We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just wanna let people know that this is a great option for a place to stay slightly outside the main area. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. He dealt with any request in a friendly and efficient way.The rooms were basic and clean, hot showers with a clean bed. What more do you need? There are some good places to eat on the same road without going towards the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We will strive to be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    95
    28
    3
    6
See reviews for
39
123
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The bungalows do have everything you need and are very clean. Although there is no breakfast included and no swimming pool or restaurant. You can sit in front of your bungalow and relax a bit. Furthermore the service is great. The guy who is running the place is doing a great job. The nicest and friendliest person we met.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We must constantly endeavor if we are to succeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My review is late coming even though I promised Shukri (the gentlemen on reception) I would post a review as soon as i got back to the UK that was back in April 2012 !.

If you are looking for 'resort life' - piano bar, gym, spa and conicerge then this is not the place for you. However if you are like me who wants to explore the island for all its beauty, discover different experiences then this place is perfect.

The Tropical Island Resort is exactly what it says on the tin ! its quiet; away from the noisy night clubs and bars but 5 mins drive away from the market, restaurants, shops and spa treatment parlours.

The rooms are large and spotless, cleaned everyday and AC is standard in all the rooms. Im very picky about cleanliness but had no complaints about the room and bathrooms.

The beach is a 50 mtr walk the thru a short shrubbed area, but its perfect for the kids to play on. Its a lovely stretch of sand and goes on for miles - no complaints about the beach. In fact its a better stretch than the beach at the 5 star Marriot resort.

There is a library in reception and wifi is free.

All in all its the ideal spot for a young family like ours, we had 2 chalets next to each other and the kids loved it. We spent a week and did different things each day from horse riding, to para sailing, cable car and eating out trying different cuisines.

A special mention goes out to Shukri a gentlemen and a scholar ! always at hand to provide tips and advice on places to eat and discover - Thanks Shukri and apologies for the late post !!. Arshad, Preston, England

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your glowing feedback. Better late than never.

We must constantly endeavor if we are to succeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Langkawi and we choosed the tropical Resort.
It was very simple (a small chalet) but clean and well situated. The receptionist was really nice, we spoke a moment with him. I recommand this place especially for the attractive prices.
Just a word about Langjawi Island : we didn't love it, beach was dirty and water not very clear. We advice you Perhentian Island or Tioman Island in the east cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We will strive to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This resort is quite nice, especially in terms of the location to quality eateries and the main Pentai Cenang strip (it's close enough to get the benefit but far enough away to avoid much of the crowds).

The proprietor, who I am assuming this person was, was very nice, friendly, and chatty. I'm also certain that if there were any difficulties these would have been solved easily. There was wireless and internet access but you can only do so from the reception desk, which I find to be better than having it in my actual room.

The rooms were quiet, clean, and tidied regularly. I would have liked more pillows but that's just me. I didn't ask for an extra pillow and maybe if I did they probably would have given me one.

The resort is quite rustic with some renovations. There is a cleared pathway through to the beach which is long but lacking cover. The vegetation around the rooms was packed with all kinds of wildlife so this was nice to sit around in the evening watching the birds etc.

All of this was very nice, however, the air conditioner wasn't very good and we had to leave it on all night with the fan to get the room to a reasonable temperature.

I also thought that the room was too expensive for what you got, and that's probably the main reason why I'm not giving it an extra star.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you...

As for the pillows... yes, if you had asked, we'd have given you 2.

New air-conditioner units will be installed soon.

Although, the week that you were here, the weather was unusually too warm.

Thanks again for your candid comments... the kind we value most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sorell, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Owner and staff were delightful and very helpful, room was kept spotless. Pleasant quiet garden setting. Fans and aircon. Well located close to lots of good cheap restaurants. It is currently being renovated so should be even better in future. (But suggest softer pillows please) Unfortunately Pantai Tengah Beach was like a garbage tip, especially at high tide. If your hotel doesn't have a pool then sadly it is not a pleasure to swim in the sea here. I suspect this is true of many Langkawi beaches as we saw masses of litter in the sea on a trip to other islands.

Room Tip: Rooms facing seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about and, as always, we will try to further our efforts.

We are presently in the process of renovating and upgrading a portion of the resort. Come November 2012, we will be able to offer additional rooms and more comfort to our guests.

And, thank you for the books... our modest library keeps growing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

First of all, I would like to clarify that we did not stay here. We had booked a room for 4 nights, but checked out after 2 hours. When we checked in, the girl at reception gave us a key and walked us to our room, but was not able to answer any of our simple questions, such as, does this place have wifi, where can we have breakfast (breakfast is not included), and how does the airconditioning work.

In addition to bad service, the place looks very run down. The website says that they offer budget accommodation without hassle and hustle, but this is not an excuse for failing to properly maintain the rooms and surroundings. Yes, the rooms are clean, but they look dirty from the outside and are surrounded by rubbish. The walk to the beach is just through a clearing in the woods, without a real path and it just doesn't look nice at all. The plastic table and chairs in front of our room were extremely dirty and old, very uninviting to sit on. The whole place felt rundown and was eerily quiet, we would not recommend staying here!

There are many nicer places in Langkawi. After checking out of the Tropical Resort, we moved to Sunset Beach Resort a little further up the road. This place was so much nicer, had decent customer service, and was only a little more expensive than Tropical Resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Firstly, thank you for your time and effort to give us a feedback . We value your experience with our establishment.

And, it is indeed tragic, for us, especially, that your experience with us lasted only 2 hours.

Actually, on the 4th. June, we did ask the girl at the reception (who, incidentally, has only been with us on 1st. June 2012) why you decided not to stay with us. And, her reply was that you said that the beach was a little too far to your liking.

A valid reason, we thought, hence decided not to pursue the matter any further.

However, your complaint has shed a new light on the entire unfortunate incident. Although, according to the girl at the reception, she did answer all the questions that you had asked. But, as a precautionary measure, the girl at the reception will no longer be the girl at the reception after 15.06.12 and will be replaced by another girl.

As for your complaint that, "they look dirty from the outside and are surrounded by rubbish," is simply a logistic issue. The fact of the matter is that between 12:00 noon - 2:00 p.m. (daily), the rooms are being cleaned by our 2 housekeepers. The "rubbish" would have "disappeared" after the housekeepers have completed their daily work; Of that, there is no doubt.

As for the plastic table and chairs, which shouldn't have been there in the first place, have been removed.

As for the quietness, if you were to check our website again, you'd notice that it is one of three that we offer; namely: clean, quiet and value for money.

Although, to be honest, if we could be, as you put it, "eerily quiet" at 2:00pm on a sunny afternoon, then we have more than exceeded our goal.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.