We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derwentwater Arms

Derwentwater Arms
Lowside | Hope Valley, Calver, Peak District National Park S32 3XQ, England
01433 639211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Calver
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Derwentwater Arms is a warm & friendly Pub / Restaurant set high in the village of Calver it has great views of the surounding peaks and edges.It is set back from the main road in the 'old' village, a real hidden gem.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The food on a Sunday lunchtime is excellent - a choice between roast pork or beef and all the usual potatoes and vegetables, although the difference was the quality of the ingredients and how they have been cooked! There was a good choice of ales too.
They also have a choice between small or large portions which is ideal when eating as a family.
I had the homemade bakewell tart for desert and it was great - the custard was lovely too.
If you didn't want a roast dinner the rest of the varied menu was very appealing - from soup and sandwiches to steak and ale pie or fish and chips.
The service was very good, prompt and attentive and just generally friendly and welcoming, which is spot on for a country pub on a Sunday!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip out there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A cracking Pub and Restaurant, well worth a visit especially on a summers evening where you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the view. we have visited over half a dozen times in the last year and have never had a bad meal or a bad pint. All the produce is local and excellent quality. I shall definately be going again this year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lovely evening...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I have dined here many times. The food is always good, however on our last visit on Saturday 4th January, it was simply fantastic and hence this review. My husband had the garlic mushrooms to start, I had the pork patties from the special menu.. For mains, beef n' ale pie and I had the fish pie from the specials which was outstanding.
The previous owners Mandy and Malcolm are now running the Angel at Holmsfield which is also good, but I have to say we much prefer the food and ambience at the Derwentwater Arms. Thank you to all the staff, particularly the Chef for pulling out all the stops.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the cottage next door over the weekend of 22nd - 24th November and booked a meal on the Saturday.
Service was excellent, food was amazing. Best steaks myself and my Father in law have had in a long time. It's nice to get a steak exactly as you have ordered it. All meals ordered on the night were spot on! Many Thanks.
Children were well catered for and we had a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“PERFECT PUB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I love this pub, had a few meals here now after staying at a B&B down the road. The food is gorgeous - great choices and really well cooked, the atmosphere is just right and the staff are really friendly.
This is the perfect pub to go to. If only it were my local!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derwentwater Arms also viewed

Calver, Hope Valley
Calver, Hope Valley
 
Calver, Hope Valley
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Derwentwater Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwentwater Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.