We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills...Very nice budget resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pantai Tengah
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No frills...Very nice budget resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The beach is just 2 mins walk from the room, it's not visible from the resort but one can just walk there from the back side. There is no1 at the reception during night hours so if u need a towel or something, ask for it during the day. There is no restaurant in the resort, but there are many around it, so not a problem. The main Cenang beach is also a 10 min walk, you can also rent a bike or car in front of the resort itself(quite comfortable). If you ask for an electric kettle, they will provide so you can have your tea in the room. Rooms are nice, good size, neat and clean with a comfy bed. All in all, I loved my stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room, it's more beautiful as compared to the back beach side which is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    85
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
109
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Tropical resort in mid April 2013. I was very skeptical of staying at the resort at first, as it was so cheap compared to the resorts in Chenang Beach. Fortunately, the room had exceeded my expectations threefold.

It's not a Sheraton or anything like that, but basically all your basic needs like a clean room, bed, aircond, hot water, clean toilet, daily change of fresh towels are all there. Oh, did i forget to mention, free WIFI at the common room?

I would recommend anyone on a budget to definitely stay here. Thank you Tropical Resort for allowing me and my husband to have an affordable yet enjoyable holiday! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

When i arrived at the place, i saw no cars parked and like no one is booking this place but i see most of them are foreigners. They either walk or user bikes. Not much locals stay here probably this excellent place is not that well known. It's excellent place to stay as others stated. Top most is it's clean. Surrounded by good landscaping. Rooms comes with mini fridge, hot shower, air conditioner and basic needs. It's quiet and most importantly cheap compared to any other accommodation around. Our baby of seven months old had very good sleep all the days so i would say it's comfortable stay for us. Good job management. Stayed here from 23rd to 25th April 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked initially for 4 nights but extended it for 10 days because we enjoyed staying here so much. Our room was modern, well laid out, clean and comfortable with the huge advantage of having direct access to the beach, a rare commodity on this beach. The small terrace was ideal for sitting in the shade and watching the large numbers of birds in the surrounding trees, which included a gnag of Hornbills and many hummingbirds. Some rooms have Wifi access but being at far end of the block. the quieter end, we just used the public areas. The resort is 10 minutes walk from the main Strip at Cenang beach or just 6Rm if it's too hot to walk. Tengah Beach is a lot smaller and quieter than Cenang, and without most it's beach businesses, and can be rougher with waves and currents. All good for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of block has less foot traffic though poor Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapalai Island, Borneo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here, and I couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Langkawi. Location wise, it's perfect - only walking distance from the hustle bustle of Cenang, yet nestled cosily in quieter Pantai Tengah. Convenience + Peace and quiet! Right outside our room there's a little pathway through lush trees and grass leading into Pantai Tengah where we had a peaceful breakfast picnic one morning. The beach was clean and we could spot eagles soaring high up every now and then. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, housekeeping did a great job every day while we were out. Staff were all very courteous and helpful. The place also has a book and magazine corner (from which I borrowed a couple of Nat Geo issues from the 90s)..Another wonderful thing about this place is it's right next to Alun Alun Spa which was phenomenal! Anyone staying at Tropical should give this spa a try and also check out their range of self made spa products.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a standard double for 4 nights at the end of February, 2013.

Our room was large, clean and modern with a large double bed, bedside tables, a wardrobe, television (with hardly any channels so pretty pointless although we weren't there to watch tv so was not a problem), air con unit and ensuite bathroom/ wet room with power shower. We also had a small outdoor terrace with a table and two chairs which was a nice touch.

The hotel was quiet with nicely kept gardens and pathways, and friendly staff with room service daily. It was well located just a 2 minute walk down a sand pathway to Pentah Tengah beach which was quieter but just as nice (although not as wide) as Pentai Cenang beach. There are also a number of restaurants suiting all budgets close by as well as a couple of spa's and a well stocked minimart across the road.

The resort also had a nice common area with tables and chairs where you could sit and access the wifi or simply read. For me though, there were just a couple of small things it could easily do to improve such as putting tea/ coffee facilities in the rooms or at reception. There is no on site restaurant or tea/ coffee machines or even a vending machine so, after dark, your stuck if you want a drink but don't want to wander far. Secondly, the wifi not working in the rooms (unless you're lucky enough to have a room next to the reception building), is a little average in this day and age. We've been travelling for 5 months now and can count on one hand the number of places which have not had wifi in the rooms and all have been a similar price to Tropical Resort so that's no excuse.

All in all though, for the price, Tropical Resort was an absolutely excellent choice and we'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you want wifi to work in your room, request a room close to the reception building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and found rooms comfortable and clean. The beach is less than 5mins walk away and not as crowded as cenang beach. Many eateries within walking distance. We brought our kids along to attend Lima and managed to find time to enjoy the quiet tengah beach. We were in rooms 5 & 6 and we had good wifi connections.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.