We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip!! Stay at home instead” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Resort Shoal Bay to your Saves list
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   35-45 Shoal Bay Road, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip!! Stay at home instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I had to go to Nelson Bay for work so decided to take my mum for a weekend away.
We arrived at 12pm to be greeted by a rude receptionist who told us our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. So we left, had some lunch and returned at 2pm. We had to wait until 3pm to get our room and were told we would be give a late check out as compensation.....30mins later!!
The rooms are fine. Not clean, dated and noisy.
I would have preferred to stay at home and drive the 3 hours to and from work on Monday.
Don't stay here....it is a total waste of money

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    112
    92
    58
    52
See reviews for
126
140
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, were always helpful. I left my car windows down during the rain (idiot!) and the staff went out of their way to get my extra towels and helped me dry the inside.
Just great!
Enjoyed an extensive modern and fresh menu at the buffet one evening, would recommend it to all.
Really enjoyed the live music by the pool - great idea!
Will be returning next holiday :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very happy with the resort, very professional friendly staff and a great place to stay! We stayed 4 nights and we were very happy with our choice. From the rooms to the food and drink we were very impressed. Highly recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our stay at shoal bay resort was awesome! Great location and really friendly staff. The spa facilities were exactly what we were looking for on our relaxing weekend away.I would highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. Right across from an amazing beach, plenty of dining and drinking options, great pool and the aqua spa is amazing. The staff are very friendly and personally, I felt they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. A great destination and a great way to relax. Will be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in November. Bad service at check in and rooms dirty.. Complained but told there was no other rooms available. Was so looking forward to a nice relaxing weekend and was sadly disappointed. This hotel has gone so downhill over the lat few years... I will never be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at shoal bay resort on the 15th January,had side water view in barrington building which was very nice,went to spa which was also good although I think the age should be lowered for children from 14 to 12 with an adult.

Went to country club for dinner & had fish & chips for $18.00.
The meal had salad although the fish was disappointing,cheap shark with a MASSIVE amount
Of batter which you had to carve through to find the fish.
My daughter had kids snizetel which didn't look like fresh chicken breast, something frozen instead?
Also ate at buffet which is a bit pricey,found food cheap & prawns made in Thailand (no sign to state this)being a seaside suburb you would expect fresh local produce.

Save your money & go to Bobs fish & chips across the road a bit expensive but you always get good fish
& won't be disappointed.

Shame such a lovely resort but food quality poor!

Room Tip: Check to make sure waterfront rooms are not on the Main Street otherwise it will be very Noisy espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Road, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.