We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fun, Experience and Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rios Tropicales Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siquirres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rios Tropicales Lodge
Save Saved
You added Rios Tropicales Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good Fun, Experience and Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I went with friends for a 3 day 2 night stay. Rafting was our first part of our holiday as soon as we arrived in Costa Rica.Pick up from our hotel in San Jose was straight forward. We had lunch at the operation centre. Food was delicious and tasty compared to what we experienced afterwards else where in Costa Rica. This booking was made via agents in UK. We didn't know what to expect and pack but we had a really amazing time. We had Johnny as our raft guide to the lodge. Ronald looked after us the next day and we went on a waterfall hike. For the final leg of the river, we had Luis as a raft guide.
All the guides are friendly, look after you and make sure you are enjoying the experience and the food that they have to cook themselves!
I would definately recommend this company. Just make sure if you don't have hot water - ask any other staff and not Johnny to get it fixed. He's such a joker!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear rosey5nose, Thanks for taking your time to write about your experience with us. The memories you take back come into great use when inmerse in the daily routine. I will let Johnny, Ronald and Luis know about your wonderful commenta about them.

Saincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our two-day trip on the Pacuare River could not have been better!! Otto and Chino ( our guides ) were nothing short of excellent! The stay at the River Lodge was premier and we loved the home cooked meal after a long day of navigating rapids. We should of stayed longer at the lodge to enjoy the canyonniering and other activities the company offers. The nicely accomodated our transport to Pt. Viejo after our stay. Overall and excellent time! Love you guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in a double on the fourth floor in the furthest lodge out where we were treated with excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear tj4diving, Thanks for taking your time and write about your trip with us. I'll send your message to Chino and Otto.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came to Costa Rica in 2009 and did the 2 day Pacuare trip staying at Pacuare lodge. This visit tried to rebook but they wouldn't pick us up from our accommodation ( even tho it was just off Highway 32 (!). so looked at alternatives and booked with Rios, which is much less expensive.
The differences - rafting great with both, but you get significantly more on day 1 with Rios as the put in is higher up. Our guide Albert was superb and knew the river well as he had been born at Rios Lodge!
Rooms are nicer at Pacuare Lodge but no electric or hot water. At Rios we had a standard room and also a Deluxe room. Standard a bit basic but fine for 1 night. Deluxe more spacious and smarter "feel2 and river view. Hot water showers& electric ( their own hydroelectric) in both.
Food better at Pacuare, but still fine at Rios. House fruit punch with local vodka went down well ( included).
At Rios did a hike to a waterfall and a 4 line zip wire all incuded in price. At Pacuare you pay for the extras.
We had a wonderful 2 days and if returning would book Rios again.

Room Tip: Probably worth the extra for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear NickC1959, I'm glad we could provide you with a wonderful time at our Lodge. I appreciate you taking your time to express your experience with us.
"Since our founding in 1985 our Mission has been: To Share the rivers and natural resources of Costa Rica, our culture and conservation values. Always committed to professionalism, safety, high quality and extraordinary service."

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went on the 3 day/2night rafting tour with the stay at the lodge. You raft into the lodge the first day through fairly easy rapids (mostly class II with an occasional III). Only took us a few hours to get to the lodge. The lodge is amazing with an off the grid feel while having some of the creature comforts (hot water, separate bathroom, bottled clean water). Roy was our guide and he was excellent. His family sold their land to the company who owns the lodge now and he was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Our room was very near the river and the river was very loud as there are rapids right under the cabins. I suggest you bring earplugs to sleep if you need quiet as the river is VERY loud at night in the canyon. We ended up being the only 2 there for our 2 nights as we were there in the middle of November so it was a little quiet there which was both good and bad. We did get personalized attention but would have been nice to have a few others there to talk to during our meals. There are several trails around the lodge you can hike that lead to waterfalls and through the jungle. You can spend lots of time relaxing in the hammocks above the river. We also did the canyoning through the waterfall with Roy on our second day which was a blast.

