We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rios Tropicales Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siquirres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rios Tropicales Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We did the 2 day/1 night on the Pacuare river and LOVED this lodge. We had the entire place to ourselves! Our guide Henry was fantastic! He made a very delicious brekfast, lunch, and dinner! I dont think we have ever slept so soundly. This was a nice quiet jungle escape that we look forward to doing again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Eric B, We are very happy we could provide you with a wonderful experience.

Happy paddling,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were just recently on a 4 days/3 nights rafting tour/stay at the logde.
It was great rafting and we were so amazed when we arrived at the lodge. Wish we had upgraded to the deluxe room instead as the standard room was dark and not that nice, however our guide said that he could not assist with this.
The rest of the lodge was so beautiful and the guides made the BEST food ever. We did hikes, zipline, waterfalls and horseback riding. It was all good fun, however we were a bit concerned about the horses, as they were VERY skinny and tired. Felt pretty bad that these horses had to carry up up the mountains in that heat. The guide felt our concern and said that in high season they are working hard and in low season they are really fat... but stil...
We were alone the last two nights, which was okay, but I think the 4 days was 1 day too many.
The rafting trip on the last day was so much fun!!!!

Room Tip: Definately go for the deluxe room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Thecoffeeshop85, Thanks for joining our trip into the Pacuare River and taking your time to recommend us.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for an all-inclusive, advernture lodge, this is it. Located directly on the Pacuare River, this place has it all. Wonderful sights, plenty of activities, super friendly and informative staff, and great food. They take care of EVERYTHING. The prices are reasonable, too! Definitely come here and you will be more than happy you did!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear guggs222, Thanks for your recommendation about our multiday trip on the Pacuare. Our Lodge is the result of recognizing our clients needs and give you an out of the ordinary experience.
Take care and hope to have you back someday.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Went on two day Paucare River rafting adventure and simply can't say enough positives. From the time we got to the operations center and ate the delicious breakfast to the final lunch when we returned, we were treated with great service and experiences. Jorge was our guide and did an outstanding job taking us off the beaten path stopping several times, letting us fully experience the river.....starting with jumping into the rapids! The lodging was more then sufficient; we were only in the room to sleep because we spent the evening eating the fresh fruit and playing cards with other travelers. The second day was full of aggressive rapids with fewer stops. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this excursion and recommend it to anyone who is adventurous but isn't quite ready to go out on their own on a relatively rugged jungle river.

Room Tip: No A/C but you don't need it.....you only need the room to sleep and store stuff so it really is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thanks for your review. The multiday trips allow us to have more time enjoying sidehikes and spending more quality time on the river and it's surroundings. Keep checking for updates on new adventures from Rios Tropicales Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I could have stayed for days looking out on the Pacuare from my hammock swing! Being the non-adventure seeker of the family (the Mom of boys in their 20"s) I was not looking forward to this part of the trip where we were to river raft down to our lodge which had no accessability to any roads. It poured the entire rafting trip and dripping wet we rounded a bend and there was this GEM built into the side of the river and the mountain. We had a deluxe room which was amazing with a beautiful slate bathroom, open air mesh windows and an incredable view of the river. The rushing sound of the water musically lulled me to sleep and I experienced one of the most peaceful nights slumber which will be remembered for a long time. The downfall was that we only stayed one night - you have to go for a minimum of two and plan on absorbing the tranquility of the surroundings for an extra day or more. The only negatives were 1) no hot water and 2) While we were sleeping, it rained all night and the river rose a foot making it non-navigatible, forcing us to hike out straight up a mountain and then approximately 2 miles in knee deep mud. Not for wimps, yet I'd go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the best especially with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Regi B, Appreciating your comments about your experience with us on the Overnight trip to the Pacuare River. Specially when there is need to improve on aspects, like no hot water, which we have always responded promptly. Sleeping at the Lodge with the "3D sound of water" is marvelous! Let us know next time you decide to come down.


Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stopped at Costa Rica on a cruise to Panama Canal. Coach journey from cruise terminal was over an hour and felt like 10 minutes! The guide on the coach was excellent, funny, relaxed and informal. (He was also our skipper on the water)
On arrival at the centre, there was a welcoming cup of excellent coffee, before heading to the river.
The whitewater rafting was fun, exhilerating! and the scenry and bird/wildlife magnificient.

On return to the centre, there was a superb lunch with a range of food to suit even the fussy eaters!

A huge thank you to the staff for a fabulous, friendly and exciting experience, and the additional cd is worth every penny (delivered to my door back home in Scotland within 3 weeks!
Don't miss the opportunity!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

When we got to the operation center for our rafting trip it was raining. We were told that the water level was too high to raft into the lodge, but we could hike in. We agreed to do so...our first mistake. The van took us to a dirt road. We then changed to a pickup truck older than any of you. We drove for about 20 minutes and were dropped...nowhere, where we began our hike. The first 20 minutes or so was on a washed out road with mud up to our calves. I was wearing tivas which stuck in the muck and slid off my feet. One of the guides took off his shoes and gave them to me. I gratefully accepted. We then found ourselves at the top of a path that led down, down, down to the river. 750 steps later with a rope bridge crossing and many ups and downs, we arrived at the lodge.


It was quite nice! Our private rooms overlooked the river and with a hot shower behind us we felt terrific. It was still raining. We had a good dinner, retired early and looked forward to the next day hiking to waterfalls, swimming in clear pools and generally enjoying the spectacular scenery. It was still raining.


The next morning the river was higher than the day before but we set out on the planned hike. Did I mention that we were the only people at this lodge that can accommodate over 100? (We later found out that all the other groups had been cancelled). Anyway, it had stopped raining and we set out. Thirty minutes into the walk it started raining again. Downpour, Buckets, Torrential. We continued on hoping to reach the waterfall, but the bridge was washed away and the feeder streams were overflowing, so we turned around arriving back at the lodge drenched, but still in good spirits. We were still hoping to raft the gorge the next day.



Now the condensed version: Night fell. Rain increased. Trees fell. Paths washed away. More rain, More rain. Generator failed. No water. More rain. Tree fell. Limbs pierced side of cabin next to ours. Snakes fled their holes. We spent the night thinking we would be washed away in a mud slide or devoured by snakes fleeing the deluge.


Morning came. Obviously the river had risen so there was to be no rafting. The only way out was to hike back up the mountain, another 750 steps, long paths, downpour, mud. At the top of the trail, horses were waiting to take us to the paved road. Seems that the dirt road had washed away and the only way out was on horseback.

Room Tip: Check the weather report before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rios Tropicales Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rios Tropicales Lodge

Address: Pacuare River, Siquirres, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Siquirres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Siquirres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rios Tropicales Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our multi-day trips treat you to an exceptional adventure vacation experience combining rafting on the Pacuare with a stay at our remote "Eco-Lodge", tucked in the rainforest on the banks of the river. A trip of pure magic, unsurpassed beauty, wildlife and ravishing rapids; Pacuare is the quintessential tropical river. Along its course lay several densely vegetated gorges, which shelter, jaguars, ocelots, monkeys, sloths and an incredible variety of birds. Also found within these gorges, is some of the best whitewater in the world. "at its lodge, hammock-filled, thatch-roofed huts, offering dorm and honeymoon style rooms, surround an even larger thatch-roofed lodge net to a gurgling waterfall linking the huts to the lodge’s open-walled dining room, bar and reading room are bamboo-railed boardwalks that make wearing anything but river sandals sacrilegious. Don’t get so comfortable in the reading room’s hammock; however, that you miss the cocktail-hour bell; in true jungle fashion, all apres-paddle drinks are served in coconut shells." (Paddler magazine article, jan./feb.1999, edb). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rios Tropicales Hotel Siquirres
Rios Tropicales Lodge Costa Rica/Siquirres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rios Tropicales Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rios Tropicales Lodge to your Saves list