We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting, challenging, unforgettable -- if you visit Costa Rica, do this.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rios Tropicales Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siquirres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rios Tropicales Lodge
Save
You added Rios Tropicales Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Exciting, challenging, unforgettable -- if you visit Costa Rica, do this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife, daughter and I took the two-day one-night rafting trip. It was a fantastic experience that we'll never forget. Booking was easy. The whole thing is very well organized. Pick-up from and return to our hotel (in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui -- no extra charge) went smoothly. Breakfast was fine. The rafting was exhilarating and challenging (people did fall out of the raft into the rapids!) but safe (they were always pulled back on board uninjured!) The guides were highly competent, and not just at rafting -- they also served as cooks, expert naturalists, teachers, coaches, entertainers and more.

It was off-season, and there was only one other guest (Hi Stacy!) so our raft contained just the four of us (none with prior rafting experience) plus one guide steering like crazy and telling us which way to row.

The Pacuare river goes through heavy-duty jungle -- reminded me a bit of river scenes from Apocalypse Now. The lodge is spectacularly located -- it's miraculous that anyone managed to build such a thing in such a remote spot. Not a luxury hotel, but quite adequate accommodation for one night. It's noisy, because it's right on a fast-running river and the sounds of jungle life (howler monkeys, birds, cicadas and who knows what else) are constant. And our room was next to a waterfall. But it's all like background white noise -- you get used to it. We were all so tired that we fell right to sleep and barely noticed it.

The list of recommended clothing items to take is spot-on. You will get totally soaked each day. I thought the one-night trip was ideal duration (at least for over-60s like us.) Food was surprisingly good. Cost was reasonable considering all that is included. Take your camera (but not on the raft -- they send a photographer with you in a canoe for the last stretch of river.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear NameAlreadyTaken75, Thanks for posting on both pages. Our Lodge has evolved through the years from a campsite to what it is now, thanks for clients like you. We really appreciate joining one of our Multiday trips into the Pacuare and Rios Tropicales Lodge.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My family of 4 did the 3 day rafting tour down the Rio Pacuare in May 2014. We had a terrific time. We Started with a hearty meal at the operations center. Then a shuttle to the put-in point. Did about 3 hours rafting the first day. We Spent 2 nights at the lodge. We stayed in a "superior" cabin. Max occupants are 3, so we had gotten 2 rooms, but actually our family of 4 all wound up staying in the same room. We found the lodge beautiful and comfortable. Gorgeous landscaping, firm mattresses, clean, nice room. No air conditioning, but the temperature remained comfortable in our room. Jaw dropping view of the river from our room.

During our second day/layover day at the lodge, we did a short hike to a waterfall/swimming hole and the canopy tour. The canopy tour is fun, although relatively short with only 4 zip lines, it was just the right length for us. Having such a gorgeous waterfall all to ourselves was a special treat. There is another smaller, still gorgeous waterfall only a couple of minutes hike from the lodge. Longer hikes are available. We wanted to do waterfall repelling as advertised, but it didn't seem to be an option when we asked; I'm not sure why.

Our guide, Mey, is terrific. His level of knowledge is outstanding. He is someone who has clearly put in a great deal of effort into being excellent at his job.

We Rafted out on the third day. The last half if the river is even more gorgeous than the first half and the rapids are larger. Unbelievably beautiful waterfalls cascading into rio pacuare.

Meals are at set times, cooked by the guides. Our guide, Mey, is an excellent chef, and he made meals a real highlight. Being served traditional Costa Rican food, along with his knowledge and discussion of the food, made meals enjoyable, informative, and we looked forward to each meal.

Good bathroom. Little to no hot water, but this was typical during our 2 weeks in Costa Rica, it wasn't an issue for us.

I considered the 3 night package, but I think 2 nights at the lodge is the sweet spot.

It was SO GREAT for my family of 4 to be without our phones and without wi-fi for 3 days.

Their policy regarding picking up and dropping off (we did not rent a car during our time in Costa Rica) before and after the trip is terrific.

