We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Capriolo

Al Capriolo
Via Nazionale 108, Vodo di Cadore, 32040 Vodo di Cadore (BL) Vodo Cadore, Italy
435489207
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Service... Food... Enviroment... Brilliant! Amazing experience, flavours were delicate and delicious and I would reccommend to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    32
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aviano
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful presentation, fairly expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stopped in for sunday lunch without a reservation. We were promptely served. The waitstaff was lovely and helpful. Waitstaff dressed in traditional alpine costumes, a bit on the fancy side with lacy sleeves. One of the waitstaff amused me with her traditional outfit with "modern" touches - facial piercings, and partially shaved head. The bread in the basket was homemade. For a free starter, we had nutty cucumber salad with a savory vinegrette. I used some bread to sop up the delightful dressing left on the plate. I had "rooster" with horseradish sauce, salad and potato cake - it was delish and I cleaned the plate. The potato cake was green - I am not sure what they put in it but i liked it. My husband had beef tagliata (strips of beef), potato, and salad - he liked his meal but perhaps not as much as I did. There was a lovely kids meal with maccaroni with meat sauce, a cutlet, and french fries, and ice cream desert. All the food was high quality ingredients, well prepared and lovely presentation. My husband had apple strudel for 10 euro - he thought it was a bit pricey but he admitted it was the best strudel he had eaten. The apple strudel came with a tiny scoop of ice cream (pear/pepper) and a small panna cotta and a strawberry garnish. My son's vanilla ice cream was high quality with vanilla bean specks. With my meal, I had a fruity glass of white wine from a mount Etna vineyard. For my desert, I had a strong cup of espresso - smooth, not bitter. I am really glad we stopped, but due to cost, probably best for a special meal. The restaurant was nicely decorated, albeit a bit on the fussy or frou-frou side. Plenty of antiquey looking things, lacy curtains. The music cracked me up, it was elevator music which provides some entertainment as it is a challenge to me to identify the song. Ok, the music really has to go, but I can appreciate that this is a restaurant catering to mainly wealthy older people who want soft background music.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty, exquisite food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Family run. Very expensive. Tasty, exquisite food. Nice to try national specialties. The interior is decorated with deer/goats horns, wild animals' heads. Quite a long way from Cortina (reachable by taxi or by car)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
1 review
“Beautiful, fine and totally worth the price you pay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Since the first time I've been there, it's always been a sign of an incoming vacation. A beautiful place with warm personal and very good food.
It's an elegant restaurant and as such not a 'pay cheap, get alot'.

  • Visited February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Wild Game Restaurant Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We had a wonderful evening at Al Capriolo. The food and the service was exceptional. If you like wild game this is a perfect choice.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Capriolo also viewed

Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 
Vodo Cadore, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 

Been to Al Capriolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Capriolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.