We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe The Best Value On The Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kawayan Siargao Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in General Luna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kawayan Siargao Resort
Save
You added Kawayan Siargao Resort to your Saves list
General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in General Luna
Lapu-Lapu City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Maybe The Best Value On The Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went there for dinner on the recommendation of a friend. The food is far and away the best we had during our four nights & five days on the island. It was a nice change to go from simple dishes to sophisticated fare.The menu is not cluttered with a lot of different selections. I had fish, she had pork, generous portions and professionally presented. We had no room left for the delicious looking desserts.The meals were prepared by the owner, David, who also took the time to come out and thank us for dining at his place. From that conversation we learned that he bakes fresh bread and brews real coffee for breakfast. So, of course we returned there the next morning. The daylight revealed extensive & beautiful tropical landscaping and two well appointed bungalows with private verandas. We will book there for our next trip to Siargao.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

kawayan is walking distance to cloud9. it may not be beachfacing, but it's a cool place to hang out. we went here for drinks and pool/snooker. beautiful chill place with great service and friendly owner. nice surprise is free wifi. visit the website, it looks exactly like the photos if not better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Truly an amazing place. I can only try to describe the highlights which are numerous. The jungle setting, the well maintained garden, the cottages with a special note that the private outdoor showers are worth the trip and charge alone. Also the cuisine is a highlight while the French chef creatively combines typical Philippine style product/dishes with French cuisine. Even if you do not stay in this resort the restaurant (and bar) is a thing definitely worth visiting by itself.

The friendly owner can set you up with everything you want from surfing, island hopping, snorkeling, trips to nearby villages or just making sure that you experience a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moliets et Maa, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

A spacious restaurant, a delicate and harmonious decoration will enhance the sweet flavor developed by David, a french chief who wields a perfect marriage of traditional local products and fine, characteristic of French gastronomy.
A team of young waitresses, smiling, friendly and dedicated enhance your sense of well-being in Kawayan resort.
The icing on the cake: the cottage! Gorgeous! Design, up to the bathroom open on the sky, through the advanced terrace overlooking the tropical garden, everything, absolutely everything has been thought for the pleasure of its guests!

Enjoy a stay at the resort Kawayan is like heaven on earth ... a pure delight

Room Tip: No necessary choose ; both of the two rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

What can I say. The perfect place. Food was outstanding, staff were outstanding. Location at Cloud 9 outstanding, overall - outstanding. David (the owner) is living the dream. Thanks to all, we had a magical week.

Room Tip: Only two bungalows, so book early,!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

About the only drawback of this place is it's not on the beachfront. But when I say it's the only drawback, I mean it's THE ONLY drawback. Everything else is perfect. And when all it takes to reach the beach is to cross the road, that's a small limitation you can live with.

Rooms here are great; two very well-designed, tastefully furnished cottages that can accommodate 4 people comfortably with a fantastically designed bathroom that by itself is an attraction. (Hard to describe here; photos are better.)

As for the food (and alcohol), they may be a bit steep, but the serving size and taste make the money you cough up worth it. The beer isn't that expensive, so you can chill by the bar while playing pool after a day of surfing.

Just a great, great place to escape from it all.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stay 4 nights in this small resort with 2 bungalow. This is very clean, very comfortable and the room are very big with an incredible bathroom made of beautiful stones indoor/outdoor... The emplacement is perfect, just 100m of the cloud 9 spote and the food is excellent. If you want to eat fish, it's the best place of the island...
You can also enjoy a free billiard in this modern resort and a free wifi...
The only inconvenient is that there is no swimming pool for the moment but you can relax in the island with some day trip....

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kawayan Siargao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawayan Siargao Resort

Address: General Luna, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island > General Luna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in General Luna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kawayan Siargao resort created for you modern and native style cottages with terrace, high perched on wooden piles, intimate and discreet, surrounded by a luxurious and peaceful tropical garden. You will appreciate your open sky bathrooms with hot and cold rain shower under the jungle sun or starry sky. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kawayan Siargao Resort Siargao Island/General Luna, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawayan Siargao Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.