Overall, a fantastic experience for our family and well worth it.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jeff J, Again thanks for joining one of our Multiday trips to the Pacuare and Rios Tropicales Lodge. As we put on our description: "Our Lodge invites you to relax, explore, and enjoy Costa Rica’s natural paradise. It’s all quality time - your way - at its very best. The longer you stay, the more refreshed you return to your daily routine - we guarantee it!"
I'm sure we lived up to it with y'all!

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I did the overnight trip -- raft about 10km the first day, 20 the second. Rios Tropicales picked us up at our hotel on the front end and provided transportation to our next hotel (in La Fortuna) on the back end. In between, they delivered on a great rafting experience, good food, a little zip-lining and hiking, and some fantastic scenery and relaxation. I would definitely recommend this Rios Tropicales to anyone who enjoys the outdoors. Being as the lodge is essentially only accessible by river, the accommodations are a little spartan (small room, no A/C), but as long as you're not high-maintenance when it comes to amenities, you will have no regrets on this one -- a truly fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando E, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Wes J, Thanks for joining one of our multiday trips to the Pacuare River and Rios Tropicales Lodge. We appreciate for taking your valuable time to recommend us. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My Mom and I stayed one night at Rios Tropicales on April 22. It was incredible from the journey there on the raft, to the fantastic river guides/chefs, to the accommodations. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an adventurous vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear monarchgirl09,
Thanks for coming with your Mother on one of our Multiday Trips. I'm pleased you took advantage spending 2 unforgetable days on the Pacuare River and Ríos Tropicales Lodge.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Ríos Tropicales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everything about this trip was amazing. The rafting was fun and safe, the lodge was beautiful and comfortable, the zip line, natural water slide and jungle walks well organized. So much to see on your own as well, hidden waterfall only a 30 minute walk away, in addition to natural waterfall swimming pool behind lodge. I can't recommend Rios Tropicales enough, perfect trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room, only a little more expensive and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Gabi H, Thanks for writing your recommendation and joining one of our multiday trips into the Pacuare river and Ríos Tropiclaes Lodge. I will let our team know about how you praised their organization attributes.

Pura vida,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Ríos Tropicales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a great experience in the jungle! Very professional! A little effort to get there from San Jose, but well worth it. What a great night with the sounds of the water and jungle. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They had an opening in the Honeymoon Suite and gave us a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear JasonyDori, Thanks for coming along on our Overnight trip to the Pacuare river and Rios Tropicales Lodge. I will send your comments to our staff, I appreciate your recommendation.

Happy trails,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Spent two night at the lodge and had a blast. It is very rustic with few extras. The rooms over look the river with beautiful views of the river and canyon. I would return.

Also a great trail system that will take you to waterfalls, zip lines, pools etc are at your door.

The food was cooked by our guides. The food is brought in by raft which you would think might make it more difficult to have such good food available. The whole experience was worth the trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Dredwing, thanks for coming along in one of our Multiday Trips to the Pacuare River and Rios Tropicales Lodge. We appreciate taking your valuable time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.

sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rios Tropicales Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rios Tropicales Lodge

Address: Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Siquirres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Siquirres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rios Tropicales Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our multi-day trips treat you to an exceptional adventure vacation experience combining rafting on the Pacuare with a stay at our remote "Eco-Lodge", tucked in the rainforest on the banks of the river. A trip of pure magic, unsurpassed beauty, wildlife and ravishing rapids; Pacuare is the quintessential tropical river. Along its course lay several densely vegetated gorges, which shelter, jaguars, ocelots, monkeys, sloths and an incredible variety of birds. Also found within these gorges, is some of the best whitewater in the world. "at its lodge, hammock-filled, thatch-roofed huts, offering dorm and honeymoon style rooms, surround an even larger thatch-roofed lodge net to a gurgling waterfall linking the huts to the lodge’s open-walled dining room, bar and reading room are bamboo-railed boardwalks that make wearing anything but river sandals sacrilegious. Don’t get so comfortable in the reading room’s hammock; however, that you miss the cocktail-hour bell; in true jungle fashion, all apres-paddle drinks are served in coconut shells." (Paddler magazine article, jan./feb.1999, edb). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rios Tropicales Hotel Siquirres
Rios Tropicales Lodge Costa Rica/Siquirres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rios Tropicales Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.