We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lobster.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fjorubordid

Fjorubordid
Eyrarbraut 3A, Stokkseyri 825, Iceland
+354 483 1550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stokkseyri
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful lobster.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Delightful meal in a lovely rural location by the sea. Have been a number of times and always delivers. Delicious cakes for dessert, fresh lobster and the lobster soup is the best soup I have ever tasted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    48
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Reykjavik, for the lobsters & the view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went to this place based on TA reviews & the reco found in an Iceland guidebook and absolutely were not disappointed! At Fjorubordid we were served the bounties of the ocean we spent a week so close to!

Location: a bit off the Rte 1, it's ~45 mins from Reykjavik and 15 mins from Selfoss

Service: attentive, but not annoyingly so. We were there in-between meals (~5pm) and there were a few other tables with enough servers to care properly for all.

Decor: beachy, well-kept, and in-theme. You can judge for yourself -- check out our pics

Food: We ordered the lobster meal for 2, which included yummy bread to start, 2 lobster soup, 300gr of lobster to share and 2 desserts. As all the reviews have mentioned, the lobsters are really the size of large shrimps, but ours were cooked properly (tender, not rubbery) with a deliciously flavoured herb-&-butter sauce (a variety of sauces, would be nice for next time). One of our desserts was a meringue cake (which I've never seen on another menu) -- it blew us away. My very sugar-conscious husband devoured it. The generous portions of the entire meal had us waddling out!

View: Right behind the restaurant, there's a rocky beach & pier-- the perfect spot to watch the sun set into the water. We saw a small patio for outdoor seating in warmer weather. Although realize there's a tall row of rocks (retaining wall?), so you can't see the water from those seats.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiers, Graubunden, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lobster everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We found the restaurant on trip advisor and had to try it. We were a bit disappointed,cause the main menues were lobster. They had also a vegetarian dish which was great.service to slowly

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal that nobody should missed while visiting Iceland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We decided to visit this Restaurant since it was highly recommended by our B&B host and it didn't fail us. Starting from the appetizer of simple bread and sweet garlic sauce, we've decided that this is one of our favorite restaurant already! We couldn't get enough of the garlic sauce and the waitress was very kind to refill our bread and sauce. (The sweet garlic sauce is amazing, if someone has a recipe for it, please please please send it to me, thanks!)

So after those lovely breads and the God-sent dip came the lobster soup, it was so yummy that I swear, I almost licked the bowl of the soup at the end.

As main course, we ordered the 400gr lobster tails which was made simply from garlic, butter and peterselie, it was damn good and definitely not to be missed. A highly recommended restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Amazing lobster soup and desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The lobster soup here is delicious, and well-worth the drive to try it. Lobster soup and lobster are the main menu items, although there is also lamb and salad. For dessert there are a variety of fresh baked cakes/pies every day. The night we visited my husband had a slice carrot cake and I had a meringue cake, which was one of the best desserts I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fjorubordid also viewed

 
Selfoss, South Region
Eyrarbakki, South Region
 

Been to Fjorubordid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fjorubordid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.