We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley View Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valley View Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Valley View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
67 Smithy Knoll Road, Calver, Peak District National Park S32 3XW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Calver B&B and Inns
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from Valley View. This is really a little gem. Lovely views, very comfy bed, huge bathroom with bath and shower and quality toiletries. Sue is a lovely hostess and is friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The whole place is very clean and we had fresh flowers in our room.

There is one old negative review which is totally unwarranted, inaccurate and probably false. Very unfair, ignore.

Excellent pub - the Derwentwater within a 2 minute walk serving good food, pays to book. Walks from the doorstep and lots to do in the area. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Really good value. Well done Sue, keep up the good work !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We returned home yesterday from a short but most enjoyable break in Derbyshire and felt so lucky to have discovered Valley View. Whilst it would be be pointless to repeat all the very positive observations that others have made, we can endorse every single one of them; it is an excellent place to stay in every way. Both of us and of course our Norfolk Terrier Brucie can't wait to return.
Thank you Sue.
Bob Ellie & Brucie.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

A surprising but delightful venue – looks like a family home from the outside, but impressive once you step inside. On the edge of the village, and near a main road, (but you really wouldn’t know it from the property), in a very convenient location for most facilities, walking, pubs, shops nearby and local attractions such as Chatsworth. The Derwent Arms in the village serves good food and you’d be advised to book in advance as it’s very popular.
Bedrooms are spacious with generous size en-suites; beautifully decorated, kept to high standard, and with lovely views. There is also a separate cottage available in the garden.
A huge choice on the breakfast menu, and all beautifully cooked and presented and served in good time. (Sue’s husband cooks a sensational cheese omelette, the best we’ve ever tasted!).
This was my second visit and my husband’s first, and on both visits we received a very warm and friendly welcome from Sue. Many thanks Sue – looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was our 5th stay at Valley View in as many years and it just gets better! We usually stay in the "Cottage" it is always superbly presented and offers that little more privacy and flexibility as a base. Very comfortable large bed with small free sat tv, and en-suite with bath and shower. A nice sized sitting room and free sat tv. There is also a sink and facilities to make your own breakfast if you required,no pots or cutlery,although if you asked Sue im sure she would be more than happy to oblige. Sue cooks an awesome breakfast in the main house,which is only a few metres away,so we always go with that!!(recommended!) We noticed this time that the breakfast menu has expanded somewhat,so it is even more varied.... There are fabulous walks from the door in any direction. The 3 very local walkable pubs vary in food quality and pricing but all are very good and individual in there approach to the types of food served. We have used them all and have never been dissapointed,it just depends on what you want at the time.We usually just park the car up a few days and walk everywhere,it is very convenient as most things you need are within easy walking distance. Even when walking the Curbar edges 2 more pubs can be found half way round on a circular walk, to quench your thirst! and no worries about having to drive!We have eaten at these 2 as well and have always been satisfied.. We have used many B&B,s in the area and Valley View stands out as meeting and exceeding our expectations both as a fine B&B but also in a great location......Thank you Sue..See you again soon,Den and Carol..!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The house rooms are equally nice and presented..The cottage is a little more expensive but we like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel looks like a normal family home from the outside, but when you get in it's a proper hotel. The hotel is very professional in appearance, and Sue will bend over backwards to make your stay fit your tastes, for instance I like my coffee quite 'evil' and she made me an extra strong cup especially. Get upstairs and you discover what for us were quite posh looking rooms, Derwent was a treat. Think of a traditional family B and B on a road in a village, complete with a holiday house 'mum,' then imagine a Hotel, and the mixture you come up with will be Valley View. Can't really complain at all. Food at the Derwentwater Arms just over the road was lovely.

Room Tip: derwent room- shower, large room. Chatsworth room, smaller room, but a bath. Take your pick! Bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Sue runs a lovely B&B. Great choice of breakfasts, clean, smart rooms. It's very central for the Peak District, in fact we didn't even use are car for two days.
The little 'Cottage' was perfect for the two of us and our two dogs.
I would highly recommend her establishment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We needed a base in the peaks for a weekend. And the Valley View provided an ideal location for us.

We found the owner was helpful and friendly, even though we arrived late. The room was nice and comfortable with good views out over the roofs to the hills beyond. The en suite bathroom was stunning too.

The breakfast was a high point, they served a wide range of hot or cold food, the, 'full english' being way more than I needed and kept me going all day.

All in all. A nice B&B in a good location.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Derwent' and found it very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 67 Smithy Knoll Road, Calver, Peak District National Park S32 3XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Calver
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Calver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Peak District in the Derbyshire Dales.Ideal for visiting Chatsworth House(8mins), Bakewell (10mins),Haddon Hall (10mins),Eyam (5mins) or walking (books and maps available).3 local pubs,serving evening meals,craft centre, cafes, spar shop,garden and alpine centre.3 en-suite rooms with king,super king or twin beds, flat screen TV, complementary teas and coffees,free wi-fi throughout and off road parking.Newly decorated for 2013.Detached cottage in grounds (not self catering), bedroom with Superking or twin beds, en-suite bathroom with bath and shower, lounge with flat screen TV with freesat, tea/coffee making facilities,fridge and microwave,fully central heated. Breakfast taken in the main house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.