We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true refresher” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 16 Beach Music

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beachview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
16 Beach Music
Save
You added 16 Beach Music to your Saves list
16 Seestrand Ave,, Beachview, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beachview B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“true refresher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

what a lovely place to catch a breather - incredible view, peaceful and luxurious. Enjoyed & savoured every minute.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
JHB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Coming from JHB and being used to staying mainly in hotels, this was a pleasant and relaxing breakaway from the norm. We had the delightful pleasure of spotting whales and dolphins on seperate occastions. This was complimented by one of the most beautiful sunsets imaginable. The rooms are very cosy, well equipped and neat. The hosts were discreet, polite and accomodating in every way. The view from our suites made the stay even more worth while. 16 Beach music turned our business trip into a unexpected holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Our first visit to Port Elizabeth and in particular Beachview proved to be the most memorable of my South African vacation. We were treated to the most spectacular coast line, the most incredible beach a few meters away from our room, lying in bed watching dolphins surfing the waves, enjoying the most delicious breakfast prepared by our hosts, and ....

The Oyster room is tastefully furnished and offers all and even more than expected. This is one of the few occasions where the expression "what you see is what you get" is true when looking at the web page.

The hosts are friendly and helpful, always willing to assist and played a major role in planning our stay and making our visit the experience of our vacation.

As per the famous quote, "we'll be back!!!"

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We have just returned from a two week visit to South Africa and missing my room with" the best view" made me write my first Trip Advisor Review ( long time reader , first time writer)

We chose 16 Beach Music for its location - on the beach- near Addo Elephant Park and as the start of our trip to Cape Town. A wise choice !

We loved staying at 16 Beach Music. What made it so special was waking up looking at the ocean and listening to the waves pounding against the rocks. The beach is a easy walk down the steps.

Our room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. We liked having a fridge in the room , our own entrance, deck and little extra touches like complementary port and the use of binoculars. We had a lovely breakfast every morning and Robbie insisted on giving us breakfast at 6h30 in the morning before going on our safari at Addo Elephant Park . We would highly recommend it as it was one of the high points of our holiday. I never thought that I would get so close to elephants!
We ate at the same restaurant twice , the food was good, but the service very slow. On our last night we had a picnic on our deck and were lucky to see the dolphins everybody writes about.

The owners are really friendly and make you feel at ease, almost like meeting old friends. They were very helpful with information and made our all our reservations. Estelle helped plan our trip to Cape Town and we would have missed out on some wonderfull experiences if it was not for her knowledge - canopy tour, suspension bridges in the Trsitsikamma ,Robberg Nature Reserve and Noetzie beach to mention a few.

This is a an ideal launching point for the Garden Route and is a great place to relax and soak in the scenery.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We only stayed for the one night but Estelle & Rob made us feel at home and served us a lovely breakfast on the morning of our departure. Its a pity we could only stay for one night but if we are ever in the area again we will be staying there again.
It really felt like home away from home. It was so lovely to fall asleep listening to the waves and to wake up to the fab view.
Thanks

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Thanks Estelle & Robbie. This our second stay was even better than the first one.
The trip we undertook with you guys to Addo Game Park was exciting in more ways than one. It was like a family outing with our best "relatives"

Our rooms at Beach Music were clean, pleasant, spacious and what a view of the Dolfins passing by.

Thanks Robbie for the meal you prepared for us and that you and Estelle joined us in making it a memorable end to our stay.

Estellle & Robbie are probably the best host's in the country!!

Our contact will probably be for life as we will most certainly return for another future visit. God Bless Dennis & Nettie Wagner Pretoria

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Our original plan was to stay here during the World Cup for 3 nights. Everything started out well the first day, the place looked clean and the hosts seemed very accommodating. However, as the days went on, we noticed that the place was filled with ants, the breakfast brought to us in the morning had ants crawling all over it and in the tea and cereal. We were constantly told it was our fault but it would be fixed by the time we got home in the evening, which was not the case. Estelle and Rob were extremely rude and condescending. As soon as we complained, Estelle had charged us for two nights extra on top of our initial three night reservation when we did not consent to (she had simply asked if we would like to stay past our reservation date, which had not been finalized). In the end, we ended u paying for the 5 night stay, when we only stayed there for 2 nights. We decided it wasn't worth it, we would rather pay for a hotel then deal with poor customer service and a room filled with bugs. (This place is pretty expensive and not up too par.) We stayed in SA from May 15- July 16, and this was the ONLY place we had a problem with. Please reconsider

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle16, Owner at 16 Beach Music, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Worst Customer Service

1.The clients comment in our Guest Book
“One of the best places we have stayed in South Africa”

2. In the end, we ended u paying for the 5 night stay, when we only stayed there for 2 nights.

The clients made a booking for 3 nights and extended their stay by another three as they were trying to obtain tickets for the final game of the World Cup .
I presented them with the bill on the fifth day . On their return on the evening of the fifth they informed us that the room was infested with bugs and that they wanted to leave immediately. I refunded them one nights’ accommodation.

3. filled with bugs & ants
I wish to remind the clients that I asked them on arrival not to leave uneaten food in the room. Unfortunately they did which caused a problem with ants.

We appreciate the positive comments made by the clients and are happy to inform them that we have not experienced a problem with ants since their departure.

Kind regards
Robbie and Estelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 16 Beach Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Beach Music

Address: 16 Seestrand Ave,, Beachview, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Beachview
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beachview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beachfront road. All rooms have outside entrances& access to the beach. En-suite bathrooms,bathroom amenities,coffee making facilities, secure parking.Self catering apartment available. 25km from PE airport. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 16 Beach Music, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.