We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, quite and clean place with great location. (2 min to the beach and 10 min to local "kaoshan rd") We have spend 4 nights there and it was the best pleasent stay during our 11 days travel accros Malay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments of your precious time to write us review.

We greatly appreciate it.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    107
    30
    4
    6
See reviews for
45
138
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Tropical Resort for 2 nights and it was one of the best experiences I have had in this price range. The rooms, bathroom and surroundings were spotless. It is a 2 minute walk to the beach that is not over crowded with a great view of the sunset. Due to some change in plans we tried to extend a night but unfortunately there were no rooms available and had to stay at another place for almost twice the price but nothing close to Tropical Resort.

Thanks to Shukri and staff for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write us a review and a candid insight into the "theory of relativity."

Sorry we couldn't accommodate your request for an extension due to unavailability of rooms. It is one of those days when everybody, independently but yet collectively, decided to take a holiday.

Hope you found the jacket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great for the price, which always makes me smile when you read some of the less favourable reviews on here! Some people expect WAY to much for 100 MYR ........

It's clean, pleasant and the team on reception can't do enough for you, we really really had a great time here, and the recommendations on great local places to eat were all brilliant ... Even for the budget conscious :)

Room Tip: It is really worth upgrading to a 120 MYR room, all recently refurbished, we were lucky enough to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback, in spite of your busy travel schedule.

Enjoy the rest of your holidays.

Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herentals, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Normally I do not bother too often with writing an online review, but I feel that the Tropical Resort really deserves a few minutes of my time...
When we arrived, there were rooms available for our first and third night on the island, but not the second unfortunately.. Not only did the manager help us by calling all hotels he thought were recommendable, but he also asked us if we wanted to stay in the other hotel for the full 3 nights, as it would be more comfortable for us. This kind of service at the cost of your own business is very rare!

We stayed at the hotel for our first and third night anyway and this place is by far the best value for money on Tengah and Cenang beach (as we found out visiting ever other hotel for our second night). The prices are very fair for staying on Lankawi and the rooms are in a very good shape and include aircon, fridge, tv (3 channels only) and a newly tiled bathroom with hot shower. The whole room was spotless by the way. It is a mere minute walk to the beach and many small restaurants are closeby. It is not on the bustling Cenang beach, which some could mark as a downside, but for us a bit more quiet was a nice extra and you can walk into the busy area within 5 minutes.

The service was great during our entire stay and the hotel probably has the nicest manager/owner you will ever find.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the beach are a bit more quiet and private, but if you are close to the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it.

We will strive to be even better.

Once again, our heartfelt gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for almost 2 weeks and have only good things to say about the hotel. We first stayed in a standard room with no refrigerator but switched to a delux after two nights, it has its advantages to have a fridge. Both rooms were clean and they cleaned the room every day. The hotel is located near the beach which is nice. The owner is super nice and helps with whatever you might need help with. For example he helpt us with the ferry ticket. It is close to restaurants and there is a supermarket just a short distance away. When we were there, there was only wifi in the reception but they where in the progress to make the wifi work in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback. It is very much appreciated.

We wish you a Happy "sunny" Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senggigi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We used the resort after a mo,th of travelling in budget places. And we would do it again straight away. Very clean rooms, bathroom as well but it could do with a little upgrade. The walk to the beach is only 2 minutes and the beach was empty. What we missed was some shadow sinc e it was very hot in the sun, but we knew there are no beach facilities.
Very friendly welcoming and when asked for some extra towels we got them right away. Also we could keep the room until 4pm to use the shower before we left without extra cost.
Checking other resorts as well, we think this was perfect value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it.

Unfortunately, the twin-sharing rooms, in which you stayed, will only see upgrades next year. However, on a brighter side, all the double-deluxe rooms have been upgraded.

We always try our best, whenever possible, to make your stay with us a pleasant one, and, at the least cost to you.

Once again, thank you for your valuable time to give us a feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed there in November and extended our stay from 4nights to 8! That's how good it was. The hotel is located in Pantai tengah, which is just couple of minutes walking from the busy Pantai Cenang. The beach is so much better than cenang, not many jet skis and vendors and you are practically alone in this tropical paradise. It is very nice to swim, there are a couple of palm trees for the shade and all just two minutes walk from the room. Between the rooms and the beach is a small forestlike area, whic makes you feel you are in the middle of the nature, with all the birds and squirrels. The room was completely new, very nice design, with a tv, fridge,water heater and a nice terrace, wifi is provided in the common area and also a computer. There is a wide selection if english books and national geographic magazines.
Besides all this the price is very affordable, especially for Langkawi and this area. It is sorrounded by many if the best langkawi resorts and restaurants, there are couple of cafes, shops and many breakfast options (which is not provided). And as said, the busy cenang is just couple of minutes away.
Another wonderful thing are the staff. Incredibly friendly, very pleasant to talk, very knowledgable. We even forgot something at the resort and they sent it to us to Borneo in one day wihtout charge just being very friendly again. That really does not happen every day!!! Would recommend it to anyone!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And, thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Hugs and kisses to the cutie-pie, 1-tooth-boss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.