We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco's Italian Restaurant

Marco's Italian Restaurant
Shoal bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
02 4981 2980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 8 Restaurants in Shoal Bay
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited mid week with two friends. Friendly, young waitperson, learning the job, was quite attentive. I ordered the smoked salmon sandwich, which was probably the best I have ever eaten. Loads of salmon. My friends ordered a garlic prawn pizza, which looked great, and a garlic prawn dish with a cream sauce. All tasted very good. Outside seating was good as we had a view of the bay, and street traffic was not heavy. There is a very limited wine list, so better to visit the bottle shop at the hotel a few hundred metres away. Worth revisiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    44
    21
    24
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's about customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful day, overlooking beach but disappointed with service at this establishment. Waited and waited until had to remind them of our simple order of two coffees.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Terrible Salad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ordered a Salad that the menu stated would have lettuce leaves, pine nuts, parmesan cheese, lemon juice and olive oil. I ordered smoked salmon with it. I was quite horrified and embarrassed for the restaurant when the salad came out as I might as well paid $22 for a plate of cos lettuce. I am a local and it the tourism industry will never recommend people to your restaurant. To make an order you have to go to the bar so there is no recommendation from a waitress.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley NSW
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian at Shoal Bay NSW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went here without a reservation on a midweek winter evening. We were greeted, promptly seated & ordered drinks. The menu was run through by the only person servicing the floor & bar but as there were only a few tables taken this was not a problem. Every meal sampled was tasty & well prepared. We enjoyed our evening & would return here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
1 review
“Great food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my husband went there for Lunch which we enjoyed a lot. It was a pure Italian experience with the food. The ambience was okay but the location is superb and the service was quick. Since we are pure vegetarians, we still enjoyed as there were quite a few options .. We enjoyed there for at least 2.5 hours .. Keep it up guys

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
 
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Marco's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.