We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Office staff cannot be trusted and don't care about their customers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rios Tropicales Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rios Tropicales Lodge to your Saves list
Rios Tropicales Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Office staff cannot be trusted and don't care about their customers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Beware - standard rooms are NOTHING like the premium rooms! Don't believe the website.

We had a group of 7 and we booked the PREMIUM rooms back in May. We confirmed this reservation with Melissa one week prior to arriving and she confirmed it. We were to have the 3rd floor closest to the river - nicest rooms with slate bathroom. When we arrived, our rooms were not what we reserved. We were given very dark, spartan rooms, the same as a state park would have, dark walls, 1 piece shower enclosure and occasionally no hot water, away from the river. Our guide tried to get his boss to fix the problem, but they would not honor their commitment. The premium rooms remained empty the first night we were there. I had asked our guide if we could at least have them one night and he said no.

Come to find out, the office staff "bumped" us for a group of 18 Microsoft people. They got our rooms. They floated in the next day. They basically let this group take over the lodge. After they arrived, they strung electrical cords all over the public areas to play loud music, they drank all night, one guy almost passed out in the garden next to our table (someone had to drag him out of the garden) and someone vomited all over the public toilet. It was still there the next morning. They took over all the common areas so we barely had a place to sit for dinner. We could not use the dining hall, the hammocks, the balcony. We simply had a small area that we were confined to.

The response from Melissa at RiosTropicales to my complaints was that the staff "had a different perspective" and I feel like she is calling me a liar. Microsoft people ruined the evening for us but RiosTropicales doesn't care. There was no apology or even acknowledgement about giving away our rooms and there was no apology or acknowledgement about us having to tolerate Microsoft's behavior. There was no acknowledgement about the deceitful website photos regarding their rooms.

Would I go back to this place or use Rios Tropicales? Probably not - you can't trust the office staff and everything has to go thru them.

They did refund $35 per person for their "mistake". MISTAKE! Yea, right!

The guides, however, were fabulous and did everything they could to help us have a great time. I have no complaints about them at all. It is sad that they work for this sorry outfit, though!

Be prepared - the office staff doesn't care about small groups. They only care about the larger groups. They also could care less about your complaints!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

By far the highlight of the trip. If you are looking for a romantic spot, book this place during low season. I wish I was with my partner on this one as the place was very romantic being so empty (my friend and I were the only two guests).
Johnny our guide was fantastic. The 4 day trip is an amazing value at $400 including a prenight hotel in San Jose. The guide cooks 3 meals a day and a snack which is all really good. I might recommend that they send in a little bit higher quality bread.

Included in a trip was a horseback ride/rainforest hike with Carlos, followed by a meal in his home. It was a 5 or 6 hour tour followed by a hike back down to the lodge in true rainforest spirit (it was pouring buckets)!We went ziplining as well which was quite a bit of fun. I hope they fix the last run that goes across the river, it looks like that last line would have been amazing.

I started every morning with a waterfall shower a short hike upstream on one of the rivers that runs through the property.

Try the hike up the waterfall all the way to where they collect the water for the generator.

The service here was impeccable, and the cost way too reasonable, this is a do not miss 4 days in costa rica.

As an indication to how much they care about their guests, Delta lost my bags, and they rafted them into me the day after Delta got them to the lodge, now that is service!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We did the three day trip and found it to be just perfect. Driver was on time and the guides were great. We felt safe on the rapids and they were wonderful hosts once at the lodge. Their names were Luis and Otto and both were just fantastic people. We found that our three day was perfect because it gave us time to fully explore all that was around the lodge. There are so many waterfalls with swimming pools, hikes, even a natural waterslide down a rock. Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We took the 2-day rafting trip on the Pacuare River with Rios Tropicales, staying overnite on the river at their Rios Tropicales Lodge. Both the rafting experience and the lodge were superb. The raft "captains" are experienced and pleasant, making sure that safety and excitement are both paramount. At the lodge, the raft guides turn into cooks, preparing standard yet interesting and filling meals. The lodge is in a beautiful setting, with chairs and hammocks for lounging while overlooking the river. The lodge rooms are just big enough, clean and bright. There are hot showers (although the faucets can be a little tricky). The guides took us on the zip line tour on the afternoon of arrival (it was included in the price). There is also a hike to a waterfall, though we did not do it. You wake up to coffee on the deck and breakfast prior to loading the rafts for the second day of whitewater fun. Overall, a superb experience for all ages.

  • Liked — The solitude. You can only get to it by rafting in.
  • Disliked — Can't really complain about anything.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rios Tropicales Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rios Tropicales Lodge

Address: Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Siquirres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Siquirres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rios Tropicales Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our multi-day trips treat you to an exceptional adventure vacation experience combining rafting on the Pacuare with a stay at our remote "Eco-Lodge", tucked in the rainforest on the banks of the river. A trip of pure magic, unsurpassed beauty, wildlife and ravishing rapids; Pacuare is the quintessential tropical river. Along its course lay several densely vegetated gorges, which shelter, jaguars, ocelots, monkeys, sloths and an incredible variety of birds. Also found within these gorges, is some of the best whitewater in the world. "at its lodge, hammock-filled, thatch-roofed huts, offering dorm and honeymoon style rooms, surround an even larger thatch-roofed lodge net to a gurgling waterfall linking the huts to the lodge’s open-walled dining room, bar and reading room are bamboo-railed boardwalks that make wearing anything but river sandals sacrilegious. Don’t get so comfortable in the reading room’s hammock; however, that you miss the cocktail-hour bell; in true jungle fashion, all apres-paddle drinks are served in coconut shells." (Paddler magazine article, jan./feb.1999, edb). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Rios Tropicales Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rios Tropicales Hotel Siquirres
Rios Tropicales Lodge Costa Rica/Siquirres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rios Tropicales Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.