We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean accommodation in a nice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Large clean accommodation in a nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a standard double for 4 nights at the end of February, 2013.

Our room was large, clean and modern with a large double bed, bedside tables, a wardrobe, television (with hardly any channels so pretty pointless although we weren't there to watch tv so was not a problem), air con unit and ensuite bathroom/ wet room with power shower. We also had a small outdoor terrace with a table and two chairs which was a nice touch.

The hotel was quiet with nicely kept gardens and pathways, and friendly staff with room service daily. It was well located just a 2 minute walk down a sand pathway to Pentah Tengah beach which was quieter but just as nice (although not as wide) as Pentai Cenang beach. There are also a number of restaurants suiting all budgets close by as well as a couple of spa's and a well stocked minimart across the road.

The resort also had a nice common area with tables and chairs where you could sit and access the wifi or simply read. For me though, there were just a couple of small things it could easily do to improve such as putting tea/ coffee facilities in the rooms or at reception. There is no on site restaurant or tea/ coffee machines or even a vending machine so, after dark, your stuck if you want a drink but don't want to wander far. Secondly, the wifi not working in the rooms (unless you're lucky enough to have a room next to the reception building), is a little average in this day and age. We've been travelling for 5 months now and can count on one hand the number of places which have not had wifi in the rooms and all have been a similar price to Tropical Resort so that's no excuse.

All in all though, for the price, Tropical Resort was an absolutely excellent choice and we'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you want wifi to work in your room, request a room close to the reception building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    105
    29
    4
    6
See reviews for
44
134
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found rooms comfortable and clean. The beach is less than 5mins walk away and not as crowded as cenang beach. Many eateries within walking distance. We brought our kids along to attend Lima and managed to find time to enjoy the quiet tengah beach. We were in rooms 5 & 6 and we had good wifi connections.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelana Jaya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'd enjoyed staying at this place for 3 nights. It's clean, quiet, peaceful, and affordable for such a lovely resort.The management was really helpful. The resort is very near to Pantai Cenang, restaurants, convenient shops and other shops. You can just walk. There's pathway to the beach, behind the resort and it's kinda private and clean. Overally, it's a highly recommended resort! And special thanks to Mr Shukri for a great assistance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's an unassuming place. You get more than waht you pay in terms of its simplicity

Pros.
1. Cheap
2. Clean
3. All the necessary stuffs function well: fan, aircond, fridge, toilet
4. Can hang your clothes outside

Cons.
1. Have to go through some bushes before you reach the beach
2. It doesn't have its own cafe, but food places are nearby
3. Towel is given for every two days; with Langkawi hot weather you'll take more showers and the towel gets damp faster than dry.

Observation/ Tips:
1. You can get cheap local breakfast like nasi lemak or noodles. All are prepacked with just
RM1.20 each and cakes or kuih with only RM1.00 for 3 pieces. Nice cheap lunch near
Padang Matsirat area.
2. Better prearrange for a car to make it easier for travelling to different interesting places.
3. Must buy stuffs for Malaysian; sea cucumber (gamat) ointment, ikan bilis, dried sotong
4. Must buy duty free stuffs: Everyone - chocolates/ those who like to cook - pots, cutleries,
plates/ smokers - cigarrettes, cigars (I don't promote)/ drinkers - alcohol, liquor (I don't
promote especially to Muslims)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited Langkawi in December in 2012 and stayed in Tropical Resort for a week. It was a very good experience.
- our room was clean, we had it cleaned every day without loosing out stuff ;)
- we slept very well, because the place was quite and peaceful, air-conditioner and a fan worked perfectly.
- we ate fruits everyday, because we had a refrigerator.
- the beach was just 3 minutes away.
- we made friends next to our door and explored area together ;)
- wi-fi in the lobby worked well.
- the manager was always very kind and helpful.

Tropical Resort is not an expensive, luxury 5 stars resort, but it is good, simple, comfortable, clean, with a good manager and a good value for money. Now, we are planning to visit Vietnam, we looked for an accommodation like this one there, but we couldn't find. I miss Tropical Resort ~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two nights.

Pro:
The hotel is in a quiet area and the charming landscaping around the rooms made it feel like a resort. I enjoyed the nice open reading area with wooden chairs and tables.

The hotel receptionist was very helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations.

The hotel wifi works well and has free computers in the lobby for guests.

Each room has an entrance area with racks to dry swimwear and leave sandy flip flops.

Con:
I thought the rooms would be right on the beach, but they are actually set back from the beach with a small path leading up to the beach a few minutes walk away.

Note: This hotel is not in the busy Pentai Cenang beach area, but in the quieter Pentai Tengah area which is a 15-20 minute walk from Pentai Cenang.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here as a result of Tripadvisor reviews. Quiet location, beach 2 mins walk away. Room spacious with functional amenities. TV only has 3 channels so just ignore. No safety deposit box but valuables can be locked away at reception. Beach is beautiful, no sun loungers etc but mats can be taken from reception. Good to watch activites at sundown - be careful you don't get caught by the lines from the para-sailingTurn right down the beach towards Oasis cafe, through cafe, and you are on the main strip. Staff friendly and helpful. Would certainly come back and stay. Wi-fi now works away from reception. Only suggestion is for tea/coffee making facilities - possibly at reading area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.