We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish at the weekends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Inn

The Bridge Inn
Calver Bridge, Calver, Peak District National Park S32 3XA, England
01433 630415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Calver
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Great fish at the weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The bridge hasn't changed much in the last 40 years or so... It's very comfortable clean and welcoming, there is a fire in the winter and the Landlord allows well behaved dogs in the tap room.

Recently they have started to serve really good pub food, particularly the fresh fish at the weekends which on my last two visits has been excellent quality and value. I can recommend a visit after a good walk over Curbar Gap.



Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Standard pub fare, but well done and served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The menu here is standard pub fare, but it is good food, well cooked and served. Ate here as part of a large group and everyone was happy. Good value for money too.
The new landlord has made a big difference to what was a rather depressing pub, with a know-all landlord, surly staff and tacky decoration.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Bridge Inn Calver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

having arrived in Calver on the Saturday afternoon, we needed either to get food in or eat out. We decided to walk to the Bridge Inn at about 5.30 to be told that food was not served until 6pm. That was ok as we decided to have a drink instead but the Italian Chef said that we could look at the menu and he would get our order underway before then. The menu and specials board was comprehensive and so it was east to make a choice. My meal of Sea Bass was ok but my wife's Chicken Tikka Masala appeared to be made with pre-packed cold chicken pieces. However, the food was welcome and the service very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little pub again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not been in for a couple of years and found the previous owner rude and the food was bad. This time it was the complete opposite. Good little locals pub with great beer garden, nice food. Will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mixed experiences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have eaten here 3 times this year and the 1st two were really good. Home cooked steak and kidney pie, chips, veg was tasty and reasonably priced. The soup on the 2nd occasion tasted home made and was filling and satisfying.My 3rd visit to this friendly pub restaurant was over the August Bank holiday and was not up to their usual high standard. My chicken "madras" curry was more like a tikka masala in taste so was a little disappointing, but flavoursome all the same. However, the pie, new potatoes and seasonal veg meal which my mother ordered was a real let-down - the meat smelled and tasted "off", the vegetables were barely cooked (she could hardly cut the cauliflower and broccoli and the green beans not at all) and the pie pastry was underdone. She hardly ate any of it and complained to a member of staff, but I still got charged for the meal. I fear they may have lost a customer.
Also, we were most surprised that dogs were allowed in the area where food was being eaten and found it a little off putting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Inn also viewed

Calver, Hope Valley
 
Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley
Calver, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.