We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why the hell i visited this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Misty Mountains

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jhaltola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Misty Mountains
Save
You added The Misty Mountains to your Saves list
Jhaltola Estate, Near Chaukori and Patal Bhuvaneshwar, Jhaltola 262531, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Jhaltola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ajmer
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“why the hell i visited this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

After even more than one year has passed since i visited this Damn place and i am still repenting it , as i cannot get over it and long every day to visit it . Therefore i want to warn all those planning to visit this place to be Beware as this place will haunt you in your dreams after your visit for a long time, To sum up a very addictive place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is heartening to note that you still remember us and miss the experience after so many months. We do our best to create happy memories for our guests and create an experience that they can come back to time and again.

Hope to see you here soon. :)

regards,

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A drive through Almora town, Barechina, Dhaulchina takes you to Ram Mandir at Jhaltola where you are required to call Mr. Madhur, the host who sends a vehicle to escort you to a steep and narrow road to reach the Misty Mountains.

An excellent place to spend your time in the lap of Himalayas, watching snow mountains and staying in the middle of lush green forest. Cottages and all the rooms are basic but very comfortable and well maintained. Excellent homely food, the natural setting and the activities never allow you to think that finally you have left your TV channels behind on the plains.

Bird lovers will be busy clicking as avian guests are there in plenty.

An ideal destination to relax for some days and enjoy the hospitality of Mr. Madhur and his team and try their best to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

A must visit place to spend your vacation, with friends and with family and feel satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

The Misty Mountains is indeed an ideal place to visit with friends and family.

Thank you for writing a sweet and succinct review of our place. It was a pleasure hosting you all here. We are committed to consistently build upon the quality of experience we provide to our guests and hope to see you here again sometime soon.

cheers!

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend and I did this trip week 2 of Feb 2013. We reached there around noon after an overnite halt at Bhimtal. The last kilometer approach to the resort is a narrow track which was quite thrilling to drive in a wide fortuner.

The resort itself is situated on a 1000 acre property that was gifted to the onwers great grandfather by the British. This gentleman and his brother were spies in the british army that had in the early 1900s spent over a decade in the northern himalayas doing a recee and mapping out the then Mongolia using a string of beads and their footsteps to measure distance and boiling water temp to measure altitude disguised as tibetan monks.

What was supposed to be an overnighter enroute to a trek to the Pindari Glacier turned out into a 3 nighter as we found the resort a great place to chill out. We did a day trek to the lamkeshwar temple which is situated at a 3 km distance from the resort. The entire trek is a climb at the end of which you are rewarded with a 360 degree view of snow capped peaks of the Himalaya. There's an old priest who stays next to the temple who offered us invigorating tea and a brief discourse on the history of the temple.

The next day we took a long walk around the estate to do some birding and also explore some leopard tracks. It was quite amazing to spot pugmarks all over the forest and learn that these are residents of the estate too but do not attack humans given the abundance of deer which we saw in plenty. There's a beautiful 300 year old bungalow where the owner of the estate lives which was built as a retreat for the British officers.

Madhur and Ambika who own and manage the resort are great company. Visit this resort if
1. You long for a place of solitude away from the hectic metro life
2. You are keen on walking/ trekking
3. You are the adventurous kind and love driving
4. Birding/photography is your hobby/ passion
5. You wish to savour the minblowing landscape and magnificient views that the resort has to offer

Room Tip: All cottages are very well apponted and you should not be surprised to find wild deer chomping away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Neville,

Thank you for writing such a fabulous review of our place. It was a pleasure having you here.

We would second the pointers you have left for other travelers to decide whether they would like to visit us. The reasons are spot on. :)

And by the way.. the pictures you have posted are gorgeous!

Hope to host you here again sometime.

cheers!

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

As i look back on the few days spent in this place i am filled with happiness that the visit was every way worth it.Starting from drive beyond almora to reaching the estate which is close to a hilltop the place is filled with unspoilt beauty.The cottages are nicely done up and my son adored the bunk beds . The food ,the treks around and hospitality was wonderful. Madhur as the person involved in running the show looks closely at the guests needs and exceeds their expectations.He also helped us in nainital bookings with his excellent contacts.

On a good clear day you get the views to the entire kumaon range of himalayas which is a sight to behold.Enjoyed the games at the activity centre in the evening which increased our appetite.
Properties like these would take tourism in the hills to take it to the next level.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Debkanta,

Thank you for such a generous feedback of our place.It was fun having all of you around and heartening to know that we succeeded in hosting a memorable holiday for your family.

