We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic experience..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mama's Resort & Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Mama's Resort & Camp to your Saves list
The Mama's Resort & Camp
Khuri 345001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Khuri B&B and Inns
atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Rustic experience..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The highlight was the camel ride to watch the glorious sunset in the Thar desert (Khuri). The mama's desert camp provided good entertainment and food in the night however if you reach the place in the afternoon you won't find any food and have to survive on chips and cookies. We reached there at 2:30 PM with kids after 4 hrs of drive through the desert and was surprised to hear that the cook will come only at 6 PM to cook.
We went for camel ride in our own vehical at 4:30 PM for the Camel ride. The camel ride was good and sunset was breath taking. We got back at 6:30 PM to evening snack of Fried peanuts and bhajiyas/pakoras ( was mediocore) and Tea( good). At 8:30 PM they started the evening program of local dancers and singers. The bonfire was good however was too far from the seating. The program was quite entertaining and singers amazing followed by a buffet dinner of Rajasthani food. The checkout was 10AM the following morning however he gave us an hour more as he forgot to inform us. As we drove past many desert camp, we decided to stop by at the NEW desert camp called the "Marwar Desert camp". The tents at this camp was well equiped and the place had more amenities like sitting area and gazebos. I would like to stay at the Marwar camp next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A very good hotel, with all the facilities, staffs were so co-operative. An amazing experience. Food (Breakfast and Lunch and Dinner), services, performances, atmosphere were amazing. Highly recommended this place. Very memorable trip with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Didn't get a chance to stay the lovely tentage located within the resort but my night stay there was excellent. A basic comfortable stay in the desert - just understand that water (let alone hot water) is really a luxury here in the desert conditions. The dancers gave a lovely performance before dinner.

Room Tip: stay at the tents if you can - I hear it gets booked up real fast & boasts the best experience s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had booked it after reviews on trip advisor. The hotel offers a total package. We found the cottage poorly maintained. It is difficult to get hot water. The trip to sand dunes was the high point and we saw deer and peacocks on the way. The sunset was spectacular! While the cultural programme - singing and dances were nice and the dinner was ok, breakfast was disappointing.
With hindsight, it would have been made more sense had we stayed at Jaisalmer and just visited sand dunes at Khuri.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My visit to Jaisalmer became remarkable and memorable because of my stay in The Mama's Resort & Camp. I stayed in Jaisalmer for 3 nights and out of that I only stayed in The Mama's Resort & Camp for one night. I wish I had stayed all 3 nights here. The resort is really amazing in every possible way .. service, food, location, hospitality, value. I stayed in the tent which was amazing and huge, decorated and furnished with beautiful vintage furniture. The bathroom inside the tent was also quite big. The bed was comfortable and the sleep quality was very good. The people working there always treat you as a special guest and take care of your every need. I was truly and deeply amazed and happy with their professionalism. The food was served during dinner was authentic Rajasthani cuisine and the choices were many. The taste of every dish was amazing. The evening cultural programme presented by the local villagers was remarkable, specially the folk music and dance performance (kalbelia). The atmosphere/ ambience of the evening program is very special. The stay in this resort also includes the camel ride in desert during sunset. As this place is located within the Desert National Park, the desert and sand dunes are much better then Sam Sand Dunes. First I was advised to go to Sam Sand Dunes, but later I decided to go to Mama's resort in Khuri. Thanks god I did that!!! Khuri where Mama's resort is located is much nicer and quieter place compare to Sam sand Dunes due to the fact that it is less crowded and when you go to desert you see much less tourist and more empty space which gives you the thrill of being in a desert and middle of nowhere. The wild life in the desert is plenty, on the 3 hours camel ride is saw many Indian Gazelle (Chinkara), desert fox and Great Indian Bustard. My stay in Mama's resort was worth every penny. I will surely go back to this place and stay there for few days. This place is ideal for family holidays or even for a quite weekend break from the hustle and bustle of the city. I will highly recommend this place for the stay while in Jaisalmer. As this place is only 40 km from Jaisalmer, one can stay here and do the sightseeing of Jaisalmer as same time. If you are in Jaisalmer for holidays, surly this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Book the tent ... they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellent food, good service, very nice people, it's very quite and good to relax. We liked to visit Khuri village, the camel ride and the traditional dance. There is no internet avaiable. I recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in Mamas for one night in Khuri. Service was excellent, dinner was very good. They made to our order. Rooms were good for Khuri standards. Breakfast was decent. Trip to dessert for sunset was very exciting on Camel back

The service standards was very good

Over all a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: I found the A/C rooms better than the tent, probably because of the heat during late October
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mama's Resort & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mama's Resort & Camp

Address: Khuri 345001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Khuri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Khuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mama's Resort and Camp is an exclusive camp experince at the golden sanddunes of Khuri.Every time you step onto the endless expanse of sun-kissed, gilded sands of Jaisalmer in Rajasthan, your sense are ensconced in the calming tranquility and stillness of the place. The camp promises a truly unparalleled experience of the desert in itselement. It is a toast to the erstwhile Maharajas and you are treated to one with a panache that leves you overwhelmed. Just as the royalty camped it Tents(khemas) away from the palaces, the resort spins a similar ambience with its modern Swiss cottage tents right in the midst of the desert. Just as the royalty traversed stretches of desert on camels, the evenings see you astride colorfully caparisoned camels led by ethnically dressed butlers as you begin your sojourn of miles of shimmering sand dunes ito the sunset. Lounging on the dunes, one can only gaze in breathless wonderment as the sun begins to go down and casts an ember halo over the desert horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Mama's Resort & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mama's Resort & Camp Khuri, Rajasthan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mama's Resort & Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.