We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Save Saved
You added Ramada Resort Shoal Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   35-45 Shoal Bay Road, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shoal Bay
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for five nights in the Breakwater apartments which are behind the resort with excellent water views over the bay area. We had full use of the resort facilities, which included a beauty/masssage spa area with three different spa pools and a fantastic 25M lap pool. A well appointed gym was in this area too. We had use of two outdoor heated pools and also a large party room with foxtel, pool tables etc. The apartment we rented privately was well appointed and clean with enough room for two adults and three teens. Large sunny balcony overlooking pool and bay in the distance. Conveniently located right in the centre of the beachside village and underground secure parking. Great area to visit for a quick getaway from Sydney.

Room Tip: Front room overlooking bay and pool get sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    92
    83
    53
    47
See reviews for
118
123
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed for just the one night Shoal Bay but wished we’d booked for two. The resort was simple but everything we needed was there. On the first day we eat lunch at one of the resorts cafés. The menu was good, but seemed limited to people with dietary requirements like myself. Only one down side to the cafes and resturants that situated outside was the flies. They were everywhere, however I realize that sometime that cannot be helped.

We booked a room on the beach front which was a good shout. The balcony was spacious and perfect for a few early night drinks. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and well stocked! The beach at Shoal Bay was lovely, clean and the sea surprisingly warm!

All in all I would recommend Shoal Bay Resort for both couple and families. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This resort is a collections of apartments centred around facilities which include two pools.The whole building seems out of place in what is a really peaceful spot facing out onto Shoal Bay. With music constantly blaring out from the bar area its can ruin the restful views. Would much prefer a small boutique hotel considering this beautiful location.

The rooms are a big size, with a small bathroom and kitchen facilities. We had a pool side room, with a noisy extractor running outside the door. We are not light sleepers but would recommend moving from this area if you are. We eat at the local Japanese/Thai restaurant a few doors down from the hotel which offered really tasty food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a condo development where the units are designed to accommodate either the owner or paying guests. They are no frills but comfortable. There is an eating area on site where breakfast is served and it's probably used for other meals as well during the season. The views of Shoal Bay and Port Stephens are to die for and the property is just across the road from the beach. This place was incredibly overpriced compared with other places of a similar nature where we stayed up and down the NSW coast. We wouldn't return here because of that.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony facing the water. Otherwise the high tariff will have been f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have been taking our holidays in Shoal Bay for the last 30 years. We used to stay at the "old" country for many years until they refurbished and "upgraded" it many years ago now. The club itself is a fantastic place to stay as it has always been. The rooms are clean, well appointed and there are so many activities to do on your stay. From kids clubs to bush walks, or just lazing beside the fantastic pool. The restaurant is great and if you take a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package, you will experience the ultimate holiday.

The down side for the new Shoal Bay Resort and Spa is simply the price. I am not talking a little bit expensive; I am talking very, very expensive. It can cost you up between $2,000 and $5,000 for a 5 night stay. This makes the resort over priced for the average family just wanting to simply get away and enjoy a nice beach holiday.

We stopped staying at the Resort due to the extensive price rises over the years. We now stay at other units or apartments at a fraction of the price. If you stay at another apartment and you eat out every night, it is still cheaper than staying at the Shoal Bay Resort & Spa.

I recommend this place as a great place to stay but as I said previously, bring you wallet with you.

Room Tip: You are better off staying at one of the rooms in around the middle of the resort (Around the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A great place to go and relax and enjoy a great time with the family.The people there are very friendly and polite.
There are many activities to do while your there to keep you occupied during your stay(message, jet ski, boat cruses).
The views are unforgettable and the rooms were very well presented, so if your looking for a lil getaway this is your destination you won't regret.

Room Tip: when booking a room make sure you spend a extra $50 to get the beach view, its worth every dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice location just be careful of the wording they use for their rooms, the room we were allocated was a beachfront but you needed a neck like a Giraffe to see it from the side of the building. Great resort but overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Road, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.