We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pantai Tengah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value, comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and found rooms comfortable and clean. The beach is less than 5mins walk away and not as crowded as cenang beach. Many eateries within walking distance. We brought our kids along to attend Lima and managed to find time to enjoy the quiet tengah beach. We were in rooms 5 & 6 and we had good wifi connections.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    85
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
109
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelana Jaya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'd enjoyed staying at this place for 3 nights. It's clean, quiet, peaceful, and affordable for such a lovely resort.The management was really helpful. The resort is very near to Pantai Cenang, restaurants, convenient shops and other shops. You can just walk. There's pathway to the beach, behind the resort and it's kinda private and clean. Overally, it's a highly recommended resort! And special thanks to Mr Shukri for a great assistance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's an unassuming place. You get more than waht you pay in terms of its simplicity

Pros.
1. Cheap
2. Clean
3. All the necessary stuffs function well: fan, aircond, fridge, toilet
4. Can hang your clothes outside

Cons.
1. Have to go through some bushes before you reach the beach
2. It doesn't have its own cafe, but food places are nearby
3. Towel is given for every two days; with Langkawi hot weather you'll take more showers and the towel gets damp faster than dry.

Observation/ Tips:
1. You can get cheap local breakfast like nasi lemak or noodles. All are prepacked with just
RM1.20 each and cakes or kuih with only RM1.00 for 3 pieces. Nice cheap lunch near
Padang Matsirat area.
2. Better prearrange for a car to make it easier for travelling to different interesting places.
3. Must buy stuffs for Malaysian; sea cucumber (gamat) ointment, ikan bilis, dried sotong
4. Must buy duty free stuffs: Everyone - chocolates/ those who like to cook - pots, cutleries,
plates/ smokers - cigarrettes, cigars (I don't promote)/ drinkers - alcohol, liquor (I don't
promote especially to Muslims)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited Langkawi in December in 2012 and stayed in Tropical Resort for a week. It was a very good experience.
- our room was clean, we had it cleaned every day without loosing out stuff ;)
- we slept very well, because the place was quite and peaceful, air-conditioner and a fan worked perfectly.
- we ate fruits everyday, because we had a refrigerator.
- the beach was just 3 minutes away.
- we made friends next to our door and explored area together ;)
- wi-fi in the lobby worked well.
- the manager was always very kind and helpful.

Tropical Resort is not an expensive, luxury 5 stars resort, but it is good, simple, comfortable, clean, with a good manager and a good value for money. Now, we are planning to visit Vietnam, we looked for an accommodation like this one there, but we couldn't find. I miss Tropical Resort ~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two nights.

Pro:
The hotel is in a quiet area and the charming landscaping around the rooms made it feel like a resort. I enjoyed the nice open reading area with wooden chairs and tables.

The hotel receptionist was very helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations.

The hotel wifi works well and has free computers in the lobby for guests.

Each room has an entrance area with racks to dry swimwear and leave sandy flip flops.

Con:
I thought the rooms would be right on the beach, but they are actually set back from the beach with a small path leading up to the beach a few minutes walk away.

Note: This hotel is not in the busy Pentai Cenang beach area, but in the quieter Pentai Tengah area which is a 15-20 minute walk from Pentai Cenang.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here as a result of Tripadvisor reviews. Quiet location, beach 2 mins walk away. Room spacious with functional amenities. TV only has 3 channels so just ignore. No safety deposit box but valuables can be locked away at reception. Beach is beautiful, no sun loungers etc but mats can be taken from reception. Good to watch activites at sundown - be careful you don't get caught by the lines from the para-sailingTurn right down the beach towards Oasis cafe, through cafe, and you are on the main strip. Staff friendly and helpful. Would certainly come back and stay. Wi-fi now works away from reception. Only suggestion is for tea/coffee making facilities - possibly at reading area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Tropical Resort opting for the room with 2 single beds. The room itself was clean and well-equiped, especially for the price. The room size was comfortable for 2 people. I especially liked the grounds because they was covered with plants, trees, and little paths. Each room had chairs outside so you could enjoy the peacefulness of the place.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was an excellent common room with books in different languages. There was a computer that guests could use for free. Wifi was also available. We did not use any of the services, but I saw lots of equipment for the guests (beach mats, hair dryer, sports equipment, etc.). There were even nice outdoor showers to rinse off the sand.

Some of the rooms face Tengah Beach with a nice view. Our room faced the inside of the resort, but the flora still made it beautiful. All guests had easy access to this beach because a short path lead you from the resort to the beach. Tengah Beach is gorgeous and far more quiet than Cenang Beach. However, Tropical Resort is within walking distance to all of the action of Cenang. We could walk on the street to Cenang in less than 10 minutes. However, there were some local and tourist options for eating and shopping right outside of the resort too. That was handy when we had to eat an early breakfast.

Overall Tropical Resort was peaceful, clean, quaint, and friendly. I would love to stay there again and can't wait to recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.