Hopefully, we will see you here again sometime. :)

regards,

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Traveled along with my wife during Aug-12. The drive from Binsar to Pittorgargh was amazing and a pleasing drive we stayed in Almora for a day before reaching our destination. I was in constant touch with Madhur, who was quite helpful. The approach road (last few miles wasn't that bad as what reviews were given on trip advisor. The resort jeep was there to escort us and take us to the resort. Interestingly after raching resort i realized Madhur was traveling his wife Ambika was there to help us. Undoubtedly, resort views are simply amazing and Ambika is a wonderful host. Her "Anar ki chutney" still tickles my taste buds. In short, it was a memorable trip. The only disappointment due to rainy season, views were not sp clear as expected. I wish to visit again with my family again during right season. WIsh you all the best Madhur & Ambika,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Puneet,

Thank you for taking time to write this. Albeit a year after your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

This year the monsoons were really extended but the weather is perfect now and the Himalayas visible on most days. Both of us are here now, so do make a plan whenever you can.

Look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

cheers!

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

After lot of research for an offbeat destination we zeroed on to Misty Mountains. We took an overnight journey understanding the destination is 12-14 hrs (aprrox. 480 Km) away from Delhi(12th September 2013- 15th September 2013). We enjoyed the mesmerizing view on the way through to hotel, the last 10 km from Rainagar to Estate travelled through Jeep provided by Hotel. The last 3 Km to estate had every one jump of the seat because of narrow road from which only one vehicle can pass, but well driven by Pankaj (driver). We informed early to prepare lunch as we all were hungry, on reaching the resort we had warm welcome by Ambika(owner). The food was server and we were shown our rooms, but decided to go for food first. Everyone was looking at each other after taking the first bite, never tasted such a fresh and well prepared food(hats off to the chef). Finally we moved to our cottage, it was a huge cottage to accompany up to 8-10 person, every thing in that was neat and clean. The view of the Himalayas from the cottage was marvelously gorgeous, we relaxed rest of the day watching the enchanting view socked in the lounge chair. We had dinner for which we were anxiously waiting and to our treat it was as good as lunch. Next day we had breakfast and went for forest tracking to Lumbkeshwar( small temple) 3 Km. You have a wonderful view from there. We relaxed at cottage for rest of the day and spent some time in well equipped activity room. Enjoyed some rain which added some extra spark for the evening arranged with the bonfire and wonderful dinner. Next day early in the morning we left to Delhi with lots of memories and a will to come again.

Room Tip: Choose Family Suits/ round Cottage if travelling with Kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Brijesh,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our place and then writing a overwhelming feedback. We feel truly humbled.

We look forward to seeing you here again sometime and assure you as good if not an even better
experience.

cheers!

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Amazing location, awsome food...and fantastic host.A rare combination...:). We feel like visiting there again.Many thanks to Ambika for making our trip fabulous and our meals delicious.what else a person expects from a trip...good location....good food...scenic views...clean rooms...good service.Forests walks and walk to the sunset point was mind blowing.we also went to patal bhvneshwar...an underground temple or a cave.....too good experience.Thanks Ambika.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhurchhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Mam,

Thank you for taking time to write this and appreciating our place and services. Your words are energizing!

Look forward to seeing you here again sometime.

regards,

Ambika and Madhur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Misty Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Misty Mountains

Address: Jhaltola Estate, Near Chaukori and Patal Bhuvaneshwar, Jhaltola 262531, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Jhaltola
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jhaltola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Misty Mountains is an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon (near Chaukori and Patal Bhuvaneshwar). It has a unique location and stunning himalayan views. Its surrounded by thousands of acres of untouched forests and the nearest neighbour is a kilometer away. Its owned and managed by my wife Ambika, and I. It should be your choice -1) If you are looking for an Offbeat Destination in Kumaon that is untouched by commercial tourism. Its a destination where you can spend quality time with your friends and family.2) If you are looking for an extended stay at a complete destination in itself. It offers great location, clean and comfortable stay, peace, activities and home like food.3) If you are looking to explore the remoter parts of offbeat kumaon like Munsyari Abbot Mount, Binsar, Chaukori or Kausani. It can be part of your kumaon tour.4) If you are looking for something like an extended homestay where you can be yourself and stay comfortably for 4-5 days. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Misty Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.