We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional center / school - super-friendly team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palaka Siargao Dive Center

Palaka Siargao Dive Center
Siargao Island | Surigao Del Norte Province, General Luna, Mindanao 08419, Philippines
+63 918 626 2303
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Palaka Siargao Dive Center is the first international scuba diving and freediving school on Siargao Island. We are teaching all PADI diving courses and all AIDA Freediving courses in 4 languages, from beginner to professional levels. From local and shallow dive sites for beginners, to the famous and amazing Blue Cathedral for experienced divers and freedivers, they are many dive sites to discover. All our instructors are highly qualified by internatonal federations as PADI and AIDA, and all are covered by a professional insurance. We are located in General Luna, Siargao Island, Philippines. We are happy to welcome you and to show you the underwater world in Siargao Island surroundings, including Philippine Sea and Pacific Ocean. Our speed boat equiped with GPS/sonder, radio, life jackets and cooler will bring you to the best dive sites in few minutes. Mabuhay! Welcome!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Langenthal, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very professional center / school - super-friendly team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Thank you again Damien and Co.! For someone (I) who always joked about only wanting to pick up diving when old, shrivelled and unfit for wave-surfing, you guys and gals totally convinced me about the beauty of this activity. It was nice meeting you all ... hopefully till again someday soon (maybe fall 2014) - who knows ...

Kudos and palmares to you for:
- top state-of-the-art equipment
- high standards in instructing and safety
- superfriendly (smiles everywhere, always there with drinks and snacks etc.)
- good times :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highly professional diving school”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Since we didn't dive for more than 2 years, my girlfriend and I had to accomplish a review dive before we were ready for a drift dive and a visit to the famous deep dive at the Blue Cathedral near Gen. Luna.

Damien was a perfect instructor and dive guide right from the beginning. The diving school's equipment is brand new, making you feel very comfortable. Palaka is moving into a new office right at the main harbour of Gen. Luna within the next weeks - we had a quick look at the construction site, it's going to be fantastic! A huge terrace with ocean view, a bar, showers etc. Everything you would expect from a top-class diving center!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Palaka Dive Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my son came to Siargao to visit my daughter but also to learn to dive. Damian is an experienced diver and an excellent teacher and he's more comfortable in the water than a fish! We had lots of fun but maybe most important, we felt very secure diving with Damian. He knows what he is doing. Can strongly recommend this drive center.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service and safe, fun first dive for our children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I took a refresher course as we hadn't dived for over 12 years and my two daughters (11 and 13) did a Discovery dive (a part of the course towards their Open Water cert). After some theory and fitting with brand new equipment we headed out to Naked Island about 10 minutes away by boat. We then spent another half an hour going through more skills before heading off on our dive. It was great to be learning in the water especially for the children. Damien, the owner, was excellent in making sure that our girls were fully confident before their descent and once underwater we spent more time going through skills. It was a very professional, safe instruction in a fun environment. Once we set off, there was lots to see, with great visibility even just a short distance from the land. Throughout the dive, Damien constantly checked on the children and pointed out interesting things. My children really enjoted the experience and want to dive again. Highly recommended and a good price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well run dive centre w/ great instructor, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I did 2 dives with Palaka during our stay in Siargao. We hadn't dived in over a year, so a review was needed. Damien, the owner and our instructor, was very patient and get us back to where we left off very quickly. We breezed through the tune-up dive and spent almost an hour under water on each dive. Having dived previously in Thailand where 45 minutes was a long dive, we definitely felt like we got our money's worth with Damien. His prices were also very reasonable, and all the gear brand new.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palaka Siargao Dive Center also viewed

Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte Province
General Luna, Siargao Island
 
General Luna, Siargao Island
Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte Province
 

Been to Palaka Siargao Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palaka Siargao Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.