location has to offer.... and we shopped around, checking out practically every spot along Pentai Chenang and most of Tengah too before discovering this gem. The bungalow was spotlessly clean and the gardens well maintained. The resort doesn't offer all of the bar, massage and restaurant bells and whistles that some Langkawi resorts boast, but not having these amenities on site mean you get great accommodation for a fraction of the price... and just pop across the road to a great spa or take a short stroll along the beach to the lighthouse for a drink in arguably the best sunset spot on the island. Tropical resort has its own pathway leading down to the beautiful beach (Pentai Tengah) too. The resort is very quiet so despite the nightlife of Pentais Tengah and Chenang being a very short stroll away, it won't disturb your sleep.

The only thing that may be an issue is that the resort had a no alcohol policy which meant we couldn't have a cold beer on the bungalow balcony in the evening, but this was absolutely no issue for us and there's no shortage bars (of all types) close by anyway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel from 10 to 13 of September. The reservation and check in process was pretty smooth. The room was in an awesome location. It was room 16. Room was clean and spacious. AC and ceiling fan were in good condition. The wifi is not a available in rooms. Instead, there is a very lovely place close to the reception with wifi. In fact the area is a kind of library which was great idea. Overall, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. I truly appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodation and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yutz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in the comfortable deluxe room set in a nice garden setting. It's only a couple of minutes to the beach and the main shopping / dining area while being in a quiet location - supermarket, scooter rental, breakfast joints and restaurants all within minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auvergne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A simple double room and bathroom. You can walk straight from your room, down a short track to the beach. Free WIFI is available around the reception area. The staff were extremely helpful, but not much English spoken ( which we liked!) Great value and we thought it was lovely, but it is not the place for you if you want all the entertainment/facilities of a big hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe, facing towards the sea, no view but it looked over gardens rather than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Tropical Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My trip to Langkawi was undertaken in mid-June'13 and reviewed soon yet coz of there's no possibility for rewiew correcion on this source but rather delete it was completely removed.

So as for Tropical Resort it's a beautiful place with nice bungalows in a garden and Wi Fi zone to the library either quite near the other hotels and restaurants with different Asian cuisines, SPA, shops or nice quiet seashore on a straight walk way as well.
It was also car/bike rental points of service and travel agencies in quite a walk way as well.

The rooms were clean and comfortable with all the necessary conveniences like air condition, fan, frige and TV. It was even antimosquito gadget provided with a stuff.

The rooms were cleaned every day with attentive stuff and no inconvenience was caused by that action.

Special thanks to Mr Shukri (the gentlemen on reception) for advice in docs Malay translation, Mr KK (with travel agency) for a nice trip over the island with guide assistance and also Azahar (navy man before and taxi driver for a moment) for efficient recommendation and personal help with business and private matters.

Actually the place for trace leaving to mind for a nice sweet memory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the compliment. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again one day to Langkawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
#19 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 14 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.2 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.