We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but good access to main strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Paphos, Cyprus
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Quiet but good access to main strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here as a result of Tripadvisor reviews. Quiet location, beach 2 mins walk away. Room spacious with functional amenities. TV only has 3 channels so just ignore. No safety deposit box but valuables can be locked away at reception. Beach is beautiful, no sun loungers etc but mats can be taken from reception. Good to watch activites at sundown - be careful you don't get caught by the lines from the para-sailingTurn right down the beach towards Oasis cafe, through cafe, and you are on the main strip. Staff friendly and helpful. Would certainly come back and stay. Wi-fi now works away from reception. Only suggestion is for tea/coffee making facilities - possibly at reading area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    95
    28
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
122
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Tropical Resort opting for the room with 2 single beds. The room itself was clean and well-equiped, especially for the price. The room size was comfortable for 2 people. I especially liked the grounds because they was covered with plants, trees, and little paths. Each room had chairs outside so you could enjoy the peacefulness of the place.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was an excellent common room with books in different languages. There was a computer that guests could use for free. Wifi was also available. We did not use any of the services, but I saw lots of equipment for the guests (beach mats, hair dryer, sports equipment, etc.). There were even nice outdoor showers to rinse off the sand.

Some of the rooms face Tengah Beach with a nice view. Our room faced the inside of the resort, but the flora still made it beautiful. All guests had easy access to this beach because a short path lead you from the resort to the beach. Tengah Beach is gorgeous and far more quiet than Cenang Beach. However, Tropical Resort is within walking distance to all of the action of Cenang. We could walk on the street to Cenang in less than 10 minutes. However, there were some local and tourist options for eating and shopping right outside of the resort too. That was handy when we had to eat an early breakfast.

Overall Tropical Resort was peaceful, clean, quaint, and friendly. I would love to stay there again and can't wait to recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice, beautiful and felt very safe. Rooms are spacious and clean.
Only two minutes to the non-crowded Pantai Tengah beach, which for us was a lot better than the busy Pantai Cenang beach.
Far enough from main street hazzle for a private feeling, but close enough to get all you need. A store and restaurants on the other side of the road if you don't feel like walking or taking the taxi to the main street.
The man at reception was very helpful and we were really happy to get good restaurant recommendations since we wanted local food instead of tourist places.

Room Tip: Our room D20, was so close to the sitting/wifi area, that wifi actually worked in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The resort is in the less crowded area of the main beach of Langkwai; Pantai Tengah (locals go there as well). The bungalows are spacious and clean and situated in a peaceful garden. A double room with aircon and fridge was only 120. Within a few minutes you can reach the beach.
The staff is very friendly. Tip: Book directly through their own website, much cheaper than through hotel websites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

You're welcomed by a very charming receptionist man who speaks good English and can arrange anything for you (he made also phone calls for me when I was asking for attractions on the island). Rooms were clean and spacious, with both fan and AC, although we had some problems with hot water in the shower. Electric mosquito repellent device was provided free of charge with replacement "tablets".

The resort is located near the Pantai Tengah beach, which is much quieter than the nearby Pantai Cenang, and it's also lighter on shops and restaurants. So you'll have tonwalk a bit (1-2 km) to get to most shops. There are somemsmall minimarts and few restaurants closer, though.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Before coming to Langkawi we had a few bad experiences with accommodation in Malaysia, so I didn't expect much from this hotel. But when we arrived, the place was great.

The room was spacious, the bathroom was clean, and the room service was really meticulous. We were very satisfied with the everyday clean up. And the beach was just 3 minutes away from the house.

We asked a few other hotels in the area for the prices, and at the time the Tropical Resort was indeed the cheapest option. I am absolutely glad we stayed there and I will recommend it to my friends who visit Langkawi.

The only thing we lacked was laundry, but that's a pretty common thing in budget accommodation. And there are not so many cheap cafes around Pantai Tengah, so you better go explore other areas nearby for dinner.

Keep it up, guys! I hope the service remains as good as it is in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room which was facing the ocean (although we couldn't see the ocean cause of trees). It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the positive review.

We believe in the power of the "understatement."

We aren't the best... and, we know it. But, compared to what Langkawi has to offer, especially in this price range and a tad higher, we are, without a doubt, right up there.

At any rate, service-wise, we will always try to aim at the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Only few minutes walk to the less crowded beach.
The receptionist was nice and attentive. Room is big and clean, bathroom a bit small than expected but hot shower is working although not so powerful shower.
Free wifi on the lobby.
Location is great, nearby resto, cafe, spa and you can rent car/motorbike at nearest shop to look around the island.

Room Tip: Makesureyou get the rooms that near lobby so you'll be able to access the wifi from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the review.

For the moment, we are only offering Free Wi-Fi in and around the reception area. Although, you can actually access the Wi-Fi in some of the rooms and on the verandah of all garden-facing rooms. It's an ongoing process.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.