We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobsters ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fjorubordid

Fjorubordid
Eyrarbraut 3A, Stokkseyri 825, Iceland
+354 483 1550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stokkseyri
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Lobsters ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had the lobster soup, which was delicious. We then had the 400 gr of tail lobsters sauted in garlic and butter for two, those were the best lobsters ever, perfectly cooked, it was just amazing. The trimmings though were not at the same levels, would not recommend them. Would come back to Iceland only for the lobsters!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    48
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great lobster tails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been recommended by an Icelandic friend, did not disappoint. Soup was good, lobster tails excellent! Service was pretty nice compared to some other places we went. We got there early for dinner around 6pm. Got quite full by 7 so would recommend calling ahead for a booking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food and a cozy location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went for dinner and left totally satisfied. Fresh food and good seasoning. The three course menu is very generous, no worries about about small portions. The soup is great as well. (it comes with the three course menu as well).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A bit of a letdown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was top of my list of Icelandic restaurants because of the guidebook recommendations and the reviews here. So at the first opportunity, we drove from Reykjavik, booking for lunch along the way. It was just as well, because a large tour bus pulled up just before us, taking up one dining area. We were in the hall with the large whale on the wall. The four of us ordered 2 three course lobster meals and topped with with two more soups and more lobster. Service was cheerful and timely. The soup was good and tasty, but no epiphany. The mini-lobster tails, looked and smelled delicious and indeed they were - some of them. Too many were mushy - I guess from bad freezing. Some were nice and firm, (not ultra fresh and sweet like steamed live prawns, or chilli/pepper crab as I don't think they are kept alive until the point of cooking). Others were in between. This lobster roulette took away some of the enjoyment.

Dessert was very decent and the portions are huge. I decided not to take our friends who were flying in later that day for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Deliciuos lobster soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were recommended to visit Stokkseyri and have lobster Soul with extra lobster at the Fjorubordid. The food and the service was far above our expectation. Very friendly and service minded staff. The soup and the lobster/ creyfish were exellent and must be tried if you visit this little place. Definetly worth a drive from Reykjavik especially if you do like we did. Prior to visiting Stokkseyri we drove to Hveragerdi and hikied for about 1 hour and enjoyed the warm creek (about 37 degrees) in fantastic sorroundings. The tourist office in Hveragerdi is very service minded and will provide necessary guidance/ information prior to the hike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fjorubordid also viewed

 
Selfoss, South Region
Eyrarbakki, South Region
 

Been to Fjorubordid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fjorubordid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.