The 3rd day we re supposed to raft out but overnight we had some very heavy rains which brought the river up very quickly and forced them to cancel our rafting out which included the better parts of the river. We ended up having to hike out of the river canyon up 820 steps (they are numbered) through a pouring rainforest storm. It added a bit of adventure but it was a bummer we didn't get to do the last part of our rafting trip. I would have rated our trip a 5 if we could have rafted out and there were more people at the lodge although both of these things were outside their control. We did ask at the operations center if they could credit us since we did not get to raft and they did take about 10%off our bill which we were happy with.

All in all I would highly recommend Rios Tropicales.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the buildings at the back that look out on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Schneickos, I always feel a lot of gratitude when our clients take their time and write about details of our trips. Thanks for joining us and wishing you the best for 2013.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We did the 2 day/1 night on the Pacuare river and LOVED this lodge. We had the entire place to ourselves! Our guide Henry was fantastic! He made a very delicious brekfast, lunch, and dinner! I dont think we have ever slept so soundly. This was a nice quiet jungle escape that we look forward to doing again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Eric B, We are very happy we could provide you with a wonderful experience.

Happy paddling,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were just recently on a 4 days/3 nights rafting tour/stay at the logde.
It was great rafting and we were so amazed when we arrived at the lodge. Wish we had upgraded to the deluxe room instead as the standard room was dark and not that nice, however our guide said that he could not assist with this.
The rest of the lodge was so beautiful and the guides made the BEST food ever. We did hikes, zipline, waterfalls and horseback riding. It was all good fun, however we were a bit concerned about the horses, as they were VERY skinny and tired. Felt pretty bad that these horses had to carry up up the mountains in that heat. The guide felt our concern and said that in high season they are working hard and in low season they are really fat... but stil...
We were alone the last two nights, which was okay, but I think the 4 days was 1 day too many.
The rafting trip on the last day was so much fun!!!!

Room Tip: Definately go for the deluxe room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Thecoffeeshop85, Thanks for joining our trip into the Pacuare River and taking your time to recommend us.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for an all-inclusive, advernture lodge, this is it. Located directly on the Pacuare River, this place has it all. Wonderful sights, plenty of activities, super friendly and informative staff, and great food. They take care of EVERYTHING. The prices are reasonable, too! Definitely come here and you will be more than happy you did!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear guggs222, Thanks for your recommendation about our multiday trip on the Pacuare. Our Lodge is the result of recognizing our clients needs and give you an out of the ordinary experience.
Take care and hope to have you back someday.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rios Tropicales Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rios Tropicales Lodge

Address: Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Siquirres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Siquirres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rios Tropicales Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our multi-day trips treat you to an exceptional adventure vacation experience combining rafting on the Pacuare with a stay at our remote "Eco-Lodge", tucked in the rainforest on the banks of the river. A trip of pure magic, unsurpassed beauty, wildlife and ravishing rapids; Pacuare is the quintessential tropical river. Along its course lay several densely vegetated gorges, which shelter, jaguars, ocelots, monkeys, sloths and an incredible variety of birds. Also found within these gorges, is some of the best whitewater in the world. "at its lodge, hammock-filled, thatch-roofed huts, offering dorm and honeymoon style rooms, surround an even larger thatch-roofed lodge net to a gurgling waterfall linking the huts to the lodge’s open-walled dining room, bar and reading room are bamboo-railed boardwalks that make wearing anything but river sandals sacrilegious. Don’t get so comfortable in the reading room’s hammock; however, that you miss the cocktail-hour bell; in true jungle fashion, all apres-paddle drinks are served in coconut shells." (Paddler magazine article, jan./feb.1999, edb). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rios Tropicales Hotel Siquirres
Rios Tropicales Lodge Costa Rica/Siquirres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rios Tropicales Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.