We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need to stay in Romano di Lombardia, I guess you stay here.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mariet

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mariet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mariet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Medaglia d'oro | Antonio Locatelli 21, 24058 Romano di Lombardia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“If you need to stay in Romano di Lombardia, I guess you stay here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We wanted a place close to Bergamo and booked this based on the Tripadvisor reviews. First thing, Romano di Lombardia is a very sleepy and out of the way place and so I would question the decision to chose this as a place to locate oneself.
The hotel was very clean and the guy who we dealt with extremely friendly, despite a total lack of English. This is a very modern hotel in a back water. It was 28 degrees when we arrived but no aircon as the previous few days 'had been too cold'.
We actually stayed one night as opposed to the two we had booked but there was no issue about not needing to pay for the cancelled night. I would go back for the friendly guy at the hotel but sadly that would be the only reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In this hotel you probably won't find a lot of tourists as there is next to nothing to do in this little village. The area is filled with industrial business. I've been coming to this lovely family hotel for some time now.
It's a relatively new hotel run by the family with nice spotless and large rooms. Air-conditioning, TV, hairdrier and enough room for your clothing. A bathroom with shower and appliances. Real value for money.
WiFi can be obtained for certain minutes/hours. You can also go for 12 hours which is not too expensive.

One point that could be improved is one that I have seen in another review as well; there is no documentation in the room so you're a bit in the dark when it comes to breakfast, lunch and dinner times. No "do not disturb" hanger nothing.....

The staff is friendly, really helpful and you feel right at home. Although there are more places to eat in the area I always stay in the hotel because they serve great, honest and simple food. Just delicious. There is a set menu that you can select or go for the a la carte menu.
Add a great local wine to it and finish it off with a coffee.

When you happen to do business in the area a visit to this place would not be a bad thing. Parking is possible in the streets but you have to pay during certain hours. There is also parking space underneath the hotel but this is tricky because it's very narrow. I've done it once and it gives you sweaty palms to get your car out again. I'll park in the street next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would reflect the previous comments made by others - and have a few suggestions etc that this hotel should take onboard.

Positives
- Rooms are spotless and modern. I can't complain about this at all!
- The hotel itself is immaculately maintained - one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at
- Breakfast is not a selection (consists of a croissant and toast served to your table) but is tasty and filling
- Location for Romano is perfect - it's central
- Andrea is very friendly and approachable
- Whilst we didn't have dinner there, the restaurant was full of locals - which is a good sign

Things to Improve:
- There is no information/fact sheets etc in the hotel room upon arrival. Hence - impossible to know timings for breakfast/dinner, check out, local amenities etc
- The hotel doesn't provide any irons
- Walls are very thin - so a loud conversation in adjoining rooms can be heard clearly next door

My biggest criticism of this place was that as a non-italian speaker, I found it impossible to find out any information or communicate my needs to the hotel staff. Whilst I don't expect to have everyone speak English (and I try my best to speak Italian!) - I would have thought that basic information is provided in major European languages for tourists.

I found this very intimidating as I was made to feel that every little request was a big deal, this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel and felt that my custom wasn't welcome.

Being asked repeatedly what time I plan to check-out doesn't exactly make your customers feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, the rooms are very new, confortable and clean. The service is also very friendly and kind. Breakfast wasn't huge but good quality. It is obvious this is a family business and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mariet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariet

Address: Piazza Medaglia d'oro | Antonio Locatelli 21, 24058 Romano di Lombardia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Romano di Lombardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Romano di Lombardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariet 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariet Hotel & Restaurant is an inspired mix of history and design, modern furnishing and contemporary energy, strategically located in the historical centre of Romano di Lombardia.The hotel has 35 rooms, standard, suite and junior suite.Each room is equipped with: telephone lcd tv wi-fi connection strongbox heating and air-conditioned system wide mattress ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mariet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mariet Romano Di Lombardia, Italy - Province Of Bergamo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mariet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.